Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, comfortable hotel

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
Il Ghiro is a great place to stay! Clean, comfortable, great staff and location. We will definitely recommend it to friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Canada

Probably one of the best quality/price ratio

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness, good service, good internet connection, well located in Florence, very nice staff
Cons: More cooking tools in the kitchen would be nice.
Location: Il Ghiro is close to all main Florence tourist attractions, to restaurants and to bus and train stations.
The staff was very nice and helpful. They really care about their visitors. The room was a little small and no breakfast was provided, but Il Ghiro is located close to a bakery. We could use the fridge to store some food. Overall, we were very happy with this room and we recommend it.
5 out of 5
by ang from singapore

good owners

Posted Mar 20, 2016 on Hotels
excellent owners. allows you to cook, wash clothes, and explains the neighbourhood to you. near the train station by foot 10mins. there are stairs to climb though.
5 out of 5
by meade from Arizona

I reccomend it.

Posted Nov 23, 2015 on Hotels
Great for the price. Available washing machine (why don't more places provide them?) Family owned and were wonderful hosts.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2015 on Hotels
I chose this hotel because of its convenient location and acceptable price. It provided simple breakfast as well. The hotel is a family owned small business. The owner is very kind and helpful. He ran the hotel in a family style and kept it very clean. Although it was a little bit difficult to communicate because he does not speak English, he is an easy-going old gentle man and made us felt comfortable and safe during our stay.
5 out of 5
by Georgina from England

Very friendly and helpful staff

Posted Sep 17, 2015 on Hotels
We loved our stay at Il Ghiro. The owner Mohammad (i think) was so helpful and kind. We had a long chat with him in the morning. There was one free amazing coffee and as much tea as you like. We were also able to wash our clothes there for free which was certainly helpful for us travelers. We were a little skeptical when we first walked in but we didn't need to be. The shared bathroom was clean and nicely decorated and we didn't notice anyone else using it. The only problem is the amount of steps going up to Il Ghiro as there is no lift.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 14, 2015 on Hotels
Room was quite tiny but served its purpose. It did not have AC in the rooms with the shared bathrooms, but did have a ceiling fan that helped. small kitchen, not a lot of space in the fridge. Helpful staff checking in and getting a cab ride to the airport.
4 out of 5
by Valerie from Seattle

Simple and Comfortable with helpful staff

Posted Jun 29, 2015 on Hotels
I was looking for a cheap and simple place that was close to the train station and that would be convenient for exploring Florence on foot for a weekend. It was in a great location. The room was basic and I shared a bathroom but it was comfortable. The staff was very helpful. I had to arrive after the reception desk closed and they were great in communicating with me ahead of time to provide the door code etc. They also allowed me to keep my bags there on the last day while I toured around before getting on my train which was very helpful so I didn't have to lug it all around. They had a kitchenette and laundry available but I didn't utilize it on my quick weekend trip.
4 out of 5
by James from Palm Springs, CA

Pleasant Stay.

Posted Jun 24, 2015 on Hotels
This is a guest house, so it is "bare bones". It is clean, well cared for, convenient to both the train station and the center, and a good price. The host, however, was exceptionally helpful in every way, and even hefted our bags not only up the several flights of stairs, but back down again when we checked out. Excellent value for expensive Florence.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Well located and good value

Posted Jun 15, 2015 on Hotels
Nice place to stay, close to everything and practical with a kitchen and washing machine