Ratings based on 156 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location, great service, amazing stuff

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Definitely gonna back to this hotel soon. Lovely hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from sudburyoncanada

Dec 22 2016

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: See above comments
Cons: Charming just the way it is.
Location: At the outskirts of Florence but regular bus see ice outside the front door. Famous museums and priceless art work.
Beautiful old hotel manticually maintained. Friendly and helpful staff. Large grounds for a hotel close to a major city. A unique feature-you could have a glass of wine in front of a roaring fire
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Jose

Very classy and quiet hotel

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: Staff were very helpful and friendly.
Location: Located on a hill closer to the Michelangelo monument. Bus stop right in front of the hotel makes it very convenient.
Really liked the setting with trees and away from the traffic and tourists. The hotel was very classic and comfortable. Had modern amenities with a nostalgic touch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

A gem of a hotel

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Spent 3 night's there last week, and would highly recommend. Staff were helpful and location for us was perfect, away from the bustle of the town but easy access by bus. The walk to the town is about 30 mins but back is up a very steep hill and a challenge. Bus stops outside hotel and at €1.20 a bargin. Our airport transfer was via taxis €24. The breakfast was typical continental so no fry up the evening meal was not very exciting so we spent the other two evenings at the La Terrazza Del Principe which is just 5mins towards the town. Wow great experience would rate this place very highly. Enjoyed Pisa by train, €19 return, great day out and so clean. Now just a warning about mosquitoes, we got eaten alive, so take some protection.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakland, United States of America

Old fashioned charm and great staff

Posted Nov 1, 2016
We loved staying in the first floor annex room! It was spacious, had a nice wood floor, and was comfortable. I felt the fireplace at night in the hotel lobby was a homey touch but it left a smokey smell in the entire hotel and our room that I didn't like. I didn't love staying in the first room inside the hotel as the carpet and furniture seemed old/dirty and there wasn't much room to store belongings. Both rooms we stayed in had comfy beds. We loved the breakfast, especially the stewed pruned, pastries, cheeses, yogurt and meats. Service of front desk staff was top notch. It was not close to the busy parts of the Oltrarno neighborhood but that worked out for us. We sometimes walked (20 mins), took the bus or they called a cab that came in 3-5 minutes. The only time we had an issue was when there was a rain storm and there was a taxi shortage, we nearly had to walk the 20 mins uphill in the rain! Thank goodness a taxi driver took pity on us. Overall it was a great stay and the value was a big factor in why this place stands out. You get a great deal for a low nightly fee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta Canada

Nice hotel, quite and well kept yard, pool area.

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Staff very helpfull, like a nice gated mansion. The area is away from the down town, makes it quite and relaxfull
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bletchley

Florence at its best

Posted Sep 11, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel in perfect location from which to tour Florence
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sadkatchewan

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Beautiful pool; great breakfast buffet. Overall a great stay in a beautiful location.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2016 on Hotels
A charming hotel with very helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Traditional Italian villa in hills with pool.

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Location: problem is distance from centre of Florence. A 20 minute walk down into centre is delightful but getting back by bus can be problematic.
Lovely hotel in lovely setting Great breakfast. Delightful staff. Clean pool in garden