Ratings based on 215 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Wonderful Boutique Hotel

Posted May 20, 2017
I typically do not write reviews but the staff at Merlin Guest House were all great. Everyone was approachable, kind and helpful. My girlfriend and I have stayed at 3 different locations in Key West and this was by far our favorite. Very much a chill, couples oriented spot. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and great location

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Location! And although the pool/spa is small, the area around it is very nice - great to hang out in the afternoon.
Cons: Get some side tables for seating areas!
We spent 6 nights here and enjoyed our stay. Our King room (17) was perfectly located in a little nook. Our room must have been recently redone; it was really nice. The bathroom is really nice and big, but has just a normal tub/shower (in case that's important to you - no big shower or tub). The air conditioning unit sounds like a jet engine, but that can be good & bad - no street noise heard in our room! If you're a light sleeper this room is not for you. The other funky thing is that the room is very large, but the bed faces the door (so you're looking at the front door from the bed). That sounds silly but for some reason it seemed really funny while in bed. Not sure what else they could do, but just odd. I agree with others that they could spruce up the outdoors a bit. The pool area is really nice and the seating is just right. But there are no small tables on which to put your water bottles, reading material, etc, while sitting on the lounge chairs. Same for the chairs outside the room on our private porch - no small side table. If we wanted to sit on our porch & have an evening cocktail or play cards, there was nowhere to put our drink/cards. Simple fix; hope they do that. Kenneth at the front desk was amazing; the other folks were fine. Breakfast is the same exact food every day, if you care (we didn't, although it did get a bit old after 5 days). Having said all this, we will definitely come back and stay there, just a few things to help make it perfect.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
Great location but bathroom was tired. Room was small but fine for sleeping
4 out of 5
by F J

Nice refurbished accommodations of Old Key West

Posted Feb 11, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice! Refurbished accommodations still give the feel of Old Key West. Location was absolutely great. Minimalist decor was very clean and clutter free and staff was very friendly and helpful. Most rooms have a small safe in the room and bistro-styled seating just outside the door. It was a little inconvenient because there was no clock, no coffee pot, no place to hang clothes other than a couple of wall hooks in the basic 1 bed/1 bath room we had. The larger rooms looked better equipped from what we could see.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Just off main drag

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: It was nice to stay in Old Key West to experience the atmosphere.
Location: We were 1 block back from the hustle and bustle of Duval Street which made everything in easy walking distance.
The Merlin house is a quaint historic house with squeaky floors! :). The rooms are done up with the taste of the old with the conviences of the new ! Breakfast in the back garden was great. We were close to all the activity of Duval Street but far enough for some quiet.
5 out of 5
by Jeanette

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 8, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Brenda

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 29, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NY

Great!

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: I can't think of anything.
Location: So close to everything!
I loved the cozy feel of the grounds, the privacy of the guesthouse we were in. Everything was clean and neat. Great location, we were able to walk everywhere. I would definitely stay again!
5 out of 5
by Michael

Posted Jan 20, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice stay, great location and staff was very friendly and helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Quaint guest house close to everything.

Posted Jan 15, 2017 on Orbitz
This guesthouse was in a great location close to everything. The rooms were modern and exactly as pictured however we had a streetside room which was quite noisy to traffic and thin walls where you could easily hear all the rooms around us. The staff was friendly. Jacuzzi pool was nice on a chilly night although not quite warm enough. Overall enjoyable time.