Ratings based on 142 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very small room

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: location and cleanliness of room
Cons: Room and bathroom very small. I think there are larger rooms for a higher price. Breakfast
Location: A bit of a walk to Mallory Square. Over a mile if our Apple watch is correct. Great location for wandering around the cemetery.
Should have rented different room as this room and its bathroom were small by even European standards. Description of room on Expedia site does not give any indication of square footage of room and other available rooms at the B&B.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Palm Beach, FL

Quiet B&B near Duval St and Mallory Square

Posted Dec 11, 2016
This was our second stay in the Poets Room. Very large with king bed, full kitchen, table and chairs, sitting area and private outdoor entrance. Only problems: could use a little TLC and parking can be a challenge at times.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice for the price

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Small cute rooms. 1 mile from Duvall st. Short cab ride or walk. Staff was friendly. Very good experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, Florida

Quaint little hotel in a quiet neighborhood.

Posted Dec 28, 2015
I'm overall satisfied wit my stay at the Authors of Key West. The amenities were clean and adequate and the staff were well-informed and corteous. My only gripe is that the knobs in the dresser drawers kept falling off whenever I pulled on them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa Fl

nice hotel in historic section

Posted Dec 15, 2015
Pros: It was close to everything Key West has to offer.
Cons: The room door sticks but was fixed before we left.
Location: Was close to Duval St. with all its attractions and eateries. Sea Port area was also close and was in walking dist
This hotel was ok for the price. It had a nice continental breakfast served outside. The staff were friendly and helpful. It has a small spa that is nice after a long day. The room was very clean and plenty of closet areas.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place

Posted Oct 8, 2015
Pros: inexpensive, clean
Nice place, comfy bed. Concierge was very helpful with reservations for "things to do"!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ocala Florida

Key West re-visit

Posted Oct 3, 2015
Pros: The staff, breakfast was simple but more than adequate, nice hot tub/pool.
Cons: N/A
Location: eat, drink, sunsets at Mallory Square, Captain Tony's Saloon, Sloppy Joes, Hog's Breath, did I mention drink !?
Great overall. It was a bit more of a walk to the place and events that I wanted to get to; but still 'do-able'. The staff was great. First time there and although I didn't request it, I had a room in the back which was away from any street or other noise. Very nice, low key (no pun) neighborhood. I felt more like a local than a tourist. I would love to go there again or to one of their other 2 places nearby. Jimmy O.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Purr-fect stop for two

Posted Sep 15, 2015
Pros: We liked our room because it was last door down and in a less traveled area. The room was clean and the air conditioning comfortable.
Cons: We were lucky to catch someone putting breakfast out earlier than scheduled. This worked well for us because we wanted to get an early start.
Location: The location was close enough for us to walk to Duval. Just as we were leaving we saw a train-like trolley drive down the street we parked on.
My wife and I stayed here for one night in the Audobon room. We arrived late when the office was already closed but our keys were waiting for us by the side gate. We were able to park close to the hotel on a side street and leave our car for the time we were in town. The room we reserved was on the second level area that overlooked the small pool. Friendly cats were the only ones about until the morning when hotel staff started to put out breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami

Quaint hotel

Posted Aug 20, 2015
This place shares the charm of Key West. If you are looking for a true Keys feel this is the hotel for you. Is a little off Duval but i see this as a pro since it forced me to exore around and ride my back. Breakfast is included: just bagels coffee and orange juice but it higs the spot if you are in a hurry.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK

Lovely place to stay and close to all attractions

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Authors was a really lovely place to stay. Really liked the included breakfast which was set up outside in a beautiful little garden area sheltered by the trees and plants. Very friendly staff. Nice little pool/jacuzzi for relaxing after a busy day. Within walking distance to the sites of Key West. Would definitely stay there again, highly recommended