Ratings based on 222 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ocala, Florida

Stay somewhere else.

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Maintenance - lots and lots of maintenance along with a more understanding staff.
Location: Dolphin Research Center, Theater Under the Sea, marina at Hawks Cay (where we ended up staying) had rentals for boat, kayaks, jet skis, etc.
We had a late arrival (11:30pm)-room was left unlocked with key in an envelop at the facility next door (leaving a room unlocked invites criminals). Room was on second floor - banister along the outside stairs unstable. Lay out was fine; kitchen and bath had granite counter tops however that did not help with the mold in all rooms; holes in upholstery, screening on balcony falling apart, doors sticking so that we needed two of us to push them open (to the balcony's). Blinds, such as they were, did not work, door to bedrooms hit beds. Plastic chairs and foot table dirty as was the balcony floor. Write up said there was personal watercraft available on site-not true-personal watercraft was at another site. Half the beach area was covered with a pile of seaweed, plastics, etc. approx 8" high and 30" long. We checked out the next morning and went to another hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2016
The room was nice, but some amenities weren't replaced when (pepper towels, soap, etc). The beach was nasty with sea grass and not usable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nothing like the pictures

Posted Jun 17, 2016
They tried to upgrade the kitchen and the bathrooms with things like water leaks when the bedrooms we had to be moved for my first time because the air conditioner is broke into another room screens are missing on the porch the beach was filthy. I would not recommend anyone to stay here the property is not well-maintained
3 out of 5
by John from Rochester, MN

Beware the sea grass

Posted May 17, 2016 on Hotels
It is apparent that the hotel is going through some upgrades.Unfortunately the outside grounds do not live up to the pictures online due to seagrass being wa she'd in covernight the beach. Local management was reasonable to work with and upgraded our suite at no extra cost.
2 out of 5
by Vanessa from Miami

A little disappointed

Posted May 2, 2016 on Hotels
We arrived to a room with no a/c. We got new room....smaller than the one we had first...with less space and less beds. We also had roaches In our room. we tried to make the best of it.
2 out of 5
by Victor from Lake Worth, FL

False advertisement!!!

Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
Don't be fooled!! False advertisement! Hotel is in total need of a remodel. There is no beach u can lay in and its full of rocks. The pier they show in the picture isn't the same pier. We had to spend the day at a beach that was close by to enjoy being out at the beach. The hotel room was very spacious but had a weird smell. I can't believe they have the gull to charge $300 a night for their hotel. The check in staff was very nice after we told him our concerns but the check out staff was very unprofessional. Will NEVER stay here or recommended this place to anyone.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale, FL

Roach infested hotel

Posted Apr 6, 2016
Pros: The central location.
Cons: The cleanliness...of everything!
This hotel was nothing like described or shown in the photographs. The property is not maintained. The "beach" is unclean, small, and the 4' x 20' wall of seaweed and trash pushed to the side of the beach is totally unappealing. The rooms were infested with German roaches with nothing more offered than a can of Raid and an "offer" to call Orkin. Do not waste your time or money here. So extrememly disappointing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: It's location
Cons: Complete renovation
Location: Was in a good location
The beds needed to be replaced, they were very uncomfortable. The hotel was on the ocean but had no beach and was covered with sea grass.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Dissatisfied

Posted Apr 1, 2016
Pros: The remodeled unit and size of the unit.
Cons: Cleanliness, representation, and lower of rate for what is received.
Location: Location geographically well situated and plenty of things to do and locations/attactions in the area.
This resort, by looking at the photos, appeared to be a decent place, but was not what it was represented to be. Upon our arrival in the early evening, the first thing my family and I noticed was the smell (from the beach area and low tide). The rooms themselves weren't that bad, having appeared to be recently remodeled. The TVs are small and old and need to be updated. The screened in balcony had missing screens, the beds were horrendous and I compare them to the type of mattress you find in a cheap pull out couch, behind the doors were filthy and haven't been cleaned for a long time, the kitchen again had been remodeled/updated but was short on utensils. The beach area had a huge pile of debris, from areas that they cleaned up and again as I stated this was huge and unsightly. The first morning I was there, again lacking in kitchen utensils, asked the desk for a knife and about 9 AM and after asked again, twice, finally received one about 1:30 PM, after hunting down a housekeeper. After arriving and the first morning I was there, I contacted my credit card company to see if we left, was there anyway to dispute our bill. Unfortunately we were locked into this and had no recourse. Ironically, I spoke to another guest, leaving the same time as us, and when asked what he thought his reply was it was the worst place he'd ever stayed at. He too, also contacted his credit card company with the same question I had about leaving and bill dispute. I would never stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from n.c.

Bad beach.. Lots of seaweed

Posted Apr 1, 2016
Pictures do not represent what hotel looks like especially the beach area