Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from White Plains, NY

Great location, walk to most attractions.

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: The suite was spacious, the bed was excellent (large) and we could really get comfortable in the sitting area of our suite.
Cons: It is a VERY minor point, but like all the other hotels in which we stayed in Italy do not provide washcloths.
Location: 50 yards from "Il Duomo di Firenze." Walk to Ponte Vecchio, the Galleria dell'Accademia (Michelangelo's "David") & Museo Galileo, all attractions.
This is a magnificent old palazzo that has been turned into residences and hotel rooms near the Duomo in Florence (Firenze). We're told that the same family has owned the premises for 1,000 years! The "junior suite" was an incredibly large space with 25-ft. ceilings and 400 year-old frescoes on the walls (all of them!). The owners are there every day; "Ms. Niccolini" and all the staff were very professional and helpful. A very complete breakfast buffet is available every day, and the "Nespresso" machine is available all day and night. When we get back to Firenze, we will stay here! Given the age of the Palazzo, and the arrangement, do not expect this to look or operate like the Hilton or some other chain. This place has a unique character and feel, and it well worthwhile.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leeds, UK

Wonderful old palazzo close to the Duomo

Posted May 30, 2016
Pros: Location; comfortable rooms; friendly staff; lounge with tea, coffee & cakes.
Cons: Nothing at all.
Location: Climb to the top of the Duomo but be sure to pre-book your date & time to avoid the lengthy queues. Climb the Campanille - queues here not as long.
Located through a huge arched doorway into a small courtyard, the lift up to the reception on the second floor is on your right. We arrived slightly early but were able to check in straight away - we even got an upgrade to a superior room. The staff were very welcoming and the hotel extremely comfortable. The sheets were the best I've had in any hotel! There was even a turn-down service if you wanted it. The rooms were well equipped. Oodles of toiletries, although no shower gel. However, soap worked just as well! The only thing missing was a kettle. There was a notice in the room asking you not to use your own kettles but as there is a never ending supply of teas & coffee in the lounge area this was not a problem. There are also cakes & pastries provided which are lovely to come back to after a hard day sightseeing. Great breakfast with plenty of choice. The hotel is a stone's throw away from the Duomo and within easy access of all other major points of interest. I would definitely stay here again if ever I return to Florence and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago il

Loved this hotel. Elegant and lovely.

Posted May 21, 2016
Hotel was beautifully decorated, lovely communal sitting area. Great breakfast included, steps from the Duomo. It was just fabulous.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ehrwürdiges nettes Hotel, direkt neben der Kathed.

Posted May 15, 2016
Die Erreichbarkeit der wichtigsten Sehenswürdigkeiten zu Fuß möglich und daher ideal für Sightseeing-Tour.. Sehr ruhiges Zimmer trotz zentrale Lage. Frühstück in sehr heimiliger Atmosphäre mit Stil voll eingerichteten Möbel .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston Ma

A stunning hotel steps away from the Duomo.

Posted May 7, 2016
Pros: We loved the location! The cleanliness, the service!
Cons: Nothing at all....it was perfect!
Location: Steps away from the Duomo and the Bapistry. Shopping and restaurants are steps away also.
This is a hotel that I highly recommend. The location is superb, as it is steps away from the Duomo and a few blocks from shopping and museums. This hotel is in an old palace and only has ten rooms. Our room was in the Blue Room. It had an elegant bedroom with closet, safe, and mini-bar. A living room with two couches, table , tv. The bathroom was very large with two sinks, large shower and a separate tub. Breakfast was in the sitting room where the walls were painted with Italian landscapes and portraits. Food selection was wonderful and delicious. If you travel to Florence you want to stay here...you will feel like royalty!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A splendid hotel, excellently situated!

Posted Apr 23, 2016
Pros: The service provided by all staff. Our room was excellent. The bed was sooooo comfortable. The hotel was extremely convenient for everything.
Cons: The bacon and scrambled eggs weren't very warm at breakfast time.
Location: Central location, easy for station, The Duomo, Accademia, many palaces, squares,galleries, museums, restaurants and shops so near.
We stayed here for 3 nights on our first trip to Florence. The hotel is very close to the Duomo, and all the other highlights of the city are in easy walking distance. There are many good places to eat nearby too. The Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo is spacious, with unique and well appointed rooms. We asked for tours to be booked for us, which was a great help and both tours were brilliant. The staff in the hotel were most helpful, even down to noticing that I liked a peeled orange with my breakfast yoghurt and then presenting me with it ready prepared the next morning. We were upgraded to a junior suite and it was lovely. The bathroom was fab! This is one of the best boutique style hotels that we have stayed in.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

A Palace centrally located & beautifully maintaine

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Our stay was part of a celebration of our 30th wedding anniversary. The staff could not have been more gracious, upgrading us to a very impressive suite directly overlooking the Duomo and its square. This a beautifully restored 400+ year old palace, the perfect setting for a Florence experience. All the major sites are within easy walking distance. A very adequate buffet breakfast is offered as part of the package along with afternoon tea. We could not ask for more.
5 out of 5
by larisa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 31, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sehr schönes Hotel direkt beim Dom

Posted Mar 31, 2016 on Hotels
Wunderschönes Hotel, sauber, nettes & hilfreiches Personal. Einzige Verbesserungsmöglichkeit: W-lan Empfang im Zimmer kaum vorhanden, den Haarfön mal wieder reinigen...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ulm

Charmantes, zentrales, kleines Hotel

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Pros: die Lage!
Cons: Frühstück!
Location: neben dem Dom, alles gut zu Fuss erreichbar
Der Palazzo Niccolini ist eine kleines und charmantes Hotel, das trotz sehr zentraler Lage ruhig ist - aber kein Luxus-Hotel. Obwohl die Einfahrt relativ schmal ist, war das Parken im Innenhof sehr praktisch. Der Service ist sehr freundlich, bemueht und persoenlich. Auch die Restaurant-Empfehlungen und -Reservierungen waren wirklich gut. Einzig das (im Preis inbegriffene) Fruehstueck war eine Beinahe-Katastrophe. Weder der Obstsalat noch das offene Joghurt waren gekuehlt, was um 10 Uhr dann entsprechend aussah. Das Ruehrei sah auch aus, als waere es schon Stunden alt. Der frische Ruehrkuchen vom 1. Fruehstueck war am 4. Morgen immer noch der Gleiche (aber etwas weniger). Die Bedienung war zwar sehr nett, verstand aber nur bedingt, was unsere Wuensche waren.