Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Barbara

Villa needs lots of tender loving care

Posted Jul 16, 2012 on Hotels
The Villa Ulivi has the potential of being a lovely place...but it appears that the grounds have not been maintained. I can only speak of the quarters that I stayed in and was disgusted by the mold and dirty carpeting. Only two areas were air conditioned, the bedroom that I stayed in was very uncomfortable for it was not air conditioned. There was no telephone in the room and making arrangements to get to town were challenging. There was no place to buy beverages or food. The only high point of the stay was the housekeeper, Lei, she tried her best to help with requests, although I did not meet the Villa owner, my friends that I traveled with did, and said she was very unpleasant and rude. My advice to anyone that may be interested in this Villa is don't book it..keep looking.
3 out of 5
by Glenda

Posted Jun 25, 2012 on Wotif
Pros: Lovely old villa, close to town centre,
Cons: Advertised with air con, hair dryer, tv - there were none of these, moThe host let himself into our room without knocking,
Location: Away from it all
Facilities: Shabby; Value: Excessive; Service: Lacking; Cleanliness: Reasonably clean;
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

vicino

Posted May 3, 2012 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Joe Dan from Arrington, VA 22922, USA

A Beautiful night in a Villa in Italy.

Posted Mar 20, 2012
Pros: The beauty inside and out of the Villa
Cons: Make sure you know about how to take the bus into town.
Location: convenient bus ride into Florence and comes with free parking. Beautiful surroundings.
I could not stop taking photographs. This truly a Villa that has become a B&B. The room was very large as was the bathroom. Old style bathtub. The furniture was a little dated but nice. There were enough working outlets and free wifi. It is own a main street into town. Take the 25 bus from the stop a hundred yards back towards town. Stand on the side of the crosswalk opposite the bus stop and on the same side as the Tabachi shop sign (now a cafe). 10 minutes gets you to St. Marks square and only a few paces from the Academia and David. The rest of the main sites are a only several blocks further away. Stop and have a cappuccino at the cafe (Tabachi) and a great cannoli. This is not for those who want the sameness of the holiday inn or the Ritz. This is a fun and beautiful and very inexpensive place for a room with breakfast. We loved our stay. And, oh there was hot water and a clean and comfortable bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 3, 2011 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pembroke, NH

Wish we paid attention to the other reviews...

Posted Jun 16, 2011 on Hotels
It's a shame! Yes, my overall reaction to this place. This place very nice, but it could be gorgeous, it has so much potential. It is very obvious that the owners of this B&B do not have their hearts into running the place. My first impression was when we were dropped off by the taxi at the front door and were greeted by a note that said to call for service. Not a problem except no one answered the phone after a couple attempts. So, we decided to walk around the place and found someone who did not speak english that eventually let us in. This person ended up waking their maid, who does speak english, followed by us having to listen to them argue with each other about her being awoken. Turns out the maid was arguing with the owner, who then kept telling us that she was crazy. Ok, not a problem, we got checked into our rooms, which were very nice and spacious. The house reminded us of the one in the Sound of Music for some reason, big open area with the grand stairway leading to the rooms above. The grounds are beautiful but need some serious maintenance. Then came the evening. We had our three daughters (age 19-22) in a separate room that was closed off with their own separate bathroom. Well, during the evening, someone walked into the area to turn off the light in the bathroom. As they left the room, they slammed the door waking everyone. The girls were nervous, and we checked to see if all were ok. When we went downstairs for breakfast, we asked the maid what happened, she said the owner was upset because the light was left on. So I guess that gives them the right to enter a locked room???? We let them know that one of the daughters has a vision impairment and has trouble seeing in the dark and needs the light to be left on (nevermind the fact that we paid for the room, and the door was locked!). She said it wouldn't happen again. So, that evening, it did happen again and of course waking up everyone. On top of that we got to listen to the owner argue with their son in the middle of the night (the noise travels well in this place, they should try insulating between rooms), plus the cats in heat outside our window. Needless to say, we did not sleep well there. We felt unsafe and very uncomfortable with all that was going on. And the excuse about the light was bizarre, especially since they left so many other lights on needlessly all night (like, outside our bedroom window). What this place needs is new owners who have a passion to run a great B&B. They have the location, the building and the grounds. It's a short bus ride to the main part of town in a nice neighborhood. Otherwise, we would never stay here again, and definitely would not recommend this place to anyone. The maid was right, they are a bit crazy, but we stuck it out hoping for the best but even after we commented about our feelings directly with them, they seemed like couldn't care less. In my opionion, they should hav at least appologized for the treatment, but clearly that was not forthcoming. I'm wirting this almost a month after our stay, but it has been on my mond ever since. We stayed another week in Italy and the rest of our stay (at other places) were fantastic. But, as my daughters reminded me, I should have paid better attention to the prior reviews before booking here. So, take warning before booking this place.
1 out of 5
by Ermanno from Matera

Villa Ulivi: DANGER

Posted Jan 16, 2011
L'alloggio non era quello previsto, ci hanno sistemato in locali situati nel sottotetto. La struttura in origine doveva essere molto bella. Ora, è in stato di abbandono. Il servizio è affidato ad una signora orientale che fa quello che può. La pulizia non è la caratteristica predominante. Soltanto le lenzuola erano pulite, il resto era sporchissimo. Dalla doccia uscivano soltanto tre zampilli d'acqua. La prima colazione era molto essenziale. La moquette nelle camere è a pelo lungo e trattiene al suo interno tanta vitalità che potrebbe soddisfare una serie intera di puntate del "Mondo di Quark". Durante i cinque giorni del nostro soggiorno le camere non sono state mai pulite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from italia

Buon rapporto qualità prezzo

Posted Jan 10, 2011
Tranquillo e confortevole
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Rochelle, NY

Villa Ulivi Review: I would not come back

Posted Jul 23, 2009
The 4oo year-old villa has a very good looking, but, the service is horrible. 1) The key to the front door does not work, so if you come back late at night, you cannot enter the front door. If you were early enough to come back, you get waken up by other guests who tried to open the door. 2) The owner plays music so loud at midnight so you have to come down to tell him to shut down the radio. 3) They double book and force you to stay at other hotel. It's been just a little over a year since they stared the hotel business, and they have a lot to learn about running hotel business. I would not come back again. Sincerely
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Creepy hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2009 on Hotels
This place was creepy. I felt like I was invading a private place where I was not wanted. There was also a prolonged episode at about midnite of screaming and pounding on furniture which was so terrifying that I would have left immediately if I could have. We instead locked ourselves in and left at 7 am before breakfast. Don't stay here !