Ratings based on 493 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint and Quiet

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: We loved the grounds. Tress everywhere but still able to catch some rays if you want to at the pool. The little swing was adorable.
We checked into the hotel on a Thursday. We were greeted by a very friendly staff. They gave us all the info we needed about the surrounding area and some great recommendations for food and transportation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great stay

Posted May 8, 2017
Great location, close to duval street and helpful staff and accommodating staff
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff and location...

Posted Apr 20, 2017
The staff was very pleasant, and the location was ideal (3 blocks off Duval), however, our room was very, very outdated. Bathroom floor (vinyl floor tiles) were curling up, bathroom was extremely tiny. Bathroom door wouldn't close (frame out of square), and room door had large gaps all around letting in hall light all night (great if you wanted a night-light, but not so great for sleeping). Maybe should have booked one of their Premium rooms..... Continental breakfast was sufficient, and eating breakfast by the pool was very pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

Excellent choice for First Timers & Solo Vacation

Posted Apr 14, 2017
My first time traveling alone, so I picked 3 different hotels, and gave my choice to prayer. I woke up, intuitively knowing Chelsea House was the choice, pricier than the others, but relooking at the location..this was the best choice. Two streets away from Duval, 5 min away from Better Than Sex Restaurant, and basically close proximity to everything. Southern most point, Higgs Beach are all 10-15min walks. Smathers beach which was 30min walked only because it's further up almost like your going to the airport but Mallory Square is a 15-20min walk since it's further up toward the docs. When your walking an enjoying the scene those minutes are nothing and since I'm a walker by exercise choice: I loved it. My legs are toned again for sure. Overall after reading trip advisor/other reviews I didn't have any issue except the AC unit was odd to control but everyone's experience is different. I'll definitely book this place again via Expedia each time due to location, staff, and it's like a bed/breakfast. One thing wish they had an elevator because you have to hand carry all luggage up a lot of steps..glad I brought my small luggage suite case or I'd be in trouble. The Chelsea House is a group of 4 houses split into rooms, parking available, daily free breakfast in the back by the pool, and it's done the street 3min from the St. Mary Star Church, and this is a quiet street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth, UK

Nice although noisy one morning

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Excellent location and nice communal area including pool and breakfast area
Cons: Very noisy due to early maintenance work on site.
Location: Very close to the KW main attractions most in 5-15 minute walking distance
Great location and traditional KW property although basic. Room was small but clean bathroom. No desk or coffee making facilities. Very friendly and helpful staff. I've stayed at two of the properties now and although basic, recommended. Only downside this trip was early maintenance work although it needs to be done to keep the location clean and smart.
5 out of 5
by John

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
2nd year staying there. Excellent location and great staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 53711

This hotel is quaint, but beautiful

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Everything is perfect
Location: Very close to the excitement and activities of Key West. Rent a bike and look around!
This hotel is a restored historic building, so it does not have elevators! But if you are ok with that, this will exceed your expectations. It is very well maintained, the staff are very accommodating, the shower is great.
2 out of 5
by Sherry

Overpriced/Mediocre Customer Service

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
Other than the bed there was no place to sit in the room, the bathroom provided only soap/shampoo/conditioner, the air conditioner was so loud it kept us awake most of the night, no closet (shelves and hooks provided), chairs on the deck were not clean, and the worst, the first morning we could not turn off the shower. When we contacted the front desk they said it would take over an hour for someone to arrive to fix. Meanwhile, the water ran. The breakfast provided is Holiday Inn/Best Western quality. For example, purchased hard boiled eggs, instant box oatmeal, coffee, tea, yogurts, and some pastries and toast. I would not recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Commerce Township, MI

Charming hotel

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Wonderful staff, charming hotel. Room is small, but only need it to sleep, because there are cozy sitting areas all over, plus the relaxing pool area. Short walk to Duvall Street and Hemingway home. Plus available parking. Definitely recommend.
2 out of 5
by Scot

2-5-17

Posted Feb 7, 2017 on Hotels
Not very good for the costs. Caulking was dirty, remote for air conditioning did not work. Smoke detector went off in the middle of the night in our room for no reason at all. Scaring us half to death from a deep sleep. Bed was very hard. Saw the little lizards running around in the hallway. For the high price stay at a nicer and newer hotel.