Ratings based on 391 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ann Arbor, MI

Nice hotel to relax on the beach

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: Nice beach front.
Cons: Better communication with the partners to make sure reservations are updated. Manager should be good towards the guests.
Location: Didn't do much because of messed up night sleep.
Expedia messed up my reservation and the hotel didn't had the room we booked for. We slept on the floor as there was no other option. Instead of being supportive, hotel manager yelled at us for waking him up at 1 am. Hotel was blaming Expedia for not sending them the reservation information. We were in the lobby from Midnight to 1.30 am and finally had a king size bed for 4 people. No extra beds were provided and we had no other option in the middle of the night. Sofa pull out twin bed was soggy. Only kids under 10 may sleep in that. Our vacation was messed with back pains and no sleep. If you are booking a hotel with Expedia, make sure you confirm with the hotel. If not you will endup sleeping in your car.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Miami, FL

Beautiful and relaxing

Posted Dec 27, 2016
We had such a relaxing Christmas this year thanks to the staff at Amara Cay. Our room was spacious and clean. My only request would be larger trashcans. The pool was warm and wonderful and the staff was very friendly. I would recommend this resort to friends and would love to have a family reunion here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love the upgrade!

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Cons: The size of the bathroom in the suite was very small considering the amount of space available.
We arrived for a two-night stay to discover we had been upgraded to an ocean-view suite Nice surprise! If there is anything to complain about, it would be about the bathroom. It seemed like quite a distance to travel from the bedroom to the bathroom, and it was quite tight and could have been significantly larger given the amount of space available in the suite. The bed was comfy, and the balcony was great to sit on and relax in the evening. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. They even encouraged us go for a swim even while the company had a managers' Christmas party poolside our first evening. There was exterior construction going on in preparation for the upcoming high season, but it didn't interfere with our plans at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Miami FL

Nice hotel but unfortunately under construction

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: Staff and clean rooms
Cons: We should be informed through expedia about the hotel being under construction. No vending machines and ice machine was out of order.
Location: Location was great. Mid way to Key West. There's a 24 hour supermarket 2 miles headed north
It was great all around. Went for a quick getaway. Under construction for now so unfortunately noise made it a bit uncomfortable. Restaurant was good, staff was great and the rooms were very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hillsboro, or

Nice rooms with great view.

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Close to everything. Food, activities. Lots of great things for families or couples to do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Beach County Florida

Great resort!

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Beautiful stay and great family time. Such an amazing, clean resort. Beautiful new pool and amazing views all around. Very clean room, great staff, fun tiki bar with the best Bloody Mary's!!! Total relaxation!! Recommended to all! Up to date rooms and resort the with all amenities! Kayak rentals close by resort. Very close to great local restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Resort on the water

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Very nice and new looking hotel. Great pool and nice beach area. Exremely helpfull staff. Very accomodating. Will definatley consider staying here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MA

Posted Dec 4, 2016
This was my go to hotel in Islamorada. However after my recent stay I will be browsing for other options. The best part of this hotel was the old pool and tiki hot tub, which they are in the process of removing. The new pool is awkwardly located. To get to this new pool you need to walk through their fine dining restaurant (really awkward in a wet bathing suit). The tvs in the room are also troublesome as they rarely work correctly, and the staff at the desk provide zero help in this matter. Another disappointing aspect is the failure to provide complimentary coffee in the morning. The worst coffee you've ever had will cost you $5 at the hotel bar. Last but not least, this hotel was marketed at a VIP hotel through Expedia promising some sort of benefit, that I never received.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, lack of cleanliness in room.

Posted Nov 26, 2016
This hotel looks new and updated. We like its location (close to restaurants and to the beach) and the design/decoration. The only problem we had is cleanliness of the room. Upon arrival I noticed a layer of dust on the bed headboard and the panels besides it and also somebody's hair in the bathroom. I was hoping they will clean up next day. When we arrive next day afternoon, i noticed they just updated the stock of toiletries and towels. That's all, they did not clean anything. The same dust and the same hair. I asked the front desk to send somebody, but they ignored it. I hope the hotel will look better after construction is completed and their stuff will be trained to take care of the rooms properly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

This hotel was amazing but.....

Posted Nov 22, 2016
This hotel was amazing, the one con is.. there no light. If u do ur make up want curl ur hair read something. Dont do it. You cant see nothing in there. Its beautiful gives great ambiance. U cant do anything in there.