Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nice room close to tourist area & train station

Posted Jun 18, 2017
Pros: Owners. Who spoke great English
Cons: Lift
Location: Close to tourist areas & train station
Lovely owners. Shared shower & toilet worked out OK. Only issue that it was located on 4th floor & no lift meant it was a struggle getting large heavy bags to the top floor. Had a washing machine. Much appreciated
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by Il Ghiro, Hotel Management
Thanks for yr comments, we appreciated very much. We would like to specify that, according to our rules, we infor our guest with email all the info about our place specifying that we are located to the 3rd floor too. With best rgds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Close to train station SMV

Posted May 11, 2017
We stayed here two nights and found it to be just fine. Short walk from the train station, lots of restaurants close by and within walking distance to the sights. check in was quick and very helpful. Very basic but clean and on a quiet street. It's up four flights of stairs, so not so great for somebody with lots of baggage, we have backpacks so no big deal. I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
by Liu

Great place to stay

Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels
Enjoying stay there. Very easy to access. Very warm host.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, comfortable hotel

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
Il Ghiro is a great place to stay! Clean, comfortable, great staff and location. We will definitely recommend it to friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Canada

Probably one of the best quality/price ratio

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness, good service, good internet connection, well located in Florence, very nice staff
Cons: More cooking tools in the kitchen would be nice.
Location: Il Ghiro is close to all main Florence tourist attractions, to restaurants and to bus and train stations.
The staff was very nice and helpful. They really care about their visitors. The room was a little small and no breakfast was provided, but Il Ghiro is located close to a bakery. We could use the fridge to store some food. Overall, we were very happy with this room and we recommend it.
5 out of 5
by ang from singapore

good owners

Posted Mar 20, 2016 on Hotels
excellent owners. allows you to cook, wash clothes, and explains the neighbourhood to you. near the train station by foot 10mins. there are stairs to climb though.
5 out of 5
by meade from Arizona

I reccomend it.

Posted Nov 23, 2015 on Hotels
Great for the price. Available washing machine (why don't more places provide them?) Family owned and were wonderful hosts.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2015 on Hotels
I chose this hotel because of its convenient location and acceptable price. It provided simple breakfast as well. The hotel is a family owned small business. The owner is very kind and helpful. He ran the hotel in a family style and kept it very clean. Although it was a little bit difficult to communicate because he does not speak English, he is an easy-going old gentle man and made us felt comfortable and safe during our stay.
5 out of 5
by Georgina from England

Very friendly and helpful staff

Posted Sep 17, 2015 on Hotels
We loved our stay at Il Ghiro. The owner Mohammad (i think) was so helpful and kind. We had a long chat with him in the morning. There was one free amazing coffee and as much tea as you like. We were also able to wash our clothes there for free which was certainly helpful for us travelers. We were a little skeptical when we first walked in but we didn't need to be. The shared bathroom was clean and nicely decorated and we didn't notice anyone else using it. The only problem is the amount of steps going up to Il Ghiro as there is no lift.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 14, 2015 on Hotels
Room was quite tiny but served its purpose. It did not have AC in the rooms with the shared bathrooms, but did have a ceiling fan that helped. small kitchen, not a lot of space in the fridge. Helpful staff checking in and getting a cab ride to the airport.