Ratings based on 181 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

A true gem in Florence. Authentic five star villa

Posted May 22, 2017
Authentic five star villa in the most beautiful area of Florence. The hotel is a true 19th century gem. They have some help managed to keep the feeling of the original mansion with all the modern conveniences. The spa is world-class and the pool is outstanding. The service was the best I have ever had in Italy including four seasons. Breakfast and dinner at the hotel were excellent. Marco and his staff treat you like royalty. Keeping you refreshed and energized and a wonderful but very busy Florence
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Service and location were fantastic

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Service was excellent. Location was scenic and perfect for travel to and outside Florence. Shuttle service was a premium
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham UK

The Perfect Honeymoon location

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Cons: Some ability to iron own clothes would've been nice, but the room service did this for us albeit at a cost. But this is me trying to find weaknesses
Location: Florence, the Uffizi, Ponte Vecchio, Duomo, Piazza Pitti are a picturesque walk away. Would recommend Ciro & sons for delicious Italian food.
From the moment we were greeted at the beautiful hotel doors from our taxi, to the moment we left with complimentary water the whole experience of staying at this hotel was magical. This is undoubtedly a luxurious and beautiful location sat half way up the hill around 30 minutes walking distance from the Ponte Vecchio. Our private roof terrace looked out across a breathtaking Florence skyline. The room itself was wonderful with wooden floors, wonderfully equipped bathroom and bedroom and ample closet space. The surroundings of the hotel itself from the gardens that were illuminated at night time, to the Il Pascha restaurant in the grounds that can be accessed by a tunnel in inclement weather were just what we wanted, an experience not to be forgotten. Service and food in the restaurant was second to none and I can recommend the steak which was perfectly cooked. A perfect spot to access Florence and the surrounds and luxurious surroundings, attended to be wonderfully attentive staff. If I have my way it will not be long before we return. Wonderful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent standards and attention to detail

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: Great setting, immaculate facilities, a photographers delight
Cons: Restaurant overly pretentious, service slow to serve relatively over priced food. Head instead to the plethora of excellent restaurants in Florence.
Location: Nicely away from the city to provide a relaxing contrast to the gorgeous town of Florence
Lived up to our expectations in that the hotel facilities included excellent spa, nice pool, great staff who could not do enough for us. The free shuttle a real boon. A real photographers paradise that could almost be a destination in its own right to photograph the opulent interior and the grounds. The only room for improvement was the slow service in the restaurant serving over priced and somewhat pretentious food. Save your self a load of Euros and head instead to the multitude of fabulous restaurants in Florence for a taste of excellent Italian food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stowe, VT

Opulent and historic. Visually stunning! Breakf

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Opulent and historic. Visually stunning! Breakfast was included with our stay. Featuring table service, fresh juice extractions, cappuccino & more wonderful foods. Staff is attentive and goes out of there way to accommodate. Hotel also offers a complimentary shuttle service. You must stay and see for yourself!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel in Arcetri just outside Firenze.

Posted Mar 6, 2017
5 star service from a 5 star hotel! Wonderful quiet and peaceful location with shuttle service into Florence. Very friendly and professional staff.
5 out of 5
by Carlos

Machado review

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing trip. Amazing villa. Just breath taking
5 out of 5
by Thomas

Worth being just outside the busy city centre

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic service. Worth getting a room with a balcony/patio for the views of Florence. Enjoyed the 15 minute walk into town and it was nice to get away from the crowds also.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stunningly decorated hotel. No coffee maker though

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Cons: Coffee maker in room.
Staff superb. Dinner superb. Need a coffee maker in the room though.
5 out of 5
by mike

So special I really should could it secret

Posted Jan 24, 2017 on Hotels
A truly luxurious boutique hotel brimming with character and history.