Ratings based on 1,432 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from homestead, fl

great and clean! fun for kids

Posted Aug 24, 2015
it was great loved it!! thr staff super nuce everything well organized and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK / Kissimmee

Just what we needed.

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Pros: Location, clean, tidy and relaxing.
Cons: Noisy air con units!
Location: Various attractions within easy driving distance. Easy to get to from the main road.
After reading some mixed reviews, I was concerned about the hotel. I am glad to say I was wrong. The hotel is in a fantastic spot in the Keys. Easy to get to from the main road (State Route 1). Check in was easy and fuss free. The hotel charges $200 per day, plus tax to your credit card so you can charge all your food and drinks to your room. The room was clean and comfortable. The beds are huge! My wife is some what short and it was amusing to see her getting into bed as they are that tall!! My only minor complaint is that the air conditioning unit is very loud when it's operating. My tip would be to set it to auto to get a good nights sleep. The food is good and the staff friendly. Sitting outside for dinner was very relaxing. The lagoon was nice for swimming and there was a pool for families and for over 21's. Be aware that if you have never visited the Keys before, there is 1 road in and 1 road out. During our visit, there was a traffic accident and everything stopped while it was cleared and we sat in a queue for an hour before abandoning out trip to the Theatre Of The Sea and going back to the hotel. Not to worry, we had a great day just chilling out by the lagoon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey, UK

excellent accommodation

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Pros: Accommodation standard of the 3 bedroom town house.
Cons: More efficient check in
Location: Lots to do nearby, if you like fishing, boating, diving or just sitting by the pool, you are sorted.
Only there for one night / morning, but pleased with accommodation of the 3 bed town house we rented. Parking was right outside villa which made things very easy. There was a small problem on check in as the villa was not ready, which was a bit surprising as the check in staff were not happy about giving us a one hour delayed check out to accommodate a pre-booked fishing trip. In the, we had to wait one and a half hours from the stated check in time before we had access to the villa. Not good after a four hour drive. The check staff offered me $100 credit for drinks or food, which was very welcome while we waited, but the credit did not not show on my final bill.
Comment from EPC
Aug 27, 2015 by HotelMgmt, EPC
While we are thankful to learn that there were a number of positive aspects of your short stay, we regret any inconvenience you may have encountered. We do hope that your concerns were handled efficiently before you departed. Your comments will be reviewed with our management team. We do hope you’ll consider another stay with us here at Hawks Cay Resort in the future to allow us the opportunity to exceed all expectations at that time.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2015
The villa was run down, there was no wifi. The pool was murky. The whole place was not as expected especially with the hefty price tag.
Comment from EPC
Aug 27, 2015 by HotelMgmt, EPC
We deeply regret that your experience fell short of your expectations and wish we were aware of your concerns earlier. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. One day we hope to welcome you back and exceed your expectations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tolles Hotelresort auf Duck key

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Auf unserer Floridareise ein idealer Zwischenstopp um mit Delfinen zu schwimmen. Ca 10 min vom Resort entfernt. Und nach Key west einen Tagesausflug zu machen. Ca. 1,5h entfernt!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Overall nice place. No real beach.

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Nice place. Very expensive for what you get. Donnie at the pool was most helpful and seemed to enjoy his job. Wait staff not very helpful. Rooms cleaned very late in the day. Not enough people at checkin or out many people waiting in line. Adult pool clean but gulls swim in the pool and drink the water.
Comment from EPC
Aug 19, 2015 by HotelMgmt, EPC
We are glad that overall, you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback, positive and otherwise, as it helps us to better meet our guests expectations in the future. We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back again for a stay that impresses you in every way
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dissapointed

Posted Aug 11, 2015
The hotel room was dated and very plain. Not worth the price. Very poor customer service!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2015 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Your feedback is extremely important to us and we appreciate the time you have taken to share it with us. Hearing that we fell short of your expectations in several areas is truly disappointing. Please accept our apologies for not creating a better experience for you. One day we hope to have the chance to welcome you back and impress you in every way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Nice hotel with a lot of amenities.

Posted Aug 8, 2015
Pros: amenities
Cons: price - OUTRAGEOUS for what we received.
Location: fishing, diving, snorkeling - no beach access accept for "resort made" beach.
Was under the impression I would have a Marina view. My unit was right next to the road with a lot of road traffic. For the amount spent for room, was disappointed!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2015 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out to us and letting us know about your stay. While we are glad that you liked our hotel and the amenities we provided, we regret your disappointment with regard to the view and offer our apologies for any confusion. We hope that you will one day allow us the privilege of welcoming you back and exceeding your expectations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Nice resort, but was expecting more.

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: The facilities overall; the location; the activities.
Cons: Staff needs to be more attentive when problems are brought to their attention. Pricing is a little steep given what you get.
Location: Duck Key is just before Marathon. We spent the majority of our time there. You can find just about anything related to water to do there.
The positives: Hawk's Cay is a beautiful resort in a great location. Most staff were very friendly and went out of their way to take care of you. Our room was large and had a great view. The food overall was very good. The negatives: Hawk's Cay is expensive. And because of the cost (in off-season) I was left expecting more from the resort than it provided. A couple of issues... 1) Our first full morning there, it took 2 hours for room service breakfast when we were told it would be 45 minutes. After our second call, and expressing our displeasure at the outrageous amount of time, we were basically blown off by whoever answered the phone. The food finally came, but it was too little too late. From that point on, we ate there limitedly during our weeklong stay. 2) The beds were awful - not only the mattresses, but the actual beds. Our frame was broken and needed repair. It took 2 days and 4 inquiries before maintenance came to fix the problem. The resort did provide us with 4 complimentary breakfasts for the inconvenience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2015 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and for sharing the aspects of your stay that you considered positive as well as those you felt were lacking. We are glad that you enjoyed the beauty of our resort as well as the friendliness of many of our associates. It was however disappointing to learn of the delay you experienced with room service and also with our maintenance staff. Your feedback is important to us and will be reviewed with our team members to refresh our high standards in customer service. We hope to one day have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a stay that impresses you in every way.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fort myers

Villas are dated. Not very clean.

Posted Aug 1, 2015
This is our 4th year we have stayed at Hawks Cay. The villas could use some sprucing up. They are not very clean and somewhat dated. I understand the resort fee of $39 but they want an extra $35 to clean your room otherwise they don't bother. Plus no extra pillows or blankets in the unit. Pool area didn't have enough staff for food and drinks. There are more resorts with Marinas now open in the close proximity in Marathon we are going to try next year.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2015 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
We value all feedback and appreciate knowing you have enjoyed staying with us over the last several years. However, it is truly disappointing to learn that this year's visit was not up to par. Please accept our apologies for not providing you with the outstanding experience you have come to expect from us. We hope that you will give us another chance in the future to regain your trust. Thank you.