Ratings based on 544 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Professional Handling of a Problem

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Location
Location: Ideal for functions at Statione Leopolda & the new opera house. Close to Arno River for walks.
We arrived at ten pm to find the hotel was full & they had mixed up our booking & had us checking in the next night for 3 days ( their error). However, the hotel staff person quickly rectified the situation by booking us into a suite at another of their hotels 4 k away & sending us there at their expense by taxi where we were treated very well. We returned to Michelangelo the next am again by cab to a room upgrade where a fruit basket & letter of apology awaited us, very much appreciated by my husband & me. We go to Florence often on business & would not hesitate to stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

Very helpful staff

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Everthing was great
Cons: Better lighting in elevator
Being first time vistors to Rome, we had lots of concerns but staff was very helpful with directions, suggestions, & things to avoid.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 5, 2017 by michelangelo.fi, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, we thank you very much for your kind review of our hotel. Best regards. Graziano Luddi - Manager.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

TERRIBLE WIFI, dont allow guests into hotel.

Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Wotif
Location: yea, good location. only thing it has going for it.
Every time u enter the hotel, u need to go to the front desk to let them in. and they dont let guests in, was really annoyed.... none of their business. felt like i was living at my parents house. they say 'GREAT WIFI'.... its horrible! like 1 bar at the best of times, and mega slow. i complained and he shrugged. awsome. bed was pretty lumpy n bad........ not 4 star accom! and not mega cheap eithor. oh, and breakfast.... was basically.... bread + cereal. we only ate there once. = /
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2016 by Alessandra Bragoli - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, first of all we would like to thank you for taking your time to write us your comments about your recent stay at our Starhotels Michelangelo. We are sorry to hear that your experience was not up to your expectations and we kindly ask you if you can give us an explanation of what happened during your stay, in order for us to share your impressions with our staff. Our goal is to give our guest an excellent service and make their experience in our property unforgettable. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel and be well assured that your opinion is highly taken into consideration to improve the quality of our work. Kindest regards, Alessandra Bragoli - General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Clean, calm environment, personnel very courteous, Wifi is not so strong to do Zoominars though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2016 by Alessandra Bragoli - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, we would like to thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent stay in our Starhotels Michelangelo. We are really glad to hear that you appreciated our hospitality, in terms of quality of the service/product, location and cleanliness. Any suggestions or opinions related to our service is highly taken into consideration and, if in any way this service can be improved, be well assured that our will is to achieve this goal. Thank you for choosing Starhotels and hoping to welcoming you again, kind regards. Alessandra Bragoli - General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the cleanest

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Get rid of the smell and please upgrade the wifi routers. Also, please replace all kettles as they are extremely dirty
-Strong smell of vinegar throughout -Extremely slow wifi despite getting the "business" speed -Dirty kettle rendering it basically unusable despite asking for a new one
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 5, 2017 by michelangelo.fi, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, we thank you so much for the review about your experience in our Starhotels Michelangelo. We apologize for hearing that your stay by us was not measured up with your expectations and we will take in consideration your signalization in order to improve the quality of our services. We’ll wish to see you here again. Best regards. Manager Graziano Luddi
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with a convenient location

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Location and cleanliness
Cons: Internet speed is very slow and outdated.
Location: The tram station is opposite to the hotel.
I stayed with my family of 4 in the family suite. It was very comfortable room. The hotel is clean and nice with a decent breakfast. The tram station opposite to the hotel is very convenient Or 10min walk to the main railway station. There is a very nice pizzeria on the opposite side of the hotel which was referred by the hotel front office.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 5, 2017 by michelangelo.fi, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, we thank you very much for your kind review of our hotel. Best regards. Graziano Luddi - Manager.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from k

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Room is ok. Slightly small for two people and not enough space for luggage etc. Shower screen allows the water to easily be leaked onto floor this was annoying. Darks colour of room shows the dust more in room. The layout of room isn't user friendly due to lack of space.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 5, 2017 by michelangelo.fi, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, we thank you very much for your kind review of our hotel. Best regards. Graziano Luddi - Manager.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Endicott, NY

Modern Hotel in Quiet Part of Town

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Modern, comfortable, things worked as expected.
Cons: Initially had some issues with the air conditioning, but they reset it and it was fine then.
Location: It's walking distance to the main city center and Pont Vecchio.
We stayed here the last night in Florence for easier access to the airport. After staying at an old palace for the first 3 nights and a bed and breakfast in the wine country for the rest of the stay, this modern, business-class hotel was refreshing. I wouldn't have wanted to stay here the whole time, but definitely good for rest from the "Quaint".
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 5, 2017 by michelangelo.fi, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, we thank you very much for your kind review of our hotel. Best regards. Graziano Luddi - Manager.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Oasis in Florence

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Stayed two nights with 9 yr old son, easy 15 mins walk from train station, right past the best steak house in Florence out side of station. Stylish clean comfortable hotel. Beautiful lobby & massive lounge area, rooms are spacious & feel quality. I'd highly recommend this hotel and other star hotels. If I was to really try & find any fault maybe breakfast staff could be a little more proactive at food replenishment? But minor fault. Enjoy
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2016 by Alessandra Bragoli - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Your review was such a delight to read! I am so pleased to hear that you appreciated the calibre of service delivered by my team and enjoyed your stay in Florence here with us. It is great to read that the attention to detail from the team did not go unnoticed. Also, I have shared your words regarding the breakfast staff with the F&B manager, in order to always improve the quality of service we deliver to all our guests. Thank you for taking the time to write and look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Regina, Saskatchewan

Excellent location

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness, spacious rooms, breakfast was great with lots of choice.
Location: Walking distance to central market, restaurants and laundry if needed
Great experience! Close to the train station by foot or tram. Lots of great restaurants within walking distance. Would definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2016 by starhotels, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I’m glad to hear that Your stay here in our Starhotels Michelangelo was pleasant and measured up with your expectations. We are proud of it and that makes us to do always the best in our job. We thank you very much for choosing us for your stay and we hope to welcome You again in on of the hotels of Starhotels chain. Sincerely. Alessandra Bragoli – Manager