Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Faded beauty but warm welcome

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Wonderful friendly helpful staff but nowhere near enough of them. Would love to see this incredible grand house brought back to glory. It needs a little love. 1st few days frustrated by rarity of a barman broken air conditioner and kids camp beds. But the staff did everything they could for us always with enthusiasm. By day 10 we didn't want to leave. It's peaceful the grounds are stunning and there's plenty of beautiful quiet corners to take a book
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville Tennessee

Excellent Villa in the Tuscany countryside

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Everything was awesome (we got a nice upgrade for our Anniversary). Excellent old time Villa with the Renaissance feel that we wanted. Absolutely beautiful and the staff was great - especially Thomas. If you have a rental car there are plenty of things to do within a 2 hour drive (we went to Pisa and San Gimignano). The food was awesome and the wait staff was great (even though the hotel was very full). We will definitely come back and wished we would have spent our entire trip at this location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from michigan

Relaxing hotel in tuscani valley

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: The hotel is a gem
Cons: None
Location: Location is far from florence if you are planning to visit florence If you need a break from your vacation. This is the place
Relaxing the staff made us feel at home Y
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Views

Posted Jul 28, 2014
The staff was wonderfully accomodating when we had an issue stemming from 2 different buildings. Main hotel is gorgeous and the views are stunning. They have a 4 room 'guest house' that is used for 'overflow' I suspect. The hotel staff reacted accordingly when we voiced our concerns and made our stay very enjoyable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milton, MA

Spectacular experience

Posted Jul 5, 2014
This is exactly what you hope for when you visit Italy... a gorgeous villa, situated in a breathtaking town in the hills of Tuscany. We had to continually pinch ourselves throughout the stay to make sure we weren't dreaming. The staff is very warm and welcoming (and speak enough English to answer any questions you have). The breakfast is fabulous, in an elegant dining room with the windows wide open, a gentle breeze and the songs of birds greeting you each morning (and don't get me started on the chocolate croissants which were beyond delicious).There is WiFi and a computer in the lobby, the only evidence of the 21st century in this otherwise authentic 11th century villa. The grounds are spectacular and offer endless opportunity for meandering. An all around perfect vacation choice for anyone lucky enough to visit Italy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Raheel from Manchester

Spectacular villa in the Tuscany hills.

Posted May 9, 2014
A beautiful villa steeped in history. Staff were more than helpful and friendly. Spectacular views. A long weekend was not enough to appreciate all the sights but we managed to fit in Florence and Arezzo. If travelling by train be aware that the nearest station to the villa is 4km away so hire a car! Or walk up the hills as we did - takes 1hr 15 mins but worth it for the views.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Nov 17, 2013
Pros: The view was one of the most beautiful of all the places we stayed in Italy.
Cons: Air conditioning should be included in all rooms.
Location: Tuscany is beautiful with several small villages and olive groves everywhere, not to mention the vineyards. Outlet shopping is nearby also.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is beautiful and feels like staying in a castle. The view is breathtaking, but be careful when making reservations. Only superior rooms and up have air conditioning. Luckily our stay was in September and the nights were cool enough, but it could be uncomfortable during the warmer months. Also be sure to have euros on hand because there is nowhere to exchange money. The banks won't do it, and the money exchangers in Florence will charge you a 20 percent fee that they don't include when they quote you an exchange rate. Read all the small print! Otherwise, our stay was lovely. The food at the hotel was excellent, and they sell a local olive oil that is outstanding!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room comfort

Posted Nov 12, 2013
Pros: A beautiful place in a wonderful setting
Cons: The bathroom in our room was far too small
Location: It is a lovely place to relax and just enjoy the serenity of nature at it's best
The room we had was very large and actually had 2 bedrooms with the main bed in a loft. But the bathroom was very small and any one of any size would not fit in the shower
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris

Holy smokes

Posted Jul 2, 2013
Pros: Beautiful, amazing villa and views.
We honestly left saying no one would even believe us. It is that good. It is an historic (1063) Benedictine monestary in Tuscan countryside. A true estate. Beautiful. Beautiful views. Beautiful rooms. Modernized. It has a bar with big screen TV and WiFi so don't worry about the monestary part. It is luxurious. Best mini shampoo, soap and towels we had on our trip. Huge room with high ceilings. Huge beautiful room. Beautiful woodwork. Beautiful place. It's hard to believe. Really. Yet it was less than 100 euro per night. It's one drawback is location. We rented a car, so that is no problem. It was 40 minute drive into Florence and worth it. But if you don't have a car, I'm not sure how bad it is to get to a train or bus, that I would look into.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pascal from Saluda, USA

Stunning Hotel in Tuscany!

Posted Jun 29, 2013
Wow! What a place! This is an absolutely stunning hotel located in a breathtaking area of Tuscany! The staff is fantastic, the food at the restaurant first class, and the room we stayed in was incredible! I highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to experience what Tuscany and its hospitality is all about!