Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Great hotel. Nice history. Great location. Great staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kent

Period hotel, great history & fantastic location!!

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Upon arrival the hotel lived up to every expectation I'd had from reading about it & seeing the photos. We stayed in the Deluxe Suite which is beautifully decorated & overly spacious. The room was so big we found it a little hard to sleep but who can switch off in a city like florence sleeping in a 500year old palace?! Lol Communal areas offer music & books for all guests which was a nice surprise I wasn't expecting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful old Florentine palace, excellent service

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Location: Only about two blocks from the Duomo - central to all the main areas of Florence.
We had an amazing two-night stay at Palazzo Tolomei during our recent honeymoon. The proprietor, Daniela, was more than gracious, and hosted an amazing breakfast for the guests one morning (which only happens once a month or so, we're told) - I think it was the best breakfast we had during two weeks in Italy! Our room (and, actually, the entire place) was absolutely gorgeous, spacious with a beautiful fresco painted on the ceiling. The location is also perfect, only about two blocks from the Duomo. It wasn't exactly inexpensive, but I think it was great value for the money. If we're ever able to go back to Florence, and I hope we are, we will definitely stay at Palazzo Tolomei! I couldn't recommend it more highly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Location: Very convenient and an easy walk to the train station, the market and the major sightseeing places of Florence.
It is a beautiful old Palazzo. My room though was very small and I did not get the internet unless I went down the hall to one of the public rooms. I had trouble getting into bed since the room was only about one foot wider than the bed. It did have a small kitchenette area so I was able to make coffee in the morning. All the public rooms in the Palazzo were very nice and comfortable. The restaurant for breakfast was around the corner and had a wide selection of items. On the weekends, though, they serve breakfast at the Palazzo and it was truly the best I had in my two week stay in Italy. It had meat, cheeses, tomatoes, breads and sweets that I couldn't begin to list here served in one of the beautiful rooms. Wonderful spread.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Fabulous place to stay ... simply stunning !

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Everything about the Palazzo Tolomei is wonderful, the staff are really helpful and Daniela the owner is such a wonderful, lovely lady.
Cons: There's nothing not to like. Maybe just using one of the lovely lounges as a breakfast room would be good.
Location: Very central so everything is within a few minutes walk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chichester

Stunning Historic Florentine Palace

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: We loved that we were staying in a part of Florence's rich cultural history. We loved that that there were so many original sculptures and stunning wall and ceiling frescoes. We loved Daniella's modern white furnishings which complement the historic features so well. The children loved unlocking the huge wooden doors and wrought iron gates to enter the palace each night. The children loved their welcome sweets and chocolates in our room We all loved the warm welcome we received from all the staff and Daniella, the proprietor, they could not be more helpful advising where to go, what to do and booking our gallery trips, taxis etc We loved the location, just a few minutes walk from the main central tourist areas and lots of shops and cafes, but on a quieter street with more individual small shops/ boutiques/cafes and just a few hundred metres from a supermarket/cash point etc
Cons: There was nothing we did n t like about this hotel. We all loved it. In addition to all the above we loved the elegant sitting rooms, the atmosphere, the opera music playing, the sense of history
Location: The hotel is ideally located close to the heart of Florence, quieter than the main tourist area, but just a 5 minutes walk to the main shopping areas
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Atmospheric and Elegant

Posted Oct 27, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed five days, and found it an interesting place, since it is not really a hotel/guesthouse. It is just an old historic building where the owners allow people to rent out rooms which has advantages and disadvantages. It's an old gothic sort of place, a little creepy on a dark day, but with plenty of character. If you are into atmospherics and history, arches, alcoves, heavy front door with iron portcullus things, statues, old stone stairs, and mysterious corridors leading into dark unknown areas, this is your place. On the positive side, Daniella and Titiana were the two women there, and they were friendly and welcoming enough. The room was large, and the location is great, right in the middle of Florence. You can walk to everywhere. However, being a sort of private residence, and often empty and forbidding, there is a feeling of intruding. There are so many rooms, and it's not clear where one should go. Looking for an attendant to ask a question, I called out into the main reception (empty), heard some voices, carefully walked into a room, and a strange woman came out, curtly telling me it was a private area. I was prompty ushered out. One thing to keep in mind is that the breakfast is not what you'd think. The staff give you breakfast vouchers for 'Za Za', a nearby restaurant, and you walk there. Having said that, Za Za provide an acceptable fare, and it's a good place to eat at night, too - particularly for the 'bistecca fiorentina' - that huge T-bone steak.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Hotels
It is an old palace, so some issues couldn't be helped. Some room's windows faced the courtyard. When people came back to their room late, the lights shone into your room and early single notice echoed throughout. Wifi was very sporadic through the ancient thick stone walls. Felt safe. Due to size and layout of room could be hard to get around furniture but overall the space was adequate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff were warm and welcoming.

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: Daniella and Irena made us feel like family.
Location: Great location. Walked to everything including train station.
Really enjoyed the unique ambiance of this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing!

Posted Sep 24, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastic place to stay! Did not want to leave!