Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Look no further, this is home.

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
I had high expectations based on the ratings, but tempered expectations based on Italian service, even in 5 star hotels. This place legitimately exceeded expectations from every perspective. Outstanding communication from the staff, especially Leny who I exchanged messages with prior to my arrival and who greeted me at the door. The room was very comfortable, spacious, and thoughtfully laid out. The property is charming, basically a section of a massive former palace, converted into a 5 room bed and breakfast. The first night I was there, I believe I was the only person staying. Yet Leny set up breakfast as though all the rooms were at capacity. The breakfast room has a beautiful view, and doubles as a comfortable lounge. Everything was explained to me perfectly and comprehensively, and the staff consistently took the initiative to ask if I needed anything during my stay. As a very frequent traveller, and at the risk of sounding like an a**hole, one who typically stays at world class properties, what sets a place apart is how it makes you feel when you're away from home. This property was absolutely outstanding, and one I would recommend to anyone I know or anyone who cares to read this review. Thank you for a truly awesome experience.
4 out of 5
by Rochelle from Minnesota

Charming

Posted Jun 24, 2016 on Hotels
The palace and gardens of this venue are quiet, charming, and picturesque, and our room was large and comfortable. We reserved the room with a small rooftop patio, from which the views are spectacular. The breakfast is very basic, with croissants and breads, a small selection of meat, cheese and fruit, and cereal, coffee and juice - perfect for our needs. I would highly recommend the Home in Palace for anyone who is looking for an out-of-the ordinary hotel experience that is located within walking distance to most attractions.
5 out of 5
by Alfonso from Miami

Excelent B &B in Florence

Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels
This is a unique B&B located some minutes walk from the Duomo. It has a beautiful breakfast lounge overseeing the city and in the ground floor there is a magnificent giant garden. We will get back for sure.
4 out of 5
by Mauricio from São Paulo, Brazil

Nice stay, some easy fixes needed

Posted Oct 9, 2014 on Hotels
We had a quite pleasant stay here, but there are some points for improvements, and they are easy to fix in my opinion, that would make it even better. The room that we stayed was quite big and clean. Even had a Duomo view (laying on the floor because the windows are really low). We don´t regret the choice of staying here where we have more space than in a small hotel room with some extra comfort, but as I mentioned before, the things to be improved are easy fixes. Comments for improvement: 1) Mosquitoes. After turning the AC they left us alone, but that cheap electric anti-mosquitoes would be of some help. 2) Wi-fi - they have wi-fi (slow but ok), but the passwords lasts only 24 hours. I must say that they already left in the room new passwords during the day, but the numbers of them were decreasing. First day we asked for 4 (iPhone & iPad for me and my wife). Last night we got only 2. I suppose that if I have asked for 2 more I will get them, but the whole point is the system used. It is kind of annoying. I´m sure there is a smarter way of doing this and also to boost the speed would help. 3) Breakfast - We were said during the check in that the breakfast was simple. Fair enough, but I believe is not that difficult or expensive to have a decent bread and cheese (it is Italy, right?), instead of sliced loaf and pasteurized cheese. They managed a croissant last morning, but it was probably frozen. Nice try, but not really a good one. The coffee/capuccino was pretty good.
5 out of 5
by roinb from toronto

iesidential, non-tourist area but close to everyth

Posted Sep 30, 2014 on Hotels
fabulous place to stay. Very attentive staff who helped out with bookings. Lots of non-touristy restaruants and bars in the area. Loved the private garden
4 out of 5
by Linda from Seattle, WA

Nice property, but a bit out of the way

Posted Sep 8, 2014 on Hotels
My husband and I stayed at Home in Palace on our honeymoon. Our room was spacious and had a great outdoor space, but the property itself is a bit out of the way and, given its age, it's full of bugs. I probably got at least a dozen really big bug bites during our three days there. Lenny, the housekeeper, is great and very helpful, but she's only there a few hours a day. I would hate to get locked out of the property and have no one to call. When we went back through Florence on our way home, we stayed at a much more convenient (and cheaper) place closer to the train station and we would probably do that again next time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Let down by the hotel staff. Rude and abrasive.

Posted Jul 19, 2014
The hotel staff are a huge let down for this otherwise good hotel. We found one female staff member to be consistently rude and abrasive. Customer serivice skills are virtually non existent. The other down side was the long and convoluted hike up the stairs and lift and then another lift to the accommodation quarters. The breakfast was nothing to write home about either. Florence has far better places to offer at this price !!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 16, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Gerry from Dubai

Wonderful place

Posted Jul 11, 2014 on Hotels
This place is simply amazing, the location is perfect, the rooms are very well kept and the staff is very friendly. The home in palace is 5 minute walk from the Duomo, in a very quiet area with private entrance. If you are travelling with a car, parking is provided and the reception will take care of the camera restrictions to allow your number plate in the private road. The staff is very friendly and very helpful, Lenny (I hope it's spelled this way) has been very kind with us throughout our stay. I would definitely recommend this hotel and I would definitely come back here if I had the chance.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Roger from Singapore

Good location, hard to find.

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: The room was very clean and nice. It was in the loft area with a skylight. The place has a large garden and you can park your car there for free.
Cons: Let guests know about how to find the place easily.
This hotel is not your usual hotel. It's in a converted palace. The owners have about 6 rooms that they use for guests. There is no lobby area and staff are not there all the time. To find the hotel you'll see only a large green door. You have to ring the bell like it's someone's house, then the staff will open the front gate.