Ratings based on 361 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Comfy bed. Awesome location.

Posted May 13, 2017
Great time. Breakfast could be much better. Can't beat the location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville

Very cute room with a great view!

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: The room was cute, modern and very clean. The view from the room was beautiful.
Cons: The service in the restaurant was very slow. I had to get my own menu. Was not acknowledged for over 15 mins. Food was mediocre and over priced.
Location: Snooks bayside restaurant and Tiki bar - delicious fresh fish and a beautiful view. Robbie's in Islamorada has 4 hour fishing trips for $50. Fun!!
I only stayed one night at Gilbert's Resort on my way back to Nashville, TN from Islamorada. Check in was fast and Veronica was very nice and explained everything I needed to know about the resort. My room was really cute- a double standard with yellow and white decor. The bathroom was very modern and looked almost brand new. Everything was very clean. The room had a large window with a beautiful view of the water and yachts. I watched the sunset from Gilbert's beach. It was gorgeous! Then had a free "welcome" drink at the Tiki Bar. I was disappointed with the service at the restaurant (waited about 15 mins to even be acknowledged) and the food (Greek salad and sweet potato fries) was mediocre and very over priced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stayed 1 night may stop on way back from key west

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Great night stayed one night May stop back from key west
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Everything you need.

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Great, nice, comfortable resort feel. Tiki bars are very nice over the weekend days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sebring Florida

Nice hotel with a beautiful tiki bar on the beach

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: Amerian owned, staff was extremely friendly and helpful.
Cons: It is under new management as I understand. They are making upgrades. I would suggest making sure all the lights in the bathrooms work.
Location: You are at the head of the Keys in Key Largo. The state park is nearby, fishing is awesome at Islamorada and Marathon, and Key West is close.
Nice, older hotel, well maintained. Very clean and comfortable. Tiki bar was awesome and sat directly on beach Would definitely stay there again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Blanc Muchigan

Clean rooms

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Bring mosquito repellent, they will eat you alive!!! We were unable to enjoy the band outside because the mosquitoes were so bad. Had to spend the night sitting in our little room. Love all of the Tiki Bars on the property and being right in the water!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Denmark

Posted Mar 13, 2017
We went there for a 1 night stay and had the pleasure of a solid nights sleep. The overpass highway 300 meters away was not heard. We were tired. The morning buffe was as expected full ritch and rewarding. Oh on the night we had curtsey tickets for drinks and as we went to the open sided bar, the bartender didn't hesitate to hand out tasters of the beers on tap. Something we don't see back home. We were more than pleased with the stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

fun Sunday night

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: nice view of water
Cons: coffee in the room
Location: it is a drive to Key Largo and Key west, but there is a small beach there and soon to come...a pool. Sunday live rock band.
we loved this place, minimal amenties, ie. no coffee in the room, but great party on Sunday night in the big Tiki Bar. View of the water and big boats was nice. Decent breakfast. The traffic was bad on route. Gilberts is north of Key Largo and it was a long drive to Key West, which is a cool place.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Try the shrimp.

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
We checked in Sunday afternoon. Unfortunately we weren't given one of the newly renovated rooms but the room we did get was okay. The tiki bar was rocking and the place was packed. Everyone was having a good time dancing o he live band which played until 6 pm then most people left. After it quieted down we were able to meet some other couples that were staying there. We had a pound of their peel and eat shrimp that were excellent. Cold and crisp. We left the next morning to continue our trip through the Florida Keys. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Gilbert's Resort. We had a great time there
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels