Ratings based on 2,011 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Key Biscayne

Way overpriced, understaffed and moldy!

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Location, just a few minutes away from Duval Street, but in a quiet and nice area, with good restaurants near by...
Cons: Close down the Hotel for whatever time it takes to completely refurnish it, to bring it back to what the name Waldorf Astoria used to stand up for.
Location: The location of the hotel is great! A few blocks away you'll find the Southernmost Point, Duval Street, the Butterfly Conservatory and nice shops!
The Waldorlf Astoria brand has decayed into the gutter, it was once a Grand Hotel in New York. The brand name "Waldorf Astoria" with Very high nightly rates for a one bedroom for two people, misleads you into believing that you will be staying at a high-end hotel. The minute you walk into the lobby you notice that The Reach is out-dated. Yes, the hotel is located in a privileged property with its own private beach, but the pool area is totally unappealing and so is the beach. Nice pier, though, and a nice view. The corridors have some type of cement floors, that look dirty and low-end. The elevators are old and not clean. When you get into the room, the layout is just fine, we thought that the small kitchenette was convenient, but the closet area has no drawers. The carpet was clean, the room didn't smell, the room size is fine for two people. Now the bathroom, that is a whole different story! The shower tiles were moldy, disgusting, we basically took showers with our sandals on! At a Waldorf Astoria! We had a problem with the A/C one day, but they fixed it on the same day, so that's a plus for them. We believe they have good staff, but when we say that this is an understaffed hotel, it's because one night we asked for extra bottles of water (which were free and unlimited, great perk!), the girl at the front desk told us that the Valet Parking guy was the person in charge of any requests during the night, for all the 150 rooms in the hotel! And no turn down at night..
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by -Luke, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We regret that some aspects of your stay fell short of expectations. The Reach has the only private natural sand beach on the island, and is currently scheduled for multiple improvements to take place. We hope you'll return sometime to see those improvements firsthand, and experience the excellent service we always aim to provide.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Perfect stay

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Everything !
Cons: the grounds seem to shut down at 11pm midnight would be a little better in my opinion
Location: easy access to everything - Latitudes restaurant is a must do !
Grade A for this stay - everything was what we hoped for - great grounds - beautiful views with private beach ! The entire facility was clean and well kept - the service was fantastic (Richard and Ruben outstanding) the water sports experts are right on site the wave runner tour was excellent - the proximity to Duvall street where much goes on was fantastic easy walks and not locked into a shuttle schedule - can not wait to come back and we will over and over !
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017 by -Luke, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay, and review of The Reach, Key West. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay, and really appreciate your feedback!. We will certainly recognize Richard and Reuben for having an impact on your stay! We hope to welcome you again soon, for another memorable visit to Key West!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great beach

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Be careful where your room is. Our room had only one window and for being in Florida and sleeping in a room without a window it was a pretty bad situation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017 by -Luke, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of The Reach Resort. We appreciate your feedback but would like to clarify for other readers, that in addition to your "one window" the guestroom also had a large sliding glass balcony door, as all of our guestroom offer balconies. Thank you again for your stay with us, we hope to see you again soon, at The Reach Resort!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing beach location!

Posted Apr 11, 2017
The Reach is absolutely beautiful and worth every penny. The private beach access, hotel staff, accomadations, location, is all just perfect. This is my 2nd yr in a row staying there for vacation - will surely be back again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017 by -Luke, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving such a great review of your recent stay at The Reach Resort. I'm very glad to hear that you had such an enjoyable vacation while staying at our resort. So many of our departments work extremely hard to make sure our guests have a great vacation, and I'm happy you noticed our extra efforts. We hope to see you again for your third visit soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best place to stay in Key West.

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Very friendly hotel staff. Private sandy beach. Pool view of the ocean. Private bar by the pool. Take a drink into the ocean. Absolutely relaxing place to stay!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by -Luke, Hotel Management
I'm very glad to read you had such a memorable and fulfilling visit to our resort. We very much appreciate your wonderful feedback, and I'm happy that so many areas of our property made such an impact on your vacation. I hope we'll see you back again for your next vacation in paradise!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rye Brook, NY

Great stay at the Reach

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: Location, pool, beach and service.
Cons: There were no drawers in the room for clothes.
Location: The location was perfect - private beach yet 2 blocks to Duval St.
The hotel was in a great location - beachfront yet walking distance to all. Room was nice, clean. Staff was very attentive. Pool area & beach were gorgeous! Would definitely return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017 by -Luke, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay at The Reach. I'm glad that you found so many areas of our resort to provide such an enjoying and relaxing experience. I certainly hope you will consider returning to our resort in the future, for another Key West vacation!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Quiet and yet close to Duval, kids loved the chess board!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Filthy, run down

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Unfortunately, this resort is now what we were expecting. Very dirty, and rude staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017 by -Luke, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with the Expedia community. I regret to learn of your concerns. We are always aiming to provide exceptional service in a luxurious environment, and we apologize for falling short of expectations. We do hope you'll consider our resort the next time you visit Key West; I'm certain with another opportunity, we can leave you with a better impression overall.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dissapointing

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: breakfast
Cons: I don't know where to start. How about truth in advertising or charging a fair rate.
balcony overlooked driveway and garage, all paths to room were under construction, room facts back street
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by -Luke, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of The Reach Resort. We apologize that our stay fell short of expectations, and regret any inconvenience caused. We are happy to announce that the noisy portions of our renovations concluded on March 25th. We hope that you'll visit us again sometime in the future, for a more pleasant experience overall.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Not what one would think of a Waldorf Astoria

Posted Mar 22, 2017
The check in was an extremely long wait; they were understaffed and didn't seem to care. We were standing 5 deep waiting to check in. The rooms were very nice but the bed was very uncomfortable!! There wasn't a memory foam or pillow top on the mattress as one expects. Walking to the room reminds one of a Fairfield Inn or Outdoor courtyard by Marriott. It was not the caliber of any Waldorf Astoria!!! My room was a deluxe Oceanview room. What I received was a room with a 100 % view of the pool and 10% ocean view. The pool is decent , the beach was nice. The hotel is a 3 out of 5 for an average hotel. If you go to the hotel thinking your walking into a Waldorf: 1.5 stars!!! Just stay at the casa marina- it's definitely a Waldorf! Overall
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by -Luke, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of The Reach Resort. We appreciate your kind words in regards to our pool and beach, but regret you feel you did not receive good value. The Reach boasts the only private natural sand beach on the island, and we price our rooms competitively with the other resorts on the island. Keep in mid winter is peak season for Key West, our rates are much lower in the summer months. We also have foam pillows and mattress toppers upon request. We look forward to having you back for a return visit soon!