Ratings based on 2,285 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Failing Management

Posted Jun 22, 2017
A reputable hotel is one with the most experienced staff, especially in situations where the safety and integrity of a guest are at stake. Higher-rank authorities of Casa Marina Resort in Key West, Florida are clueless! In three separate occasions in the past, managers there totally failed to act when needed. In our last visit in March 2017, one of the hotel security guards physically attacked my son who was fishing off a pier that belongs to the hotel as always. It seemed that the incompetent guard was new on the job and the situation escalated to a serious level. During this saga, we contacted both the Manager and the General Manager, who failed miserably to control the situation. Later in the day, the General Manager apologized for the “under-trained guard.” Unfortunately the damage was done and our vacation was ruined. My son is still traumatized because of the incident till today. We later wrote a complaint to the customer support department of the parent chain and nothing was done.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from A.

Nice hotel but not 4 star worthy

Posted Jun 3, 2017
I had no issues with this hotel. It was clean and yes it was a little run down and could use an update. It definitely is not what you expect a 4 star Waldorf hotel to look like. It reminded me more of a Fairfield or 3 star hilton. Comortavle but not worth all the money you are paying.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible vacation

Posted May 26, 2017
35$ per day resort fee 27$ per day for parking almost 300$ extra for our 5 day trip that we were not told about. Meals were ok at best absolutely no service were told there was no drink of the day every time we asked. Staff were very rude. Weddings 2 out of 5 days we were there kept us up all night. 30$ for a breakfast buffet per plate. Overall very poor experience and will never come back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Brilliant location besides that it's a three star

Posted May 17, 2017
Great location everything else poor to v poor except staff who try their best ! Communal areas v tired except lobby, restaurant poor , menu choice poor .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 14, 2017
Key West is great and fun. Casa Marina is one of few hotela that has a beach to walk on and has chairs and umbrellas which we enjoy. The only downside--the bed is right up against the terrace with little room to walk around bed making it difficult to open terrace door. However, we would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas,TX

Wonderful customer service! All inclusive!

Posted May 8, 2017
Amazing views, no need to leave and really didn't want to! Great food, wonderful customer service, awesome atmosphere. The bed was so comfortable. And there is great history to resort! I will only stay here when traveling to the Keys.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by -Luke, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay at Casa Marina. I'm happy to read that you found so much to enjoy throughout our resort. We appreciate your comments, and hope you will stay with us again, the next time you are in Key West!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: The hotel was quite and near town.
Cons: The hotel is older, so realize that in regards to rooms, etc.
Location: Near Southern Most Point and restaurants. Has a nice little beach area.
The breakfast buffet was really good. The coffee bar was nice. Bearfoot Billy's water sports was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2017 by -Luke, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving such a nice review of your recent stay at the Casa Marina. We really appreciate your feedback, and I'm glad that you had such an enjoyable visit with us. We hope that we will see you again, for another great Key West vacation!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Didn't get my money's worth...

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Lobby and grounds were nice. Pool felt decent, and aqua services were friendly.
Cons: Make sure rooms are clean and functional. People pay good money to stay here.
Location: Nice location and away from the craziness of Duval. Higgs beach is close and nice, which is good since the beach at the resort is unswimmable.
For the price I paid for this hotel, I expected a minimum 4 stars. What I got was 2.5 stars. The hotel lobby and grounds is nice. Views of ocean is nice, but unswimmable beach. The hotel bar is nice, though was double charged for drinks and staff was rude when I brought it up, so I now have to dispute it with my credit card company. My room, however, had views of pipes and HVAC alongside trees blocking any view whatsoever. Bed and pillows were decent, though again I expected similar experience as I have had for other 4-5 star hotels I indulged in. The bathroom was the worst part. Toilet handle requires you to hold it to flush completely, even once falling out of the tank. Several times in middle of night we heard strange bubbling coming from it. The sink handle wobbled all around and was clogged after running water for a period of time. Shower head dripped all day and night. Even found a roach crawl by my foot on the first day. I know this is common in a Florida, but a first for me in any decent hotel I have stayed in the past. Certainly a disappointment, but we were in a rush the first day and didn't bring it up, the next day we were out most of the day, and the third day out all day again driving to Largo and back. So, there was no point to spend time arguing it and moving to another room if it was even offered. This is in regards to room 261 in case any staff member is reading it, you may want maintenance to fix that room up big time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by -Luke, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay at Casa Marina. We appreciate your kind words in regards to our beach and resort grounds, however, regret that some aspects of your stay fell short of expectations. We have shared your concerns with our management team, to assist with creating better experiences for future guests. We hope to welcome you back sometime, for a more pleasant experience overall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Going back next year! Excellent staff and food was amazing!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by -Luke, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay. We are thrilled to hear that your vacation was enjoyable. Our goal is to provide our guests with great service, along with a relaxing, and beautiful atmosphere. We appreciate your review, and we hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

One of my favorites!

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: The staff is AMAZING!
This hotel starts off with having the friendliest staff! The door staff is amazing, and Patrick is our personal favorite and helped expedite check-in. The pool staff is great as well, and house-keeping was on the ball! On the first night our drain was plugged in our shower, and they came within 5 minutes, fixed it, apologized, and were on their way. The location is perfect, and the sandy beaches provide plenty of activities. We love this place!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017 by -Luke, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving such a great review of your recent stay at the Casa Marina. I'm very glad to hear that you had such an enjoyable vacation while staying at our resort. So many of our departments work extremely hard to make sure our guests have a great vacation, and I'm happy you noticed our extra efforts. I will definitely make sure Patrick receives the credit he deserves, and we hope to see you again in the near future!