Ratings based on 587 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Quiet and beautiful setting

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: Airy and quiet old building with lots of character. Friendly and helpful staff
Cons: Drink making (tea and coffee) facilities.
Location: Obvious - central Florence
Quiet location, tucked away on a beautiful piazza. Still within easy walking distance of the main sights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from oregon, usa

Wonderful return....

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Quiet, convenient location, gracious staff,
Cons: Wifi was pretty weak, but it's a big, thick walled place, so.....nice breakfast!
Location: Perfect! City is totally walkable from there.
We returned to this hotel after 25 years...the location and experience were both as we had hoped! The staff, especially Chiara2, was gracious, accommodating and helpful. Staying on the Piazza de Annunciata was pleasingly active in the daytime, and peaceful and quiet at night. We had a lovely little balcony to overlook the piazza and enjoy the activity. The location near the duomo was as convenient as we remembered, without he hubbub. This was especially important as we approached Holy Week and the crowds grew. We walked everywhere and with the help of the staff found every site and restaurant without trouble! We highly recommend this hotel! We were checking out just as a series of food carts were setting up for a week, we felt lucky to be gone for this, even though some of it looked delicious, it might have been noisy !
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great location and close to all the min sights.

Posted Apr 7, 2017
One issue - bitten to death by Mosquitoes ... nightmare !!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Staines-upon-Thames, UK

Authentic Florence

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Beautiful period hotel making our stay in Florence that much more special. If you want s sterile 'plastic' modern hotel, this is not for you, but if you want stunning historic features and a room like something from a period drama then give it a try. My only reason for not giving it full marks was the huge bed was very hard, but that's just a personal preference. Vaulted painted ceilings, stunning marble bathroom floor and period furniture charming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Charming hotel

Posted Jan 8, 2017 on CheapTickets
This is in a piazza around the corner from Accademia (the David), 5 min walk from the Duomo, central to everything. Just lovely.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
It doesn't look like much from the front (homeless people sleep on the steps at night), but the staff is wonderful, the rooms are spacious, the location is fantastic, and the room so are unique with beautiful furnishings. There were common areas where we could sit with friends who were staying in other rooms, so we could talk and play cards while enjoying a glass of wine. Some of the furniture is a bit worn out, but overall it was a wonderful place to stay.
5 out of 5
by William

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
historic building
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Hotels
Christina and Bobby are great hosts.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location but noise level was horrific.

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Location: Location was lovely.
Room was lovely. Hotel staff was unfriendly. They were uncommunicative. Wait staff at the breakfast buffet hour was surly at best.