Ratings based on 153 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Nice resort with great view.

Posted Nov 4, 2015
Pros: View, nice resort area.
Cons: Cleanliness of townhouse.
Location: Nice pools and good children resort. Key West is close, never close enough. Went to the Turtle Hospital, Treasures of the Sea Park.
We stayed in the townhouses. Not very clean. Second bedroom has blood stains on bedding. Not a tiny bit, not sure how maids did not notice this!!!!!!! Couch cushion were very stained. We had to put a bedspread on the couch to sit. Master Bedroom drain was running slow and water up to my ankles. When I reported each of the problems Management was quick to take care of and compensate us. But the money we paid, everything should have be close to perfect!!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Tampa

Everything costs extra

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Pros: The outside grill by the bar had good food and fast service.
Cons: More options for teens. Pool activities? Volleyball ? Ping pong tournaments? Movies? The resort is geared more to young families.
Location: Plenty of restaurants in Marathon and Islamorado. Easy to book fishing charters
Really enjoyed our stay, but for the price, I would have expected more to be included. Hawk's Cay is a fun place with lots of things to do. However, we felt somewhat nickeled and dimed. Everything from the s'mores at the bonfire ($5 per person), the teen night ($5), 1/2 hour on paddle boards, kayaks, everything! Even though we had booked a week's stay, we only got our room cleaned once. Any more than that was extra. I wish there was more to do for our teens. Maybe a teen paddle board hour? Teen movie night? Pizza night? Etc.
3 out of 5
by maribel from miami

Posted Aug 24, 2015 on Hotels
I reserved my stay for a clean room and when I get there all the ways were dirty and also the sofa plus I noticed that all of the people staying next to us had stainless steel appliances but us. They charge a $39 dollar fee for every night overall a wouldn't recommend the hotel
5 out of 5
by Adrian J from Boca Raton, FL

Worth every penny

Posted Aug 16, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent resort! Had a great stay there for a bachelor party. Pool and lagoon area are a lot of fun, the mojitos at the bar are fantastic, and the villa itself was spacious, well furnished and enjoyable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ft.Lauderdale

Booked Family in 2 villas, we were 22 units apart

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: The location and the pools were great for the kids.
Cons: Everything!
Location: Lots to do in the area.
That was just upon check in! I was told the rooms were indentical, One of the villas was for handicapped, which None of the staff mentioned. The bathroom was a roll-in shower for wheelchairs, which did not accomodate a 3 and 5 year old that needed to take a bath in a bathtub. The other villa did not have working Keys over half the time we were there, and the Units seem to be older and not maintained. Of course, Expedia nor The Resort ever mentioned there would be RESORT AND INCIDENTAL charges PER DAY, PER ROOM. I love the KEYS, but will NEVER go through Expedia or this resort again. I tried calling the day before we arrived directly to the Resort and they gave me NO information regarding the reservation, I was told we had to wait until check-in. We did request Late check out, one villa was told Yes, one villa was told No due to high occupancy. There did not seem to be consistency in Management. Called management for Nonworking Keys and They never showed that day.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 31, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Maria C

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 25, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Ricardo from Boca Raton. FL

First time, I don't think I'm coming back again.

Posted Jun 17, 2015 on Hotels
This is by far one of the shadiest resorts I've ever stayed at. At check-in, they wanted $250 for incidentals and part of that is the $39 resort fee that magically is now $50. I complained and the front desk only held $150. Then that nights they secretly hold another $261 on top of what they already held. The manager was very nice and apologetic but he could not tell me why this happened other than that it was done at close of day by their manual process. Also, the villa that they assigned did not have A/C working. They tried to get someone to fix it over an hour but in the end it didn't happen. The manager moved me to a bigger unit which wasn't what I wanted as my original villa was right by the water and the new wasn't. In the end, the manager approved $200 dining voucher which he was nice enough to split $150 dinner and $50 breakfast/ lunch. While this did cover my cost of food, the place is generally overpriced. I did appreciate the manager attempting to make things right but definitely not a good start, especially since it was our first time. I'm not sure if I would consider going back again or even recommend it to my friends. All in all, I felt like I stayed at a 2 star motel in terms of room quality. The service however was great.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Family Vacation at Hawks Cay

Posted Apr 4, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice resort, food was not that great, systems were down which prevented us from doing things that week. Overall a lovely spot with lots of staff, very family friendly and tons of kids.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from baltimore

Be aware of Hawks cay villas

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: The food was good and there were a lot activities.
Cons: Villas need to be updated.
Location: Great location....a little hard to get to.
You need to know that the villas are individually owned here. It does not seem that there are any standards that the owners are held to. Our villa was very dirty and in need of serious maintenance. The carpet was dirty. The bath tiles were broken. We could not tell if the sofa was orange or brown. The decor was a mix of 80's beach and grandma with lace valences. I can deal with outdated decor but accommodations need to be clean and maintained. The kids Had fun and there is a lot to do! The food was really good. The dolphin experience was great! If we had a nicer villa I think it would have been a nice place to stay.