Ratings based on 2,012 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Plainfield,IL.

Very clean. Close to the beach. All good

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness, convenience, good people.
Cons: All was good
It was a great experience. Very clean. Great beach. Polite help.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Quad Cities, IA

Good value, nice small private beach

Posted Jun 26, 2016
The property was very nice. Some of it and the room showed some wear but they kept it looking nice. The small private beach was very good for swimming and lounging and they have a watersports rental and tour company onsite. We enjoyed are stay and thought the price was decent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baton Rouge, LA

Mediocre For the Value

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Pros: Staff was congenial. Linens were changed daily.
Cons: First of all, cold/hot water issues need to be addressed (for this room). Second, a free continental breakfast should be offered. Reduce resort fee.
Location: Nice location within driving distance to other islands/ amusements
My husband and I were disappointed with our stay over a five day period. Since we are early risers, we are accustomed to taking hot showers around 6:00 A.M. - 7:00 A.M. each morning. There was no hot water on Sunday night, Monday morning, Tuesday morning, Wednesday morning , and Thursday morning. Each morning, we called the desk...and hot water was available about an hour after the call was placed. Also, for the amount of money charged, it would seem that a (free) complimentary breakfast would be available. In addition, we had to pay a surcharge of $25.00 per day even though we did not use any of the facilities (beach, exercise room, etc.). In all fairness, we knew about this charge...but it is rather steep. As far as cleanliness goes, the room was never vacuumed during our entire stay. On a positive note, the bedding/towels were changed and the bathroom was cleaned daily. Staff were friendly. Our biggest beef was with the cold showers/ cold water shaving. I would consider this hotel to be of fair to mediocre value, at best.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK. Beach is nice.

Posted Jun 23, 2016
This was an OK stay. Beautiful sunsets and beach. $25/day resort fee gets you a towel and $1. noodle to float on. All activities are too expensive and we went elsewhere to kayak and paddle board. Food and drinks are expensive on beach. Pool is nice. Help on beach, except for Mary, were rude, lazy and not helpful. Stayed there 5 years ago and was much better.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 28, 2016
A bit dirty here and there. Ambience was horrible. Needs renovation. Everything felt dirty.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Muy viejo, le urge remodelación

Posted May 4, 2016
Hotel muy viejo y le urge remodelación. todo el personal SUPER amable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, the beach is very nice and quiet.

Posted May 1, 2016
Staff was accommodating and polite. The resort's natural beauty is amazing, and we really enjoyed how quiet it was.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from switzerland

Has seen better times

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Building and rooms need an update/renovation.
Location: Beach
Thenhozel is beautifully located amongst trees and with a couple of pretty beaches. The building itself has seen better day though and so did the rooms. The staff was very accommodating in finding us a better room after the first one they showed us smelled funny (moist/moldy,...). Our room was ok, nice ocean view, large enough, but things vere a bit old, especially the carpet, which was pretty dirty...
5 out of 5
by Anabel from Miami

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
Great experience but the rooms need an update! New carpets and new beds!
5 out of 5
by Jorge

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels