Ratings based on 1,031 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from matthews nc

Close to beach great staff and beautiful

Posted May 2, 2017
Loved this place ! Small and close to beach. Staff was excellent! Would return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Allentown, PA

Nice hotel, could be better

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: The view, the location, the free use of kayak, bike and paddleboard. The bed- very comfortable.
Cons: See above.
Location: Good location- restaurants and shops very close. Try the Island Grille, Lorelei's, Chef Michael's, Marker 88. Wahoo's.
Nice place, not luxurious, but good. Great views, great location. Overall, net positive. A couple little things would have made it a whole lot better- 1. More places to hang clothes and accessories in the room- some hooks, more hangars, etc. 2. Open concept shower is nice but the floor was always wet. 3. Repaint the pool. The ocean view rooms are looking down on it. 4. Ran out of tea with caffeine at breakfast early in the week. Did not bother to get more. The guy making lunch in the bar area messed up my order. I was told it was because he did not speak English.(???)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, wish this hotel was in Key West!

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Everything about this hotel was great, although it seems to be a little olders and room was a little too small for my liking. I wish it was in Key West where we had spent the first 5 days of our vacation at a so called Resort. This was truly a "RESORT" with lots to offer we had a great experience at this location. We enjoyed it. It was the bright spot in an otherwise not very nice week in the Florida Keys.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on the beach.

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: Location and views
Great for short break, might be a bit limiting for longer. Good view from balcony. Enjoyable activities (kayak, snorkeling, paddle-boarding) for reasonable resort fee. Breakfast included beside the beach.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Not quite how it was advertised

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Food, staff and size of swimming pool
Location: Lots of things to do
Everything just seemed to be below what we expected. The food was very poor and at one stage my 11 year old son wanted a plain ham sandwich but the bar maid told us that was too difficult. The hotel was far from cheap and so we feast rather let down.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aventura, FL

It's nice nothing outrageous

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Rooms are small, right on the water east side but no good access to water, need to climb over rocks! I've stayed there many times over last ten years
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2017
We had a really nice time. We plan to be back. Not a huge breakfast but very friendly staff and lovely little spot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel in middle of Keys

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Overall a good stay at Pelican Cove and we would comeback. Check in was frustrating as we had asked for two rooms close by but they said they didn't have the request and couldn't accommodate since they were full. The room with two double beds was small. There was no dresser to put your clothes and the frig and microwave sat on the floor! The rooms were dark with no overhead lighting. One of the rooms was missing a lamp and phone. We were on the third floor so the views from the balcony were gorgeous. I doubt you would get any view from the first or second floor rooms. The facilities were great. A very nice heated pool and the beach was as good as they can be for the Keys ( remember the Keys are rocky!). I did wish they had a hot tub but the heated pool did help. There was lots to do- tons of water sports included in the resort fee and several charters available at the doc right outside the hotel. Only a continental breakfast but still good enough for something light in the morning- bagels, yogurt, cereal, lots of whole fruits, etc. I would not recommend eating at the bar. The food was OK but very expensive. $85 for lunch for four people with no alcohol. They did occasionally come out to the pool and beach to see if we wanted anything from the bar. We brought all our own so can't speak to the quality of the bar drinks. Staff at the bar and activity area very nice and accommodating! Overall a good place to stay in the middle of the keys!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Nice place, Great Staff

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Really nice and pretty location. The staff was very nice and the hotel had lots of toys to borrow for the water and for biking.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Stay at Pelican Bay

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: Nice location
Cons: See above experience.
Location: OK for beach and water lovers.
Average facility. Raception staff 'crude' and definitely not welcoming. Bedding and pillows unsatisfactory.