Ratings based on 245 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.5 out of 5
40% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

never made it to this hotel but....

Posted Oct 10, 2016
I never made it to this hotel. I couldn't get there due to Hurricane Matthew and when I called the hotel to cancel the man who answered the phone told me since I booked thru expedia I had to cancel thru expedia and hung up on me. Knowing there were thousands of people looking for a place to stay I called back to let him know that now knew that I had to cancel thru expedia but wanted to give him my name so he could take me out of the system so others could have those rooms. Before I could give him my name he hung up on me again. I know how stressful it was. I lived it but he could have been a lot more hospitable. It is the hospitality industry after all.... As for my experience with expedia....also TERRIBLE! I sat on hold for 2.5hrs and then someone answered and disconnected me!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I will never evacuate again.

Posted Oct 10, 2016
My family and I evacuated here for hurricane Matthew and turned out in a horrible situation. It was the last room in town (looked like most of the place was run down and they were just throwing rooms together ) we knew it wasn't gonna be fancy. The bathroom was disgusting and bugs in the shower. The room was smelly and not clean. When the storm started the room was an inch away from flooding and the entire property had a 6-7in of water around it. I woke up to my car in a foot of water.. Somebody should have warned us that the place floods. I was forced to drive my car out of the water hitting a out of place curb in their parking lot damaging my tire. We lost power early in the storm and not one staff member came to check on us. The first day (day before storm) when I saw a lady going around knocking on doors to clean I asked for bath towels.. She told me she didn't have any. I couldn't even have a dry towel. (Only 2 in a room with knowing 3 people staying). I look around the the surrounding hotels and no water in parking lots, no water in front of doors, and they are cleaned!!! Cannot believe we paid to stay in these conditions. I could go on and on but a lesson learned next time I will stay home in an evacuation instead of putting my family in these horrible conditions at the Howard Johnson hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bluffton SC

I did not stay. It was inhabitable.

Posted Oct 9, 2016
I wouldn't sit on the chair. I wouldn't stand in the tub with shoes on. A real crack heads paradise.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South carolina

BedBugs !!!!

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Was not in room 30 minutes til we was bitten multiple times by begbugs
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: The hotel was in a nice location, and it was quiet.
Cons: Something should be done about the air conditioner unit, it needs to be cleaned or replaced. The odor was almost unbearable.
Location: The location was nice, there were lot of places to eat. Also it was convenient to where we had our appointments.
Our stay at Howard Johnson Hotel was unpleasant, because of the terrible ODOR that was in the room night and day. It seemed that it was coming from the air conditioner vents, which were dirty. Also the air in the bathroom was not working, therefore it was hot when we showered. I asked the lady at the front desk to give me something for the odor, she gave me some spray which did not help.!!!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern Virginia

Lousy Hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: The hotel needs renovation from top to bottom.
Location: dont know
Dirty room, carpet and bed. Ceilings were repainted, but ugly looking. Bath room filthy, but got hot water. Coffee machine did not work. Breakfast provided is just low quality. Lobby was shabby looking. I booked this hotel because of its Howard Johnson name, but the management did not care to keep it up. The front desk staff was very nice and helpful. Will never use this hotel again. Do not recommend this to anyone who is looking for a comfortable overnight stay after a long drive.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Everything is extremely old. My son was afraid of the bathroom, besause of the rust in the tub. Outside constant police activity or trains honking.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just needs a little TLC

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
Short visit for funeral. Hotel and service was fine but Hotel is showings its age and just needs to be spruced up. Needs some TLC and fresh coat of paint.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

If you can find a room, book at Hampton Inn instea

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: Friendly check-in guy. Not so friendly lady in the morning. Gave us a receipt which was less than what I paid for.
Cons: I suggest a total make-over. This looks like it hasn't been repainted since the 1950's.
Very old and needs total renovation. Carpets look dirty. Bathtub was heavily stained. Towels appeared clean enough though. I would not stay again if I had a choice. Unfortunately, all rooms at Hampton Inn were taken. Breakfast was so-so. Cockroaches on the stairs. Curtains old and do not close entirely.
4 out of 5
by Shirlena from Garden State-New Jersey

Florida or bust!

Posted Jul 12, 2016 on Hotels
Just an over night stay travelling.