Ratings based on 205 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel! Unbelievable views!

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Better than expected! Photos do not do it justice. Only downside, small walk into town. Although after being in Rome we wanted to be outside of the city. We enjoyed the walk. Views were gorgeous! Breakfast fabulous! Staff attentive. They even had a special heart mat, colored pencils, coloring books, bedtime story, and teddy bears soaps for my daughter. They went above and beyond. Cannot sing high enough praise. We will be back!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room with a view with great service and relaxation

Posted Dec 4, 2016 on Hotels
Overall is five stars except the bathroom could get cooler at night because the cold breeze from outside gets in the bathroom window even when locked. View, space and room comfort and service is excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Relaxing luxury space

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Location: Go see San Miniato church and listen to the Gregorian chant in the evenings. Incredibly relaxing.
First off, the amazing views of Florence cannot be underestimated. The Grand Deluxe room had a very comfortable king bed and was beautifully decorated. Room service was prompt and tasty. Front desk staff were very responsive and friendlyas were the cleaning staff. The only downside could be the noise sometimes created by wedding parties or traffic.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is beautiful and the views from the hotel are amazing. Many of the service people were very nice. This 5-start hotel could use a little sprucing up (e.g., the wood floors in our room were quite worn and the canopy over the beautiful bed was frayed). The food at the restaurant was nothing special.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stunning!

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel with amazing views over city
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Wedding Crashers

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: Spectacular views.
Cons: The villa should close the hotel to uninvited guests when hosting an event.
Location: Near Piazza Michelangelo and the Pitti Palace. Dine at La Loggia where you can enjoy the beautiful vista and very good food.
We felt like wedding crashers at this hotel. The party was in full swing on the grand terrace when we arrived that Friday evening. The only problem was that we were not invited guests, and, therefore not welcome on the terrace with the spectacular views. The other problem was that loud dance music thumped away while we tried vainly to sleep--think Gangam Style. The following day they had another event. We only stayed one night, so it did not ruin our vacation. Check with the villa before booking a stay. The villa has beautiful grounds and gorgeous views of Florence. The rooms are will appointed and maintained. The breakfast buffet is very good. It is located just outside the central part of Florence across the river, so slightly out of the way, but well worth the effort. My suggestion is that you stay a couple of nights at the villa mid-week to enjoy the splendor of the villa in peace, and to visit the Pitti Palace. Spend the remainder of your Florence stay in the city center.
5 out of 5
by susan from Grosse Pointe Shores, Michigan

Beautiful hotel with spectacular view

Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel, impeccably maintained with a great staff dedicated to making your stay as wonderful as possible. The rooms are great sized, well decorated, clean and have great views of the city of Florence. Breakfast every morning is served overlooking the city and is varied and delicious. The grounds are spectacular and the outside porch is truly the perfect place to watch the sunset. The pool area is spacious and beautiful and a welcome retreat after walking the city. It is about a 20 minute walk into town and our family braved it many times during our stay. The uphill climb is a challenge but the hotel offers a free shuttle for those who would rather ride. we loved our stay and were sad to say goodbye.
4 out of 5
by Andrew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 18, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Oryal from Montreal

Florence at its best

Posted Jun 12, 2016 on Hotels
This is our second time staying here. We love this small hotel. It has a charm and elegance which fits beautifully with the Florence landscape. The hotel grounds overlook the old city on the other side of the river. The old building is exceptionally maintained and complemented by modern amenities. I would recommend this place to anyone - you will not regret it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely hotel but lacks a cosy feel.

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Pros: The view and the staff
Cons: Provide complimentary bottled water in the rooms.
This is a lovely hotel in a beautiful old building that has a great view of the city, although it is worth bearing in mind that it is quite a walk into the city's historic center, to the hotel's credit they do offer a shuttle service but it only runs until about 8pm so you need ask them if you are planning on staying later in the city for dinner or drinks. The hotel itself lacks a cosy feel and could really do with a nice residences bar where guests could enjoy a relaxing drink at the end of day or before heading out for an evening in the city. My only real criticism of the hotel, and is a minor gripe, would be that considering it's a 5 star hotel I was surprised that we were expected to pay mini bar prices for water in the room, surely bottled water should be complimentary at this sort of establishment. Overall we enjoyed our stay at Villa la Vedetta and would not hesitate to recommend it.