Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HI&BC

Simple but pleasant

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: Location, our room was very quiet.
Location: Very close to the train station. Easy walk to Duomo, Central Market (a must see), Accadameia and Ponte Vecchio. It is about 4 flights of stairs to cl
Very close to the train station. Easy walk to Duomo, Central Market (a must see), Accadameia and Ponte Vecchio. It is about 4 flights of stairs to climb to get to the room. Not hard but those that can't climb stairs should not stay here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Decent place to stay near Santa Maria Novella

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Our stay was fine. Our only issue was that the shower isn't closed off from the rest of the bathroom, and was VERY slippery. My friend actually slipped and fell on the hard tile floor.
2 out of 5
by phil from JT

Noise level

Posted May 11, 2014
We may have been unlucky - but the front room which stayed in was very noisy till 3 am. Was clean but more basic yhan other B&Bs we have stayed in. echoey, and empty feel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Luciana from Edinburgh

Very good

Posted Oct 7, 2013
Pros: location and friendliness
Cons: no
Location: train station, buses to airport
A nice environment, friendly people and very good location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shannon from Montreal, Canada

An OK stay

Posted Sep 11, 2013
The room was spacious, although the bathroom was not quite what we expected. The shower is open and they have drains on the bathroom floor. Room was clean and had air conditioning. The owners told us that they take credit card but preferred being paid in cash. The smell of the owners was quite overpowering as it smelled like they hadn't showered in days. Thank god our room did not smell that way, or it may have been unbearable. Other than that there were no complaints. We did not stay for breakfast. It's in a good location, right near the train station. Wifi worked well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joyce from New Zealand

Handy to everything. Good value for money.

Posted Jun 18, 2013
Pros: Location.
Cons: Needs upgrading as far as decor goes.
Location: Close to station and most areas of interest.
The place was Handy to the station and the main points of interest. Very clean and quiet at night. Good size room but dated. Did have fridge and internet access.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by George from Nicosia

Good Hotel!

Posted May 12, 2013
Great location next to the train station. 5 minutes walk to the center. Helpful staff. The only minus was there wasnt any elevator. There are many good restaurants near the hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robbie from A galaxy far, far away

Very nice hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2012
Pros: Friendly owners
Cons: Rooms facing the street are a little noisy
Location: Close to rail station and Tourist Office
As long as you are not expecting the Ritz-Carlton, you should be happy with this hotel. It is a short walk from the SMN train station and is near the Tourist Office (hint: buy the Florence Card -- it is a great deal and essentially is a VIP pass into nearly all of the museums; no need to pre-book visits and no waiting in lines). Mary and her son Antonio were very helpful and accommodating, providing tips on what to visit in Florence, providing a fan for the room (because the air conditioning unit was not too effective), and holding our bags until we left on the evening train. The room we had was clean and spacious, towels were changed daily, and beds made up daily as well. The only drawbacks (in addition to the air conditioning unit) were that the room we had faced the street and so it was a little noisy at nights, and there is an 'open' shower so much of the bathroom floor gets wet when showering. Nonetheless, this is a nice hotel and reasonably priced. I would stay here when visiting Florence again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Jun 11, 2012
Our stay at Marys house was great. There was a small confusion at the beginning which was made more confusing be a small language barrier, but everyone was very nice and helpful at Marys House. The room was very clean and the room was huge. It is in a great location, about 5 min walk to the duomo with lots of restaurants just below the hotel and 2 minute walk from the train station. The building is older with a buzzer to be let up, but easy to find and get to. Though they did not mind the privacy please sign after about 10, so beware of that. Other than that had a very pleasant stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Roma

A due passi da stazione FS S.M.Novella

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Pros: Vicinanza alla stazione, al centro e disponibilità del personale.
Cons: La presenza di una semplice colazione.
Location: Posizione centrale, a due passi dallo stupendo centro storico di Firenze.
Struttura genuina niente di meno e niente di più, personale simpatico e disponibile per le info. Stanza pulita e ben isolata dai rumori, letti comodi, lenzuola pulite, tv in camera, aria condizionata efficiente e wifi gratuito. Una semplice colazione o un caffè del buon risveglio sarebbe stato gradito.... peccato! p.s. se avete la possibilità portatevi degli asciugamani da doccia i loro sono piccoli.