Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL

Wonderful hotel, but disappointed in the Concierge

Posted Jun 21, 2013
Cons: My daughter tried to surprise me by having amenities sent to my room (wine and food), she was charged for them but they were never received :(
This hotel was recommended to me by a colleague. We had a wonderful time and no complaints with the room but the concierge was difficult to reach ahead of time. Poor communication. My daughter tried to surprise me by having amenities sent to my room (wine, etc.), they were very expensive, and it turns out that she was charged for it but it was never received by me. Needless to say she was very disappointed. She's been trying to contact them for a refund and they've been very difficult and slow to respond.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bob from FL

5 star resort experience

Posted May 11, 2013
Pros: Everything. And it's right next to Duval Street!
Cons: The island needs a little grocery store.
We love Key West. But let's face it. Duvall Street is fun, even wild, but not 5 star. This private secluded island takes Key West to another level. The island resort is wonderful. Peaceful. Carribean. You're staying in homes. Not rooms. Pricey yes. But worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fahad from Kuwait

Great experience

Posted Jan 8, 2013
Pros: The island
Cons: The beach and the price
Everything was great, except for the beach. It had some rocks and it was painful to walk on
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Camila from Miami, FL, USA

What a great

Posted May 8, 2012
Pros: The comfortable cottages, the beach, the privacy, Latitudes Restaurant, the views from the island are just priceless, no kidsaround, the hammocks
Cons: Nothing. We had a full day of rain and it was enjoyable anyways.
Location: It's great to know you are just 7minutes away from Key West on a ferry ride if you want to party but during the day you are in a peaceful island.
I have to say I was a little bit doubtful to book this hotel because of some of the reviews but now that I have been there and experienced it myself I can only say these were just too extreme and not fair. I have been in the hospitality industry myself for over 14 years, working for luxury hotel chains around the world and now for a luxury travel agency and I have travelled extensively for business and pleasure - benefitting from being in the industry and staying at some of the best hotels in the world. In addition, I have been to Key West many times and I even was the Sales Manager for two of the top resorts there. With this in mind, you can imagine I am not an easy client but I honestly cannot find anything to criticize about my recent stay at Sunset Key Cottages. We had no problem whatsoever and the hotel's staff was amazing at all times. The cottages are beautiful and comfortable - we had 2 bedroom cottage and each bedroom had it's own private entrance with an outdoor shower, the pool area was nice, the beach is gorgeous with white sand beach and tikki huts and even a floating platform with lounge chairs where you can swim to and sunbath, the lounge chairs were very comfortable with thick mattresses. Latitudes Restaurant is amazing and a definite MUST for a romantic dinner! We had dinner, lunch and drinks and it was great at all times. In all honesty, I think this is the BEST resort hotel in Key West and much better than many of the top caribbean resorts I've been too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

one of the best vacations !!

Posted Apr 12, 2012
Pros: location
Location: its on an island
i would definitely like to stay again ! key west is a must visit place for travelers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sunset Keys

Posted Feb 18, 2012
Booked only from on-line information at the last minute - an absolute gem ! Cant fault one single thing - service is outstanding
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Westin nice but ruined

Posted Dec 4, 2011
The resort on Sunset Key off off of Key West in Florida looks nice, the staff is generally friendly. The cottage was lovely and the rooms and beds were clean and comfortable. They include a breakfast basket with the room which is a bit of joke as it consists of a couple of pieces of fruit and tired pastry they would be better off not providing it. But for me the problem was that I checked in late in the season and they had started renovating the cottage next to mine so each morning at 8:00am power drills, saws and hammering would start. When I complained nothing was done and even when I left other than a general apology nothing was done. I was looking for a comfortable and relaxing few days but instead found myself irritated and feeling cheated the entire time because of their lack of consideration for a guests comfort. I am sure it is nice when they don't have building works going on but it is not like they didn't know I was there and the work was scheduled to start and couldn't have made some sort of accommodation so as a result I can't really recommend this resort and I won't be returning.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boca Raton, florida

Horrible staff, horrible service. Not worth the money. Go somewhere else

Posted Aug 24, 2011
I travel all over. Everyone at this hotel is very unprofessional. They are rude, non-accomadating and make horrible decisions
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Fairhaven, MA

Exquisite

Posted Nov 25, 2009
What a great place. Top Notch resort, Luxorious and comfortable, the staff is there to greet you as you arrive to the private island and they make you feel welcome and tend to your every need. The plus is that you have the option of heading to the mainland for the hustle, bustle, and fun and when you need to just chill out and relax you can retreat back to the Sunset Key Resort We will definately return next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Louisville, KY

Go here.

Posted Jul 4, 2009
Best place to stay. Not cheap, but the peace and quiet is well worth it, best beach in the keys. Great restaurant right on premises.