Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: The staff here is fantastic, they go the extra mile to make you comfortable
Cons: The location was a little too far from what we wanted to see and the building is modern, it doesn't feel like a beautiful old villa
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great rooms and breakfast in a great setting.

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Location: Florence and Bologna are near enough to visit if you have a car. Great restaurant across the road.
We chose wrong time of year to come (October) and therefor could not fully use pool facilities that looked great. Room perfectly OK for five star if not luxurious. Breakfast great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel in idyllic surroundings

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: the freindly staff and lovely rooms, the breakfast and location.
Cons: perhaps an earlier return shuttle from Florence
Location: beautiful location within easy reach of Florence, Sienna and Bologna
Perfect for families or couples wanting to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. There is a daily shuttle service to Florence which allows you to explore the city in a leisurely manner and return in time for a swim. The temperature mid August is perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted May 19, 2016
Reception staff were great . Room was lovely except two beds joined to make king bed and could really feel the join All the other facilities very good except the spa treatments were very overpriced .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Staff was nice but amenities we're disappointing.

Posted Oct 21, 2015
Pros: The staff was nice and the pool area looked nice even though we visted after it was closed.
Cons: Internet!!! Works very slow and then drops. Only had lunch at the restaurant, but was not impressed by the food.
Location: We visted Florence, Lucca and Fiesole. Resturant across the street was very good, I had Wild boar on noodles, was really good!
Upon check in we found our room to be nice but not over the top. We were informed after check in the spa was closed due to some repairs 😔, next day we didn't make it back before they closed. Facing the road was not bad except for the neighbors barking dogs, like 4 or 5 that was pretty frequent. Had some problems with the elevator, so we opted for the stairs. The breakfast had a pretty good selection of pastries, yogurt, cold cuts and scrambled eggs too. The staff tried very hard to be helpful with recommendations of towns to visit and places to eat. Loved Ristorante San Barnaba in Scarperia! The owners were great and the Bistecca Florentine was amazing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from SF Bay Area

Gorgeous setting

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: Setting and peaceful location
Cons: More service on Mondays, when many local restaurants are closed
Location: Lake Bilancino and Barberini di Mugello outlets. Good for bikers and hikers.
Impressive building, grounds and setting with a view over a lake, about half an hour North of Florence. Very pleasant staff, lovely room, and the food was excellent. We dined on the terrace overlooking the lake and pool. We had the misfortune to arrive when the spa was out of action for mechanical problems, and on a Monday, when some of the facilities like poolside service were not available, but apart from that we had a really enjoyable stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

wonderful hotel and staff

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Everything from decor, food, staff, facilities
Cons: Perhaps the lunch time menu could be more extensive !
Location: great historic town experience nearby... close to florence
great stay for our honeymoon. the hotel is beautiful but the staff are so friendly it is the best part of the experience !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robert from Toronto, Ontario

Absolutely fabulous!

Posted Sep 4, 2013
If you're looking for a simple, yet luxurious place to stay near Florence, this is it. The attention to detail when it came to service, food and ambiance was first class all the way. We stayed for 5 days and saw Tuscany and Florence from there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shane from London, UK

For a relaxing week in the countryside

Posted Aug 2, 2013
Pros: Friendly service, beautiful hotel and rooms, and an amazing spa
Location: Stunning views of the North Tuscany countryside
I have lived and travelled all over the world and this is the first time i have reviewed a hotel. Located about 30 mins north of Florence its in a quiet area with beautiful scenery - lake, rolling hills, etc. We were fortunate enough to start our stay with a free upgrade and it really epitomised the service we had for the rest of the trip. Andrea and the rest of the front desk staff were incredibly helpful with restaurant recommendations, cars, etc. Michele, Lorenzo and the rest of the restaurant and bar staff were friendly and helpful and all spoke excellent English. The hotel itself is beautiful and has a nice terrace with a beautiful view - great for lunches and dinners. The pool area is nicely set up and the spa is amazing. The gym was on the basic side but there is a walking/running path through the trees which is handy. Its a 5 star hotel, so its not for budget travellers, but the rooms, the food and the wine are all great value relative other luxury resorts All in all a wonderful place to relax for a week of great food, wine and friendly service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andy from London

Fabulous place for a relaxing break!

Posted Jul 25, 2013
Pros: Location, decor and relaxation experience!
Cons: Cost of drinks & food
Location: Super outside Florence - lovely countryside!
The hotel is in a lovely setting outside the hustle and bustle of Florence. It offers a free daily shuttle service to Florence - so no worry about driving in Florence or trying to find a car park! The hotel is very stylishly appointed and very tastefully done. The pool area is restful - though not ideal for kids as people are tending to want to rest and relax. Food and drink there are very pricey - E15 for a gin&tonic, E5 for a diet coke! Had they been a little cheaper, one might drink more! There is lots to do nearby but you definitely need a car. One restaurant is within walking distance - others about 5 mins drive away.