Ratings based on 1,694 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Amazing views

Posted Feb 9, 2016
The resorts is really wonderful place,the view is so beautiful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from east bethel,mn.

great hotel resort

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Pros: grounds, pools and comfy room. For kids the pools great with an evening movie being played while swimming.
Cons: can't use cash anywhere at resort, have to charge everything to your room. that sucked. but you can pay all charges in cash at check out.
Location: nothing really to do outside of the grounds, no beach but close to other islands with stuff to do. well, you can book excursions such as snorkling.
very nice place to stay. no ocean beach, just private manmade beach. awesome dolphin exibit. beautiful grounds. Island is small, but close to other bigger islands. very comfy room and bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 9, 2016
We loved watching the Dolphins being interacted with every hour. The place is amazingly beautiful . A lovely stop on the way to the keys. Has a huge amount of activities for little children also!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Beautiful resort with comfortable amenities

Posted Feb 7, 2016
We travelled the keys from Key Largo to Key West for 5 days staying centered here in Duck Key. There was not a more beautiful place we seen than where we stayed at Hawks Cay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice stop on the way through the Keys

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: It has an awesome salt water lagoon for swimming.
Location: Unless you are chartering a boat, I'm unsure if there is anything else to do except relax!
It was a very nice resort - would probably be best if stayed at for multiple days to take advantage of all it has to offer. We only stayed one night, but was a very nice relaxing stop on our way through the Keys.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Public spaces are updated; rooms are not.

Posted Jan 31, 2016
We chose it because it had a marina and had stayed in a villa in the past. The villas are owned by individuals who can choose to have the resort rent them on their behalf. Our observation is that these independently owned units have been updated where the hotel rooms have not. Our advice: ask before booking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ft Lauderdale, Fl.

Noisy room

Posted Jan 29, 2016
First of all, the hotel is beautiful, there is no doubt about it, staff and service was excellent but it's unfortunate that on my visit ever we were placed in a "noisy" room. We arrived late at night so we didn't notice at first but as soon as we went to bed we realized a humming / buzzing sound coming from what it felt from the ground floor or one of the walls, we decided to wait it out until the morning then woke up with the sound of the elevator on the other wall of the room. It didn't help to see that our view from the balcony was the roof overlooking the A/C turbines. Once we reported it we were assigned to a different room but I'm sure it's not the first time someone complaints about it; I'm sure they are aware that room 2202 have an issue with noise, there are no rooms in either side of the room, one side is an electrical room the other side the elevator and on the ground, the pool water pump. Otherwise the place is enjoyable, I may give it another chance and try the villas next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 4, 2016 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Although we are glad that you enjoyed the hotel and our beautiful surroundings, we regret that you experienced any noise disruptions. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back for a chance to further impress you. Thank you for the feedback.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Pros: The hotel grounds were beautiful. Enjoyed having a separate adult pool as well.
Cons: Our bathroom tub was very small and sink vanity was so close to tub which made it difficult to turn on the shower.
Location: Location worked well - between Key Largo mans Key West.
The staff was great - everyone was pleasant and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 4, 2016 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hawks Cay Resort. We are happy you enjoyed our location and our lovely tranquility pool. Your kind words for our staff is appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New York

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Pros: food, heated pool, dolphins
Cons: we could not open the balcony door.
Location: Since the weather was not ideal we really didn't get to do to much in the area.
Alma restaurant was excellent and the morning buffet was superb.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 4, 2016 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
It’s unfortunate that the weather was not the best during your visit and we are sorry for the issue with the balcony door. We’re delighted you enjoyed Alma and the tasty breakfast buffet. Perhaps your next stay will provide a better experience to partake in everything we have to offer. Thank you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cape Cod

Nice in good weather

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Pros: Due to the weather I stayed inside and I discover the internet connection was non existent. This was a big problem.
Cons: internet signal boosters everywhere
It rained the whole stay but not the hotels fault. If the weather was nice it would have been a great location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2016 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
We are disappointed that the weather was not what we had hoped for during your stay. Please accept our apologies for the issue with the internet service and for any inconvenience. We hope to welcome you back and have a chance to fully impress you. Thank you for the feedback.