Ratings based on 260 Verified Reviews

2.5 out of 5
41% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Race weekend

Posted Sep 10, 2017
They are in the process of renovating this hotel. The outside still needs work, but the rooms were new and nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback on our great service and brand new rooms. We always took pride in providing great customer service and now we are even more proud to start providing our guests our brand new clean and comfortable rooms that they deserve. We are now operating out of our brand new lobby serving hot breakfast, stay tuned, more to come.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Friendly staff. Very efficient. The plumbing wasn't acceptable., cold shower and plugged up sink.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Heather J., Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback and bringing your concerns to our attention. We are addressing the plumbing issues and hope that you will return in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

near Florence Civic Center. Very Convenient

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: under renovation right now!
Location: Everyday to Florence Civic Center
Door hard to open, but price was great! Door hard to open, but price was great! Door hard to open, but price was great! Door hard to open, but price was great! Door hard to open, but price was great! Door hard to open, but price was great! Door hard to open, but price was great! Door hard to open, but price was great! Door hard to open, but price was great! Door hard to open, but price was great! Door hard to open, but price was great!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. Our apologies on the door jam situation, maintenance staff already advised. We are glad to hear your comment - price was great!
4 out of 5
by Lacy

Got suckered

Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels
It was nice and remodeled but they charged out card twice and say they didn't but the bank don't lie So Needless To say not happen to get billed for almost 200.00
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017
Dear Lacy, We apologize for the delay of release of funds but it not us who hold it, it all depends on who you bank with. Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback on our great service and brand new rooms. We always took pride in providing great customer service and now we are even more proud to start providing our guests our brand new clean and comfortable rooms that they deserve. We are also building a brand new lobby building, providing hot breakfast as well, stay tuned.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 20, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We now have Fully renovated rooms on the property. If you are passing by please have a look. We know you will love to new and modern design. We have also increased our breakfast option to now include Waffles, Eggs & Sausages every morning. Hope to see you here again.
5 out of 5
by Patricia

Highly recommended

Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels
My stay at the Howard Johnson hotel with my family was simply amazing I highly recommend this hotel to anyone reading this message yes I read the reviews of this hotel before I stay there and I see that this hotel have worked his butt off to make sure that the renovations were very nice and they are the only thing I would change is the breakfast as far as in may be recommending a waffle maker but beyond that this was an amazing stay for my family any time I go to Florence South Carolina I would definitely be at the Howard Johnson hotel
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

A step back in time...

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: Nothing to be honest.
Cons: It needs an overall fix up. From the front of the place it seems to be falling down.
Location: Not sure we did not stick around.
The room had a bad smell. The sheets were clean but the bathroom was awful. I felt like I should have shoes on it. I felt like I was going to fall through the tub. The tub surround was beyond disrepair. The night shift was very bland. No smiles just checked me in and walked on. The morning gal was better. This place could be nice but between the wall paper falling off the walls. Which underneath looked like mold growing. The bathroom closet to the check out desk had a door that was heavy and closed very abruptly. I almost got hit in the head and my poor niece travelling with us was hit in the face by it. I would not recommend it to anyone. We will not add this to our itinerary next year.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

wasted money

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Hotels
I made my reservation over the phone. I arrived at the hotel and found only 3 or 4 cars outside. This was probably 8 or 9 p.m. It didn't look very bright around except for the front. I went next door to a fast food restaurant drive thru to get something to eat to take back to my room and mentioned to the girl at the window what she thought about the hotel next door. Her eyes widened and said oh, no you don't want to stay there, "its a HO hotel". That didn't make me feel very good, so I drove around the hotel parking lot and the back had maybe one car, and the lights were all dark and I could see boards around the area. As a 74 year old woman traveling alone, I did not even want to go in to the front desk. I went to another area hotel and ended up paying almost twice as much, but it was obvious, the place was all lit up brightly and lots of cars. Every other hotel on that street were full also, so I would say this hotel had a very bad reputation. I don't think I will make another reservation through hotels.com. this hotel was rated pretty high, but those reviews must be old or for some other reason. My trip was driving north to see my grandchildren, your choices don't list travel. A solo getaway does not describe my trip.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels