Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Great location, walking distance to every where in the island.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Very happy with our choice

Posted Mar 8, 2016
Pros: Location and the staff made the lack of a pillow top mattress hardly noticeable.
Cons: Maybe new mattresses, but we could have asked for the egg crate things to be added and didn't so that's on us. An elevator, but hardly feasible.
Location: Wonderful lake view and short walk to anywhere on the island. The charm of Flores totally exceeded my expectations, plus everything is inexpensive.
The location is very good and exploring Flores is very convenient. It's not the Ramada Inn but we were happier than if we had stayed at the Ramada Inn. Loved sitting outside our room and people watching. The decor and the pool was relaxing and a great place to chill. It is really lovely sitting outside and catching up on emails, sharing pictures, or just soaking up the ambiance. We enjoyed a couple of cocktails in the warm pool that were very reasonably priced. The street food vendors outside the hotel were great for grabbing good food on our way out to explore the "city", we each had empanadas for a total of $1.40 US! The breakfasts were very good and we wish we would have been there longer so we could try a lunch or dinner. Next time for sure
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London UK.

Pleasant hotel overlooking the lake

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Pros: Hot shower, cleanliness, friendly reception.
Cons: Hot water in the washbasin. Staff attitudes other than reception.
Location: Central location overlooking lake. Tikal tours the outstanding attraction, boat trips on the lake rather expensive - twice cost of Tikal!
Nice clean room with really hot shower, though no hot water in the basin ( shave in the shower!). Plenty of shaded tables overlooking the lake and the small pool. Friendly helpful receptionist who gave me a Tikal tour voucher even though initially I had no local money ( required) to pay for it. This contrasted with the surly barman who always demanded I pay cash for a beer despite having given a credit card imprint. When refused, he phoned reception to verify, rather unnecessary as the reception was in plain sight of the bar. Hotel produced a decent breakfast box for my 4.30 start to Tikal. Proper breakfast was good too.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Close to the waterfront.

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Pros: It is excellently located, you can reach anything from the hotel within 15 to 20 minutes. The pool is in a great location.
Cons: The staff in our experience were unreliable and the hotel was noisy at night. With music blaring till the early hours of the morning.
The hotel is reasonably close to the water and is a great location for access to local amenities. It is very "lived in" and we experienced a number of issues such as no water on one of the days and the room lock not working. The rooms are extremely small and basic and feels more like a motel than a hotel. Not all of the staff are fluent in English and also they do not always fulfil their promises. In one instance on our last day they promised us a taxi to the airport at 4pm and it only came at 4:40 resulting in serious travel problems for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, good location

Posted Nov 24, 2014
This hotel is nice, it's on the expensive side considering the number of hotels/hostels of decent quality available in Flores (I was traveling alone so that impacted too - there could have been 3 in the room I had so not expensive in that case). There is a nice pool and terrace and it's just over the road from the lake. Staff v helpful. As a lone female traveler this place felt safe and secure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lake View at a Great Rate

Posted Aug 10, 2014
We stayed here for two nights on our Tikal trip. Great staff, very helpful very good breakfast :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Santa Tecla

Great Experience!

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: The view, the architecture of the hotel.
Cons: And change the door lock of the room, because they are old.
Location: Great location, near of everything, super convenience to stay there!
Great location, a nice staff always there to help you. A beautiful hotel can complain, is worth the money really!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Az from Los Angeles, CA

It's ok, just keep your expectations low.

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: price, location.
Cons: They have these harsh florescent lights in the rooms, which makes it feel like a laboratory. Maybe add some softer, energy saver lights.
Location: it's very close to everything in Flores, right on the water and the Island is tiny anyway and you can walk around it in 20 minutes.
It's a fine place to stay when you're just passing through and need a cheap place overnight. Overall, Guatemala is stunningly cheap and I couldn't believe the kind of delicious food and drink I could get for so little money. This hotel is probably just a little dated and for $50 a night, I can't expect much. The bathroom did not have enough light and it was so dark in the shower that I could hardly see what I was doing. They have wifi but it didn't work, although they tried to fix it. Better to just forget the wifi when you're on vacation anyway; I was surprised they had it at all. The room is small but it was clean and I had plenty of towels so I could sleep comfortably. Overall, the hotel could just use a little updating in the rooms. Add some lights and make the room a little more comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Julie from San Diego, CA

Nice hotel in lively location

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Location: Lots of restaurants
We were there on a Saturday evening and there were food stalls right in front of the hotel on the waterfront. Nice lively vibe. That said, there was also loud music playing late into the night that could be heard from the room. Didn't use the pool but people seemed to enjoy it. Room furnishings could be a bit more modernized but otherwise a nice stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great time

Posted Dec 27, 2013
We went for Christmas and had a great view of the Christmas eve fireworks in Santa Elena at midnight. Staff was very friendly.