Ratings based on 922 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice shuttle service to the heart of it all

Posted May 16, 2017
Hidden fees were an unwelcome surprise. The bed is a platform bed, making it lower and a bit difficult
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from GA

Nice and clean hotel but away from main drag

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: Cleanness
Cons: I wish there were microwave! We could easily warm leftovers but couldn't. Housekeepers should fill everything in rather just towels
Location: Groceries and eateries and beach boardwalk
It was very clean and nice plush towels and beddings. Clean and not-crowded salt pool by tiki bar. We had 3kids with us and it accommodated us good for 3 nights. It has small fridge we can put water. It is away from main hub of key west though. There is shuttle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

loved it!

Posted May 3, 2017
clean awesome staff very modern great pool access to next door sister hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SouthBend, Indiana

Nice hotel. Great location

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Nice hotel. Staff was great, courteous and very helpful with recommendations on the island. The grounds were nice and clean as well as the room. We would definitly stay again
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

DON'T BE TRICKED BY THE PHOTOS !!!!

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: staff is very polite. the rooms seem to have been recently refurbished.
Cons: first thing that can be changed is the misrepresentation of the hotel, making it seem like something it is not.
Location: the location is horrible. that is why they offer a shuttle service. the best thing they have nearby is a Publix supermarket.
I needed a pet-friendly hotel in Key West at short notice. I looked into all the option that Expedia provided. The Gates looked really nice, similar to a small resort, boutique hotel. I truly believed I was getting a good deal. GIGANTIC DISAPPOINTMENT ! this hotel is a roadside motel turned into a trendy boutique hotel. The decor follows their proposal. the hotel itself is a lie. the pool is small. there is NO restaurant but they have a food truck (???), which seems to be a nice trendy solution to a problem but it really doesn't solve anything. in the photos everything looks beautiful and it seems like a special place. it's smack on a edge of a main avenue, nearby a strip mall. there is no beautiful view, there is no nature. I used all my Expedia points and still had to pay half thinking I was going to stay at a 4 star hotel or better. be aware: this hotel is equivalent to a SUPER 8 or a MOTEL 6. There is nothing special to it that would justify such high rates. I feel like I was tricked. I feel I was misled. I am SURE everyone that sees the photos and later sees the hotel has the EXACT same impression. never again !
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2017 by Chelsea V, Hotel Management
Adam, We are so sorry about any misrepresentation on our website. We are located about 15 minutes away from the downtown area. We also partner with our sister hotel and do have more food options, which this is our fault for not properly informing you at check in. It is our priority to ensure that you have an excellent experience and we did not fulfill our obligation. We would love to have you back and give you a completely different experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Excellent Hotel with great pool and facilities.

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Close to Downtown, shuttle bus service, excellent staff, made us feel welcome at all times. Excellent pool and facilities. Could not recommend more!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2017
The hotel and the staff was very nice! Everything was clean. Unfortunately the hotel doesn't serve breakfast; it has a foodtruck nearby where you can buy breakfast / lunch / supper until 10 pm. Furthermore, it is located at the outskirts of key west, it is not in walking distance, but they have a shuttle service to the town center
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Nice hotel, with many little extras.

Posted Apr 12, 2017
We only stayed for one night, but were very pleased. Many thoughtful little additions in the room, and it was very clean. Nice pool, outside bar with separate cigar lounge, live music, shuttles every 30 minutes, and a very nice staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami

Very nice hotel by the ocean

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Excellent customer service and well kept hotel. Very nice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Great staff made it a great experience

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: Good thinking,good design. Liked the magnetic door locks for nighttime and the metal bar rather than the chain. The pool bar and everything to it
Cons: The shuttle needs to be rethought. Either serve fewer hotels or put more drivers on at night.
Location: It's away from downtown so it's quiet. There is a wide sidewalk opposite that goes for a good two miles for early morning runs or walks.
The Gates Hotel is new so maybe that's why we got such great rates on such a special place. It's beautiful, the pool is great and the pool bar is fabulous--a well designed outdoor space--and our check-in experience started with Dea bringing my husband and me a rum punch to enjoy while she pulled up our reservation. The "front desk" is a podium with a laptop--the rest is roomy, comfortable living room. The pool has cabanas and great bartenders; the live music we heard was better than a lot of what we heard in downtown Key West. Plus, the room itself is great: the bathroom door slides, so there's nothing to stub your toe on in the middle of the night while you're fumbling for a light switch. Concierge Andrea was fantastic. We explored boat excursions and restaurants on our own, then came to her with our questions. She was terrific, and spot on. Dea was always there with a great smile and clear answers as we found our way all week. The housekeeping was consistently excellent. The one downside is the hotel shuttle to downtown and back. The 24-seater services four hotels. Twice we were left waiting at 10 p.m. and 10:30 p.m. for the crowded shuttle to come back for the rest of us. Some people took a taxi. Disappointing. But not to mar the overall experience, which was well worth it.