Ratings based on 1,484 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI

Great Room Right on the Beach!

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Our sliding glass doors opened onto a small, clean deck right on the beach. The local wildlife (ibises, gulls, iguanas) visited daily, seeking handouts and scraps left behind. We had lunch several times right on our deck, facilitated by the refrigerator in the room. The room was impeccably clean, and the staff was friendly and accommodating. I have already recommended this hotel to others, and will do so again in the future. It's a short trip to downtown, and bikes and electric cars are available for rent to make the trip fun and easy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beach front?

Posted Jan 22, 2017
The photos make it appear it is beach front there is sand but it really isn't a beach but don't use that as an excuse not to stay here. Also the bathroom isn't very good but the shuttle to downtown is pretty great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Wonderful Experience

Posted Jan 21, 2017
The Ibis Resort is beautiful! It was clean, the staff was very professional and loved having the shuttle to get us down to the action so we didn't have to worry about finding a parking spot. We definitely will visit Ibis again. We used Trivago to compare prices at other establishments. Appreciate Ibis for being a part of that. For being so close to the action, we thought the price was well worth it. Will definitely recommend to our friends and family who are visiting Key West!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

great place to stay for price

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Great place to stay for price/nice restaurant to eat at. Low key atmosphere and well kept.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Key West, FL

Charming, beachy stay, away from downtown crowds

Posted Jan 1, 2017
We enjoyed our stay in our charming, beachy cottage themed, small and cozy room. They have a nice, on site restaurant that provided complementary breakfast each morning me. We especially appreciated the bus shuttle that ran every hour to the downtown area - very convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

Excellent Hotel Staff

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: We loved the "Mom and Pop" feel. It was like staying in a 1950"s resort. The swimming pool, and hammocks were amazing.
Cons: The morning breakfast. Staff needs to keep up with the plates and cups. Change up the menu. Cold ham and boiled eggs became very boring.
Location: Shopping, food, beaches. Roosters everywhere. Clean city. Wonderful Sunset Celebration every night. Cruises.
This little hotel resort has all that is needed to enjoy a visit to the Keys. The hotel staff is very friendly, knowledgeable about the area, and full of little tidbits of helpful information. They greeted us with a warm welcome, and said good bye with a hint of "please, won't you stay just a while longer?" We stayed in the upstairs King Townhouse, room 609, with a partial ocean view, only seen while on the porch. The room itself is a tropical feel. The living room had ample seating, a television, small table and two chairs, and a small refrigerator. Perfect for our needs. The bedroom had a very comfortable king bed, and plenty of drawers for storage and hanging space. The bathroom is large with a huge tub complete with hand held shower head, perfect for rinsing suits after a day at the beach. The separate shower is a bit tight, takes a bit for the hot water to get to it, but worked fine for our needs. When maintenance was needed they were prompt and polite. The housekeeping staff kept us loaded with towels, and in and out quickly when we were in the room. The bus to town was a wonderful way to see some of the area without having to drive, or pay for parking. The restaurant staff was friendly, however they didn't always keep up with demand on plates and coffee mugs. The food was great the first day, however I would suggest changing things up from day to day. At least do something special on the weekends. Thank you for sharing our 10th anniversary with us. T&N
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Don't be fooled

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: Real room pictures of what you are actually going to be staying in
Location: 1 1/2 miles to anything fun
I wish I could add some photos to this so anyone could see the difference between the room pictures that this hotel has in the ad and what it actually looks like. NOT EVEN CLOSE!!!!!!!!!! This was by far the worse hotel I have ever stayed at, and I assure you I stay in lot's of hotels, I travel for a living and stay in hotels well over 200 nights a year. This is dirty, small, smelly, uninviting, no room for luggage, and by far the worst out house I have ever been locked into, no wonder they don't give refunds, cause it would happen everytime someone checked in. Look closely at the hidden resort fee's also and the $250 cleaning deposit when checking in....WOW!!!!! any other hotels out there require a cleaning deposit? And if you think the continental will fill you up?? Think again. it offers coffee and plain bagel, and some old rotting fruit. My advice is to stay far away from this place. I feel robbed for paying for this room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Can't swim at beach. The pool everyone from road

Posted Dec 28, 2016
My car was broker it to stole my coat & all my house keys & my car charger
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from quebec, canada

need renovations

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Pros: patio
Cons: everything
room outdated. rusty bath. dificulty opening and cloosing the baywindow.small t.v. the only nice thing about this hotel is the patio if you have a view of the water. verry Noisy. the airconditioning is loud and stop every 5 minutes. when you check in they ask you to sign a 250.00 dollar voucher in blank for security on the room.... there is Nothing Worth a 100.00 dollars............
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nightmare of a stay

Posted Dec 4, 2016
It was impossible to sleep in the hotel. Our whole vacation was ruined by choosing this hotel. At first the room looked good so we took it. Unfortunately the AC was the lowdest ever "window unit". So we had to turn it off but guess what, the fridge (out of date too) wasn't any quieter so that was switched off too. We could hear every car passing down the road as well as every couple walking by talking like it it inside the room. When the problem was addressed to the receptionist named Tracey requesting a quieter room there was no apology or any empathy at all. All we got was his rude and extremely aggressive attitude referring to checking us out of the hotel in the middle of the night. People like him should be crept away from hospitality. So we had a sleepless nightmare of night which ruined our whole vacation. Browsed online wondering what the reviews of this hotel look like. The amount of good ones only makes me wonder how much do they pay for them. To compliment all the above a trash truck woke up everyone in the hotel at 4:30am on a Saturday morning. Breakfast (included in the price) wasn't any better than the stay. I could see other fellow guests having hard time finding something eatable. I will make sure none of my friends or guests from my restaurant visit Ibis Bay Beach Resort. I do not recommend it to anyone.