Ratings based on 413 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A great location, but definitely NOT A GREAT HOTEL

Posted Jan 7, 2017
I've stayed at other HH Collection properties and I'm afraid that this one is just not worthy of carrying that moniker. This hotel is extraordinarily noisy making it difficult to get any rest day or night. From the 24 hour thumping, whirring, rumbling elevator noises to the hotel cleaning personnel who never seemed to be off duty and took much delight in banging up and down the hallways with carts and equipment, our stay was exhausting. Street noises too were difficult to restrict even though the hotel is equipped with wood shutters in addition to the usual drapery. Also in sharp contrast to other HN Collection properties, this one is in desperate need of basic repairs and maintenance. It seems a bit run down. Our room was strangling outfitted with an old wardrobe and a small, single desk, so there was absolutely no place for two people to place their luggage. The bathroom was very odd. I appreciate that it's an old building and some compromises must be made, but shoehorning a bathroom into a space more fitting to be a long c-shaped closet is pushing the limits of what's acceptable. At checkin, we were reminded that the breakfast was not included in our stay but I was told that I could prepay if I wished to add this to our stay. When I declined, I was aggressively advised that I would face additional charges if I changed my mind. It felt like a bullying/threatening/money grabbing tactic. Last complaint at checkin our room was not ready and there was a major reservation
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale

Flawless

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Well located. Staff was magnificent!! Good breakfast. Excellent Wi-Fi
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel-planning to stay at Nh collections

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Great service, excellent condition,bathroom and amenities were good, mattress and pillows were perfect, great location . Did not have breakfast with them- so no comment. Staff was extremely helpful. In future when in Europe and if possible-NH collection is going to be my go to hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful and perfect location

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Wonderful and very helpful staff. Breakfast was great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location helpful staff; lovely old bulding

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Great friendly staff. New front desk staff need more support ; they had big problem with reservation & bill because I added an extra day stay??
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Posted Oct 2, 2016
We stayed for three nights. Great location. Very helpful staff. We were upgraded to a luxury suite that really made our trip extra special.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in amazing location

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Beautiful old hotel (the oldest hotel in Italy!!) in a fabulous location in center Florence. Hotel staff speaks many languages and are very helpful + provide great restaurant recommendations. Parking costs extra, but is well worth the location --you'll want to walk everywhere anyway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Fantastic hotel in the centre of everything!

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: Location, service, cleanliness, space, amenities. Our room was amazingly quiet. Tip - we had one of the rooms facing towards the internal courtyard
Cons: Bed was a little hard, access to an iron in-room would be great
Location: Location perfect to navigate Florence. Easy walking distance to great restaurants, car hire companies, key tourist sites
Lovely hotel with amazing service - very accommodating to any request. Location central to everything, room clean and spacious. Only fault... the bed was hard! Would definitely recommend and would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Honduras

Great hotel, great facilities and a great staff!

Posted Sep 8, 2016
We had a great few days in Porta Rossa. The hotel is in a very good location, a 5 min walk from el Duomo and Ponte Vecchio. Hotel looks very new with ample spaces.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to main museums.

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: Modern and well appointed.
Cons: Bigger bathroom!
Location: Museums and churches art galore.
The staff especially Anna she is The most most helpful person we have encountered at a hotel.