Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Canada

Florence Travels

Posted Jun 3, 2016
Admittedly my wife and l were somewhat apprehensive as we ascended 2 flights of concrete stairs although it went away as we entered the common area and we're greeted by a very welcoming host. We immediately noticed that our room and it's bathroom were a good size and very clean. In terms of a Pensione this hotel is excellent. It is located in the heart of the tourist area. My wish list would be for the management to install a quality WiFi system as even data access is very poor within the hotel. Some travelers may prefer TVS in the rooms.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not if you like to sleep

Posted May 29, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Soundproofing
Location: Great location in pedestrian area of Florence near everything
Location is great, right around the corner from the Duomo, BUT noisy ALL night long with restaurants and drunks in the street to all hours. The first night they also decided to pump septic tanks all along the street starting at 4 AM. Smell and noise was atrocious.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Daycare for adults!

Posted May 12, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Wifi.
Location: Duomo
This was legitimately the closest experience to jail I ever had. There is a 1 am curfew which if you don't meet, you sleep on the street. You aren't allowed to take your key outside, so why even issue keys if they are taken the second youn walk outside. The room smelt putrid and was drab and uncomfortable. But the real kicker...NO WIFI. I don't know how it's possible but there was no wifi which made planning a nightmare. The owner spends her time monitoring the activities of every guest which I might add was only one other person, but offers no real services. Spend a little extra and book elsewhere it will change the way you see Florence. This place drains energy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very clean and central

Posted Apr 5, 2016
Really nice pensione. Easy to find and really close to the centre + train station. As long as you don't want to be out all night (curfew) I would definitely recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2015
Cons: allow the guest to carry spare room keys
Very good location, the rooms are large and comfortable, best value for money, the owner is pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kitchener, Ontario Canada

Fantastic location, clean and safe

Posted Sep 30, 2015
Very secure location right near all tourist attractions. Easy walk from train station (10 minutes). Easy walk to Uffuzi Gallery, Ponte Vecchio etc. Two issues: there is no Wi-fi and the street below is noisy. The shutters don't completely block out the noise and my husband had to resort to earplugs. Florence has wi-fi available near tourist sites but I wanted it in the hotel and was disappointed they didn't have it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Oxford, UK

Perfect Location

Posted Sep 22, 2015
Pros: Perfect location
For this price in the centre of everything, you really can't complain. It's a 15 minute walk from the SMN station, 2 minutes from the Duomo and approximately 25-30 minutes stroll to the Boboli Gardens. I couldn't fault the place. Very friendly staff (there's a 1am curfew). Don't forget that you pay when you arrive in cash, which is something we completely forgot to budget for but there's plenty of ATMs around the corner. As a side note, the restaurant downstairs is pretty good. Stay away from eating at the main squares as they're very pricey with below average food. It's much more pleasant to walk for 10-15 minutes away from the main tourist traps and try a random restaurant that the locals seem to like. Half the price and ridiculously good food!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham, UK

Character property, seconds away from The Duomo

Posted Sep 17, 2015
Pros: The location is perfect, the lady is so friendly and a period building with clean rooms
Cons: Perhaps the introduction of a WiFi connection?
Location: Very close to all the attractions in Florence, especially The Duomo
We loved our stay at the Pensione Canada, the lady who greeted us was by far the most welcoming and friendly person we met on our entire trip, she also spoke perfect English. The property is just around the corner from the main square, where The Duomo is situated, so the location is perfect: even though it was right in the centre we found the noise level to be fine late at night. It wasn't apparent at first where the hotel was located as it is a busy street, but there was a sign next to the main door with a buzzer. The room itself was clean, comfortable and the bathroom was modern, there was a lot of character in the building too, with the traditional shutter windows in our room overlooking The Duomo. It is worth mentioning there is a curfew of 1am, which we didn't find to be a problem. We will definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to everything

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Great place to stay for a few days and good quality for money. The only down side to this hotel is that there is no air conditioning but only a little fan in room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

no ac, no wifi

Posted Jul 23, 2015
I can accep there is no ac when it's 40celcius, but no wifi really drove me crazy...