Ratings based on 752 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean but average

Posted May 24, 2017
Misleading. Name on internet is Drop Anchor Resort & Marina but is actually more like its sign..Drop Anchor Resort & Motel. Room is more like motel with full kitchen and a sofa. Overly clean smell like Chlrox. Nice small beach/ sand cabana area on backside.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Nice hotel on the water

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Clean room and at the water. Excellent view.
Cons: The shower water temperature was either scolding hot or freezing cold.
The facility is older but very clean and the staff extremely nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Waterfront Motel

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: I like the waterfront location and very casual old Florida environment and ambiance.
Cons: The air conditioner in my room (18) was very noisy and woke me several times during the night. Upgrading to modern quiet units is a must!!
Location: Lots of water sports and great restaurants nearby.
This is a very clean and attractive old Florida style motel with upgraded rooms and comfortable beds. The staff and reception was very friendly and accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa Fl

Bolt hole for fishing. Out mostly.

Posted Apr 8, 2017
It served our purposes well. It was all we needed with no frills
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Not what I expected for the price

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: There was a 20% discount on booking and it was in the right location. The staff were friendly, room was clean. But that's about it. The Wi-Fi worked.
Cons: Unless I ask for a spooky cottage experience, I expect a typical hotel room where I can see all the entrances and exits & not feel unsafe.
I booked this without any research as it was last minute. I ended up with what looked like a shabby cottage tucked away on the back of the property. There were too many windows and doors so I did not feel safe. The patio door was unlocked when I arrived, for example. I wanted a clean, small, safe-feeling room and Expedia directed me to this giant cottage with full kitchen and old furniture. The guy at the front was very friendly and the room was clean, though, but it wasn't the right type of accommodation and I didn't like that it was adjacent to a dark alley.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Keys hotel

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: The location is great, halfway up the Keys to Key west. It was clean and had a nice view over the water to the east. The room had a kitchen also.
Cons: The corners of the bed had low posts that stuck out that I tripped over twice.
Location: The location is great, right in the middle of the keys. There are all sorts of water activities nearby as well as The Theater of the Sea.
I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It is a small waterfront hotel with a limited number of rooms. We had room one, which appears to be the only one not by the water, but rather by the office. In exchange for the non-water location, we had a little patio with a small fountain on it. There is a sandy area near the water, but there is not a beach per se. It is in a very peaceful area facing the east. The people working there were very friendly and check-in went smoothly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, well kept property

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Great find, not too expensive, right on the bay. Great place to just relax and enjoy life. Beach chairs, hammocks, palm trees, breezes, etc. Our room was well kept and nicely appointed. Absolutely would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brownsburg, IN

Great place to stay for a night

Posted Mar 29, 2017
While this isn't a luxury hotel, it's a nice, quiet, privately owned hotel, right on the water. The rooms are old, but you can see the work they've put into fixing them up. This place makes you feel "warm" and comfortable. The best part of it all, you have your own "beach" right outside. Sit in the sand and watch the sunrise, watch the dolphins swim by, watch the kids play in the pool, etc. It's a gorgeous view! Overall, this is a nice place to stay when you want something fun and different.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greensburg, PA

Perfect local place!

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Perfect for 2 adults. Loved the thatched huts with adirondack chairs on the "beach"! Be sure to visit the state park across the street, too. We stayed in Unit 10.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely view and great location

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Loved the view from balcony, beautiful beach and pool area, staff friendly with great suggestions on where to eat. Location perfect to travel either North or South to see sites.