Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great place in

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: The owners of Il Bargellino are very friendly and helpful. They invited all their guests to dinner one night for a very social evening. The hotel room was immaculate. The rooftop terrace was a great place to sit and read and rest after a day of sightseeing.
Cons: There was a fair amount of street noise for such a small street as my room was on the ground floor facing the road.
Location: Easy walk from the train station - about 10-15 minutes and within a reasonable walk to the major sites in Florence - the Uffizi Gallery for instance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall Good Experience

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Hotel was certainly close to many places to eat and very close to the train station, where we met for a tour of Tuscany the first day.
Cons: Shelving in the room would be nice to place your toiletries, as it was a shared bathroom situation with sink and bidet in the room.
Location: Only about a 10 minute wallk to the Duomo.
My daughter and I stayed for 2 nights. The owner was very hospitable, as his wife was traveling in the US. He made sure we had everything we needed. The hotel is older in a classic Italian style with high ceilings and marble floors and steps. I enjoyed the upper terrace for relaxing and having wine one evening. The hotel itself was very quiet , but a lot of street noise coming in during the night through our bedroom window. Enjoyed the fact that I could make coffee in the room each morning. We felt very safe there..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Return to Florence and the Il Bargellino

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: There is a large roof top terrace where guests would gather for coffee, afternoon and evenings for a sharing of wine, cheese, bread and snacks.
Cons: Rain put a damper on some options, but that's out of their control.
Location: Close to train, bus, market, and major attractions...others, well good walking shoes are a must.
We love Pino but were sorry to miss Carmelo who was back in the states. We were close to the market, restaurants, train, and bus. It's a good place to establish a base of operations. We stayed here 7 years ago and ended up in the same room. We shared a toilet and shower, but that was not a problem...specially at the price per night! They now have espresso machines in the rooms and light pastries for breakfast snack.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint Hotel in Downtown Florence

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: It is very clean and authentic.
I stayed for 3 days at Il Bargellino, and I would recommend it to anyone. The location is a short walk from key Florence sites. The owners are very friendly and make wonderful recommendations of how to spend time in the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central accomodation

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Old but charming, it provides the basics for a short stay in the centre of the city.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Nice Bed & Breakfast in Florence, Centrally Locate

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Pros: Centrally located.
Cons: Mosquitoes in rooms. Rooms are older. No elevator.
Location: Close to the markets & Florence S.M.N. train station.
Great hosts - you feel like you're visiting family when you come to stay at Il Bargellino. Centrally located close to all the city sights in Florence and near many great eateries, as well as the markets. Although there is no breakfast, there is coffee and snacks in the room, as well as a refrigerator for you to buy items to enjoy on the rooftop terrace.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good

Posted May 23, 2016
Very good .............................................:.::::::...................
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow, UK

Fantastic Hotel for a City Break in Florence

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Pros: The owners were great, the facilities were better than I was expecting. It's in a fantastic location and the rooftop terrace was a fantastic bonus.
Location: Within a 10-15 mins walk to the majority of sights within central Florence including the Duomo, Ponte Vecchio, Accademia and Uffizi.
The hotel was fantastic, located within easy walking distance (10-15 mins) of most major sights in Florence. I chose this hotel for my first solo trip and first time in Florence and was not disappointed. I stayed in a single room and from previous reviews I was aware it was shared bathrooms so it was a huge bonus when i found that my room had a private shower. The room was much more spacious than I was expecting and the owners were really friendly, welcoming, and helpful. The decor is really nice and gives a unique feel to this lovely hotel. I will definitely choose here next time I'm in Florence! Thankyou for a fantastic stay!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Basic comfort

Posted Sep 19, 2015
Don't be fooled by the one star rating- it serves perfectly fine for a basic, low cost and safe place to stay in Florence. Close to Santa Maria Novella station which was very convenient with suitcases and bags. Top floor terrace is lovely for afternoon, evening or night drinks and relaxing after wandering around Florence all day. Close to markets, and not far at all from the Duomo and the central sites. Top tip: head down Via Nazionale and find Tutto 99¢- everything is that price including bottles of Peroni and other beers. Save on buying so many out and get them here to enjoy on the aforementioned rooftop!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Great location, cute hotel

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Everything worked really well. I was in the single room which had a sink and shower, plus fan - which was definitely required. Very friendly couple who run the hotel, gave me some great ideas re where to go in and out of Florence. Lovely terrace if you want to eat in or have a break from museums, etc. Would stay again.