Ratings based on 133 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hereford, UK

Great location but....

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Pros: Loved the view and the tranquility
Cons: The food, the coffee and make the rooms more user friendly.
Location: The hotel overlooks Florence and a shuttle bus takes you to and from the centre of Florence, about 20 minutes drive.
The location of this hotel and the stunning views over Florence make this hotel a fabulous place to stay. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. If you are driving, you have to go through Florence which is a bit of an adventure if you are not used to driving in Italy. A Sat Nav is essential! On the negative side, the dinner and room service was very overpriced and uninteresting with a very limited selection and, (hard to believe), I never once had a decent cup of coffee! I love strong Italian coffee but I don't like it burnt or, as was the second option, out of a jar! The rooms are over the top grand but with no table, the most ridiculously complicated lighting system that simply didn't work and the TV set in a huge mirror (!) so you could only watch it if you sat in/on the bed. Stay there, but eat out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Little Yeldham

Elegant relaxation away from the crowds

Posted Oct 6, 2017
With the view of the Duomo from the breakfast table and the sun shining on the immaculate gardens you would be hard pressed to find a more relaxing place away from the crowds in the city. Staff were welcoming and nothing was a problem. The shuttle bus to the centre allows one to leave the car and be driven to the Duomo and free to explore the delights of Florence. The restaurant in the evening overlooking the city is most pleasant. The room was as one expects from a Five Star hotel. Service was attentive without being obtrusive. In all, what one expects from a first class establishment.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC. Canada

Nice hote but be aware of dinner

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Unfortunately our overall 4 night experience was undermined on the first night. Upon arrival we enjoyed lunch on the spacious Terrace that overlooks Florence with the Domo in view. Slightly high priced but with service and view in mind it was acceptable. However that evening we dined on the same terrace enjoying the lights of Florence. Sadly the dinner rates are more then 2x the lunch rates with smaller portions. Understanding this can be a common practice however not to the extent of our experience. Happy to pay for value however this was a gouge... sadly not likely to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Perfect spot outside of Florence

Posted Sep 30, 2017
This hotel was amazing! The property, service and comfort of the place were great. Breakfast and wifi are included in your stay! Also, a Complimentary shuttle that takes you into the city. Can't wait to come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Amazing

Posted Sep 8, 2017
A perfect location, having breakfast overlooking Florence, sitting by the pool chilling out or having a drink on my own private terrace, truly wonderful and well worth the price. Also note there is a regular shuttle bus too and from the city
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Can't get any better than this!!!

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Location, view, friendly staff, pool
Cons: Nothing
Location: 15 mins away from the city center of Florence. GREAT location.
Our stay at Il Salviatino was nothing short of amazing!! Everything from the staff, accommodations, grounds/pool, and location was perfect!! Upon our arrival, we were greeted with a glass of sparkling wine and were taken on a tour of the grounds, which ended at our room -- with our bags following no more than 5 mins later!! The room and the view were unbeatable. Being able to feel like you are in the countryside while having an incredible view overlooking Florence ... yet only being 15 mins away from the city center was AMAZING! The breakfast included in our stay was one of the most extensive breakfast buffets I've seen at a hotel (and I travel a ton)! All of the food was delicious -- and the setting while you eat -- even better! We spent most of our days at the pool away from the busy city. The pool boy Alessandro was so accommodating and always made sure we had everything we needed! During the evenings, we went into the city and had the great option of using the complimentary hotel shuttle which ran every hour! This hotel was one of the greatest experiences! Anyone looking to experience Florence, but want to the ability to escape from the city during the day or night -- this is the place for you!!! LOVED everything about our stay!!! I will definitely be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

A truly superb hotel in a great location. Perfect

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Set in a perfect location among other beautiful Tuscan villas. Just far enough away from the hustle and bustle. Perfect.
This hotel exudes character and nostalgia. A beautiful villa surrounded by landscaped gardens, loggias and vistas over Florence. Our garden room with a light-filled glass atrium was a perfect retreat that we did not want to leave. Would love to return...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Beautiful setting only 15 minutes from the city center. They have a complimentary shuttle available to transport guests to/from the hotel to the city (saves 25+ euros each way for a taxi). The grounds are well kept and it's so peaceful and quiet. Relaxing pool area (they could use more lounge chairs, definitely a shortage and most people had to wait for one to become available). Great restaurant with outdoor seating and live music in the evening. A favorite hotel of mine and I will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Amazing view of the city from beautiful hotel

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Extremely helpful and friendly staff, amazing site and beautiful hotel. Great food, awesome spa, Our week at Il Salviatino was the highlight of our month in Italy!!
4 out of 5
by Antonio

Italy in summer

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
It's the second time we've stayed at the hotel and I noticed quite a few changes. The hotel is a little "tatty and unkept" in places. The gym seems as though its been shoved into a make shift room and takes forever to get to. Our room had no mini-bar in it (I carry diabetic medication that needs refrigerating) and was told that we never paid for a room with a mini-bar??? Didn't know you had to???I thought that was a standard these days? On a whole though, its still an awesome hotel, incredible restaurant staff and very comfortable beds.