Ratings based on 1,598 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 24, 2017
Wonderful stay, excellent location to restaurants and shops. Waterfront hotel with pool by the ocean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Just Okay

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: Proximity to the action.
Cons: A little updating.
Location: Pier bar right outside the door. Everything else very close by, including a CVS.
Hotel staff was very friendly. Upgraded upon arrival although room was ready a little late, but not a big deal. Room was clean. Air conditioning didn't seem to run through the night (we didn't say anything though). Hair dryer and some outlets didn't work (again, didn't complain). Pool was nice. Property shows some age though (e.g., popcorn ceilings).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Erie, PA

Room booked was not what we received

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Convenience of location, within walking distance of all the things on Duvall Street
Cons: A little better upkeep for the price you pay.
Location: Again, within walking distance of everything related to the Duvall Street experience if that is what you are looking for.
The first time we stayed at the Ocean Key we would have rated it 5 stars, this time, not so much. We paid a lot extra for what was described as an island view, what we got was a view of Duvall Street! When ask about it, we were told, Key West is an island so you did get an island view!!! That's pretty deceitful! Other than that the stay was pleasant. Location is convenient. The last time we stayed also, the pool was immaculate, this time, not at all! There were kids jumping in and out of the hot tub late at night, and garbage left over from patrons during the day, still there! It just seemed less upkeep to us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kiev. Ukraine

Nice hotel, in the hart of daily life.

Posted May 14, 2017
Nice view, beautiful sunset from restaurants "top on the roof". Perfect breakfast and pictures pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 7, 2017
Great stay! It is was better than what we had expected.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Wedding in Key West

Posted May 5, 2017
The hotel was recommended by 3 conworkers and it was a perfect 10! Location, on property amentities, cleanliness, professional and friendly staff. Nate the conceiege helped me remotely to set up the wedding (sail boat at sunset - Blue Ice Sail) &'with make up, dinner reservations and more. We'll be back!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tampa

You won't sleep past 6am LOL (rosters)

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: ocean view
Cons: More shade on bar deck, bigger pool.
Location: The porch bar is awesome.
Hotel location is great, ocean view room was nice. Room was good except small already full refridgerator. Pool is very small only 5 foot deep and crowed most of the time. Bar had good craft beer selection but the Sun will beat on you all day with no shade for the most part and the Sun is crazy intense down there. Biggest problem was noise. Rosters start yelling really loud around 5am. I never slept past 6am cause of this. Also the floor above you is very loud paper thin cellings or something. You can hear everyone making noise above you and hear loudly the chairs moving on the balconies in the morning since everyone is awake cause of the rosters. The parking is valley and expensive and jammed packed in the basement with all other cars so its difficult to get cars in and out if you bring one. Highly recommend the sea plane to dry tortugus (fort Jefferson). Took boat 3 other times, but the plane was 3 times faster and an amazing view. Its $100 more a person but so worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from K

Great hotel with unique character

Posted Apr 28, 2017
We were overjoyed at the interesting character of this hotel. Far from the standard corporate models, this place has fun, large rooms stocked with everything you need, exceptional housekeeping service (our housekeepers kept us supplied with lots of fluffy towels during the day and turned down our beds and tidied our room before evening!) The amazing jetted bathtub in our room could've fit six!! Nice perk! Front desk, valet and bell service was outstanding and friendly. Bartenders in the hotel and pool bar could benefit financially by learning social conversation skills. Only other downside for me..breathing the cigarette smoke from others on the balconies near ours while enjoying the view and trying to enjoy breakfast : ( Five stars here!! We loved our stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No Need to Grade on a Keys Curve

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Location: The location is absolutely perfect. I actually told a friend that it is almost inappropriate for such a perfect piece of land to be in private hands.
I've spent a lot of time in the Keys, so I'm accustomed to grading on a curve. Often times a solid 4-star in the Keys would be la quinta shuttered by the health department in other place. Not so with Ocean Key. This place is the real deal. I stayed in a junior suite with "partial ocean view." There was no need for the "partial" modifier, but the fact that they differentiated tells you a lot about the high standards. Gorgeous view of the ocean, cruise ships docking and departing, and, most importantly, Mallory Square. I watched all the performers and humans milling about below while eating an excellent meal on my large balcony. Probably the best hours I've ever spent in Key West. Staff was perfect. Bathroom looks very much like what you find in a larger room a Four Seasons, but with the addition of Jacuzzi jets in the tub. Anyway, my top goal in the keys is to avoid disappointment. Ocean Key surpassed my every hope.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Great resort. Dinner was amazing in Hot Tin Roof restaurant. Staff was exceptional! Our room was immaculate.