Ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Staff very friendly and helpful
Cons: Shower and breakfast
Very poor( and potentially dangerous) shower for hotel of this standard. Breakfast was very average and expensive.. Dinner in hotel was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent staff!

Posted Sep 25, 2016
We needed a doctor and one was at our room in 40 minutes! They made us wonderful soup at 3:30am when I needed something to eat. Great stay, beautiful hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadephia, PA

An Oasis.

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: The pool was the initial reason for choosing this hotel, but the property is a first rate "resort".
Location: We visited several restaurants and coffee shops within a 5 minute stroll and we're pleased with the quality of food, service and value.
This lovely hotel is staffed with cheerful professionals (including the exacting maids that clean the room twice a day), maintained impeccably and has a gorgeous outside pool with immaculate chaise lounges (coverings are changed immediately when vacated) and poolside food and beverage service of the highest degree. We knew the location was a walk to the Duomo, but lovely shops and restaurants are along the way and there is a free car service offered that needs just 10 minute notice. I would highly recommend this hotel and hope to return in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

VIP welcome...Oasis pool...great location!

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Our stay at Villa Medici wonderful. The staff was incredibly attentive and gracious. The pool was a relaxing oasis at which to cool down between our morning and late afternoon adventures...when the lounge chairs filled up the staff always produced more. The hotel was close enough to comfortably walk to the historic center but outside of hectic tourist areas. Thank you Villa Medici...every time I walked through the front door I felt like you had been awaiting my return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old hotel and it looks and feels like it

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Great staff but needs a renovation, especially the pool. Photos are deceiving, not nearly as nice in reality. Would have booked elsewhere had I known
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Gatos, Ca

Simply avoid this hotel, plenty others

Posted Apr 27, 2016
During the checkin, because of the Platinum AmEx partner sign, being a Platinum AmEx member, I asked the question if the hotel extends Platinum AmEx benefits to their guests... I was immediately cut off with a very direct statement - "You are NOT entitled to anything, you have booked via Expedia. Period!". Checking into the room: In the room 90 degrees. Thermostat is not working. Call to front desk - no, you can not adjust the thermostat. The bottled water in the room is HOT! Drinks in the little refrigerator- HOT! Call to the room service/front desk - yes we can bring you cold bottle of water - $15 Opened the balcony to have some fresh air (90 degrees in the room) - two huge bright lights... With room being hot, wanted to have balcony door open for air, can't turn off balcony lights, room is lit like an operating theater. Call to the front desk - can you turn the lights off? No, the light will go off automatically at 2 am - have a good and bright night. Calling in the morning for coffee... Sir don't forget- check out is at 11am sharp. Did I mention all this joy was over $400 a night with $50 night parking?! Enjoy...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OH

Good location close to all the attractions

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Courteous staff . Breakfast is average . Clean rooms . Average views from rooms .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2015
The nicest parts were vary limited. all i have to say
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Beautiful hotel

Posted Sep 24, 2015
Pros: The location is within walking distance of many sites and the train station. Beautiful, spacious rooms. Reserve a balcony room.
Cons: The fitness room equipment was sparse.
Location: Close to many of the beautiful sights in a beautiful city.
We had a lovely time in Florence, and this hotel was perfect for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Sep 16, 2015
I stay in Florence every month for business and I always try a new hotel. Grand Hotel Villa Medici is the 10th and so far the best BUT it does not mean it deserves 5 stars!!! It is not the best for the breakfast buffet... only a selection of chewy industrial breads + packaged portions of cheap "President" butter + apple tart with soggy pastry (at 8am) + average quality coffee served in a teapot and plastic-covered-Ibis-style dining chairs. Liked the building itself, the entrance hall and its decoration, the bar area, the efficiency of hotel staff and care given by bar staff and the location. I will probably go back.