Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okay hotel, very rude staff

Posted Jan 30, 2017
We booked a room with a king size bed. When we arrived to check in, the woman the front desk was very rude and gave us a double room instead. When we came back to request the king room we had booked, she was not happy and began whispering with another employee for about 5 minutes, completely ignoring us, before finally giving us the key to our room. The difference between the updated king room and the non-renovated double room was night and day. Also, the hotel is undergoing renovations and large chunks of the flooring are missing and the elevator was broken. All other staff we met at the hotel were great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Antigua, Guatemala

Muy amable!!

Posted Jan 8, 2017
The staff were so nice to us... went above and beyond to help us! One of the nights of our stay my daughter threw up in the bed, and they sent a guy up to mop and change the sheets within minutes (boy did we give him a big tip! :)). And then the night after we had already checked out they let us hang out in the lobby with our two little kids until 8pm, since we were taking an overnight bus back to Antigua. And they drove us to the bus station and helped us unload our bags too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Very nice hotel , close to nights clubs

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Nice staff , friendly all the time , special thanks to the front desk ladies
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belize city

The hotel has a good location

Posted Sep 27, 2016
The hotel is located in the lake side. The rooms are clean but small, and simple. Bathroom had a good size but not water presure in the shower. For a night stay is ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from usa

Wonderful location

Posted Mar 18, 2016
We loved this hotel. It was clean and everything we needed was here. Excellent laundry service delivered to our room. Freshly prepared food in the restaurant. Just slow preparation of food but it was all fresh and delicious. Room was clean and fresh everyday. Just a a ten minute walk to the island for more restaurants and shopping or take one of the bike taxes for a dollar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view, convenient location, and easy access

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Great view, convenient location, east access, nice staff, helpful, clean and quiet.....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA/Guatemala

Great location, air conditioned, wonderful staff

Posted Dec 23, 2015
Pros: Staff, comfort, location, price, convenience.
Cons: The food at the restaurant was good, but not outstanding.
Location: Book trips to Mayan ruins (easy access to travel agencies nearby), Flores, boat trip around lake.
Staff were great and accommodating, doing whatever they could to make the stay great and helpful. Great location from airport and access to Flores. Rooms comfortable and air conditioned. Restaurant on premise adequate. Definitely a place to return to in the future for any trips to Tikal area.
2 out of 5
by carlos rene from GUA

Needs care

Posted Dec 9, 2015 on Hotels
Unfortunately, the Peten Espléndido lost the good service and care showed in the last years. The facility looks deteriorated and lacks maintenance. Surely enough its easy to find a better hotels in the area for the same rates or cheaper. But, if you want to be close to the shopping areas or look for a nice view in front of the lake, this hotel complies with those conditions.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Spot for Flores/Tikal

Posted May 7, 2014 on Hotels
If you are hoping to see Tikal this is a decent spot. I highly recommend seeing Yaxha too. The hotel is safe & comfortable, but a little on the high side since it is in such a tourist heavy location. They can set up tours for you, but you will get more options for less money if you cross the bridge to Flores and visit an agency direct.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chinata from CT

Hotel Experience

Posted May 2, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness
Cons: Front desk courtesy.
Location: There is a food place, Pollo Campero, and a mall within walking distance.The island of Flores is also close by, but probably will need a car to get to
Clean, quiet hotel with amenities equaled to American standards. The only negative comment is that I called them in advance to verify my reservation and they quoted me a different pricing for the crib than the pricing they had on their website, a higher one, so I opted for excluding the crib.