Ratings based on 208 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Location: Porky's is right next door. food is fair as well as service. although to be fair, they did have an event going on while we were there.
just stayed one night. staff was very friendly... hotel is old and quaint. we enjoyed our stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 4, 2016 by Resort Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this nice review, we do appreciate it. We are very glad that you enjoyed oyur stay with us & hope to see you again at some time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Pros: on main road.
Cons: New beds.
Location: We ate at the Porky's next door 3 times. Excellent food and staff.
The room smelled like air freshener. The beds were terrible. The shower was beautiful but they should have spent the money on beds. The person at Pip's said Porky's (restaurant next door) was okay if you liked frozen boxed food and suggested another place. We went to her suggestion and the food was terrible and we paid 3 times as much as Porky's. We had garden room. terrible view.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 4, 2016 by Resort Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry that you did not like our resort. We did not assign the garden room to you, you actually chose that room when you booked it. It is advertised as a garden view room, not a water front room and is pried lower than our water front rooms. The beds are new, so we are very sorry that you found them uncomfortable - some people say the mattresses are too hard & yet others say they are too soft. We always give our guests multiple restaurant recommendations when they ask, but cannot control the actual restaurant food quality or price. We are glad that you loved the food at Porky's!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

A very good choice.

Posted Jan 31, 2016
So much better than a chain hotel if you are seeking more of an "old Florida" feel. The rooms were clean and well provided. We enjoyed grilling on nice new Weber grills. Great location for hikes along the old railroad bridge over the ocean. Snorkeling, boat rentals, charter fishing are all available right on the premises. I'll return to this place for sure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2016 by Resort Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this nice review, we do appreciate it. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us & hope that you will choose to come back again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, TX

Great location, great value.

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Pros: Location, price.
Cons: We stayed in the Egret room. I know they did try to soundproof it, but maybe move the TV in the other room to a non-adjoining wall.
Overall we had a positive experience. The staff were responsive and helpful. We ended up coming in several hours after the office closed, and our room was all ready and there was a map and a welcome letter waiting on the door of the office (of course, we called and let them know we'd be in past 5). We enjoyed having the microwave and fridge, and the room looked clean and recently re-done. It was great to be centrally located and right on the beach. Great value for the Keys. The only drawbacks (and while annoying, definitely not horrible) were 1) the lack of sound proofing between our room and the next. It was occupied and they seemed to have the TV on whenever they were in the room and it was very audible. We had earplugs, but it would have kept us awake otherwise; 2) the mirror in the bathroom was at least 6 inches too high. My wife is petite and had to stand on her toes to see her full face, which gets old pretty fast; and 3) the fridge could use some appliance paint--it looks dirty, but it's just rust.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2016 by Resort Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry that you heard your neighbors tv next door. The walls are actually solid concrete block, but there is a connecting door which unfortunately lets the louder noises through, (as in most hotels with a connecting door). We are sorry that they disturbed your stay though. We place the mirrors at an average height to try to accommodate most travelers. We are sorry that they were too high for your wife. Thank you for the note on the fridge, we will get someone on that right away. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again at some time in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Wonderful week in the Keys! Staff and accommodations were excellent. Beautiful location. Only complaint...no hot water in the shower but it didn't make all that much difference . We still loved it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 28, 2016 by Resort Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this great review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are sorry that you had hot water problem during your stay though & have checked the system to make sure that it is working properly. We hope that you will come back again for another vacation with us at some time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Nice Spatial Hideaway

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Pros: See above.
Cons: nothing.
Location: See above.
We had a great view of the ocean and we were within walking distance of things to do (fish, snorkel, dining, etc.).
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2016 by Resort Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this nice review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will stay with us again in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cosy

Posted Jan 4, 2016
We were not expecting much as a 1 night stopover but wished we had booked 3! Such a cosy little hideaway! The room is large with a full kitchen and bathroom. All have been re-done / modern inside. They provided beach towels and even a cool box to take drinks / food outside. Its a 1 minute walk from a couple of great restaurants and you can rent kayaks / boats etc. As you step outside your room there is your own private area right on the water, with seating and BBQs etc. Just beautiful. We went to the supermarket and purchased some food and drinks, and had a lovely evening BBQ overlooking the water. Great little spot :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2016 by Resort Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for this great review, we ar happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope that you will choose to come back again in the future at some time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Geared toward families on a limited budget.

Posted Dec 24, 2015
Pros: The room had a full size refrigerator and little things, like wine opener, coffee in the container, boats to rent and restaurant on the grounds.
Cons: The noise was too loud from the other guest. You could hear the conversations upstairs and the room beside us.
Location: Restaurant on the grounds, boats to rent, grill available and sound front.
The staff was soooo nice. I felt like family from the minute I got there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2015 by Resort manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us this review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you can visit again soon. We are sorry that the other guests made a lot of noise though and disturbed your stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from israel

Nice and on the main rode

Posted Dec 23, 2015
Pros: Near to my way
Cons: More staff
Location: Nothing to do
The apartment was nice and well equipped. But-No staff after 5 pm and no staff at all We asked for 1hour late check-out, at 11:00 instead of 10:00, And it was deffentley negative! Why shoul it be our concerned that they Have only 2 maids to make the rooms??? At other holes 11:00is the usual time for check-out!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2015 by Resort Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. We are sorry that you did not like our check out time. 11 am is not the normal check out time at all for all hotels, and has never been ours. We have this noted on all online sites as well as the confirmation that we send to all guests before they arrive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Avignon

Hôtel bien situé avec des chambres spacieuses

Posted Dec 17, 2015
Pros: Le calme et la grandeur de la chambre
Cons: les menuiseries et les finitions de la salle de bai
Location: Il est possible d'aller a pied au Seven Miles Bridge. Le grill a coté de l'hotel est excellent. La plage de Sombrero est proche et très belle.
L’hôtel est bien situé au calme au milieu des Keys donc point central. Il est composé de plusieurs maisons non visibles depuis la route. La chambre est très grande, bien équipée, literie confortable. Le mini coin cuisine est très appréciable. Nous avons eu la chance d'avoir un sapin de noël dans la chambre. La piscine est très bien et donne sur les bateaux. Nous avons seulement été déçus de la salle de bain qui certes a une très grande douche mais n'est pas finie d'être rénovée.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2015 by Resort manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again.