Ratings based on 225 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ocala, Florida

Stay somewhere else.

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Maintenance - lots and lots of maintenance along with a more understanding staff.
Location: Dolphin Research Center, Theater Under the Sea, marina at Hawks Cay (where we ended up staying) had rentals for boat, kayaks, jet skis, etc.
We had a late arrival (11:30pm)-room was left unlocked with key in an envelop at the facility next door (leaving a room unlocked invites criminals). Room was on second floor - banister along the outside stairs unstable. Lay out was fine; kitchen and bath had granite counter tops however that did not help with the mold in all rooms; holes in upholstery, screening on balcony falling apart, doors sticking so that we needed two of us to push them open (to the balcony's). Blinds, such as they were, did not work, door to bedrooms hit beds. Plastic chairs and foot table dirty as was the balcony floor. Write up said there was personal watercraft available on site-not true-personal watercraft was at another site. Half the beach area was covered with a pile of seaweed, plastics, etc. approx 8" high and 30" long. We checked out the next morning and went to another hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel requires more maintenance it was certainly very pretty once.cleaning should not be done every time very dirty kitchen only way. screen was every where but broke every where too. Nice kitchen equipment but only 5 forks 5 chairs 5....for a 8 sleep bedroom And very dirty
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2016
The room was nice, but some amenities weren't replaced when (pepper towels, soap, etc). The beach was nasty with sea grass and not usable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Rundown hotel with a nice pool

Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Orbitz
There wasn't a trash bag in the kitchen , so I looked for one under the kitchen sink where I found a dirty diaper, but no trash bag. In a three bedroom suite for seven guests, the staff left two towels in one bathroom and none in the other. The hotel uses a cleaning service and does not keep towels on hand. The beach was mucky, covered in seaweed, and is only about calf deep for a hundred yards out. All of the furniture was old or very cheaply made. The beds were extremely uncomfortable with very old covers. The absolute worst part of our stay was the roach my mother-in-law found in the kitchen. I would not recommend a stay at this hotel.
2 out of 5
by luciana

Not coming back

Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
Not happy at all , room not what I expected . In the middle of nowhere . Ot coming back , pricy and not good. Don't get fooled for the beach pictures not realistic
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nothing like the pictures

Posted Jun 17, 2016
They tried to upgrade the kitchen and the bathrooms with things like water leaks when the bedrooms we had to be moved for my first time because the air conditioner is broke into another room screens are missing on the porch the beach was filthy. I would not recommend anyone to stay here the property is not well-maintained
3 out of 5
by John from Rochester, MN

Beware the sea grass

Posted May 17, 2016 on Hotels
It is apparent that the hotel is going through some upgrades.Unfortunately the outside grounds do not live up to the pictures online due to seagrass being wa she'd in covernight the beach. Local management was reasonable to work with and upgraded our suite at no extra cost.
2 out of 5
by Vanessa from Miami

A little disappointed

Posted May 2, 2016 on Hotels
We arrived to a room with no a/c. We got new room....smaller than the one we had first...with less space and less beds. We also had roaches In our room. we tried to make the best of it.
2 out of 5
by Victor from Lake Worth, FL

False advertisement!!!

Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
Don't be fooled!! False advertisement! Hotel is in total need of a remodel. There is no beach u can lay in and its full of rocks. The pier they show in the picture isn't the same pier. We had to spend the day at a beach that was close by to enjoy being out at the beach. The hotel room was very spacious but had a weird smell. I can't believe they have the gull to charge $300 a night for their hotel. The check in staff was very nice after we told him our concerns but the check out staff was very unprofessional. Will NEVER stay here or recommended this place to anyone.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale, FL

Roach infested hotel

Posted Apr 6, 2016
Pros: The central location.
Cons: The cleanliness...of everything!
This hotel was nothing like described or shown in the photographs. The property is not maintained. The "beach" is unclean, small, and the 4' x 20' wall of seaweed and trash pushed to the side of the beach is totally unappealing. The rooms were infested with German roaches with nothing more offered than a can of Raid and an "offer" to call Orkin. Do not waste your time or money here. So extrememly disappointing.