Ratings based on 791 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great restaurant-close to the beach

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Great, peaceful place. Would go back in a heart beat. Great staff and the best food ever at the Butterfly Cafe.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sarasota

Tropical Oasis

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Plenty of space for 3 women and all the luggage/stuff without feeling crowded. A complete kitchen - even though we didn't do much cooking we made coffee and refrigerated our beverages and snacks. Two porches in back and front for relaxing. 2 1/2 bathrooms! The staff was very helpful with directions, pool towels, housekeeping. The grounds were immaculate. The beach area was perfect for lounging in the water in a beach chair. They thought of everything.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Great place!!!

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: beach place to snorkel. Room size!
Cons: Wash station on porch hose or outside shower around pool to rinse off before entering house. Vacuum or broom in house. Back key to porch door.
Room was better then expected! Left family with plenty of room like a house and great compared to hotel room that 5 of us where in prior! Wish there was someplace to wash off from beach prior to entering house also wish had a key to back porch so could lock up house easily when going to pool or beach. Would also be nice to have vacuum or some sort of broom to clean sand off tile floor and little more kitchen pots and pans to cook with. Kitchen was great full size frig. stove, microwave, blender and coffee maker. Service left detergent everyday for washing clothes and dishwasher. Felt very safe there and did not have any problems with leaving door unlocked. Beach great knowing all man made, was able to snorkel in a couple different of areas.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Beautiful hotel, on the gulf side of keys

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Beautiful 3 bedroom condo with full kitchen, 21/2 baths. we had 3 bedroom oceanfront. Disappointed in the pools, not refreshing, lagoons, not cleared out of seaweed, so not enjoyable either. Lagoon n front of our 3bedroom, not swimable, saw barracuda, shark and eel n it. Looks Like it was used in the past to house water sports equipment, now run down. we had view of old lobster cages and wooden crates. Old docking area, broken cement. Wooden boardwalk worn out from where people must have swam at one time. Now lagoon looks like its a place for jaws to be kept. Huge lizards walking around. Great tiki bar staff, Blaise in particular. Very nice, great personality. Front desk staff not as accommodating. We did complain about the grown up Grassy view of a lagoon too scary to use, staff a little rude about it, but did offer a credit to be used on grounds, which we did not use. Very pricy and I would not say worth 850 a night. To the resorts defense, they protect wildlife and the environment. We are not used to things that wild or grown up.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Nice hotel, close too beach, but....

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Pros: Mostly everything, but way too pricey at Tiki Bar ($15 for a pina colada in a plastic cup).
Cons: The prices at the Tiki bar, just too high for what you are getting.
Location: 45 minutes from Key West, can't beat that.
We had a lovely time here. The room was exactly what we wanted with 2 young kids. Kitchen and washer/dryer were great. We did have an issue with ants on day 2 and, sadly large roach type bugs on day 3, but the staff was very quick to come in and take care of it and do a full cleaning. We were issued a credit, which was nice, but for the price you pay per night, I do not expect to see very large bugs in my kitchen (please note, we had ALL of our food in the fridge due to seeing the ants. This does include chips, bread, snacks for kids, etc. When I say everything, I mean it). The main pool is very nice but a bit warm, not super refreshing on a hot day. The beach area was okay. Overall a very nice stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hamburg, GER

Waterview does not mean you see the water

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: Nice house and the pool
Cons: It might be fair to tell customers if where they gonna be located and if there is really a view on the sea.
Location: Well located in Marathon with restaurants, bars and supermarkets nearby. Turtle Hospital is next door.
Nice 3-Bedroom houses with sufficient space for a family. The Lagoon pool is nice for Kids. However, I do not feel good, if I book a waterview house for 350 $/night and need to climb on a chair on the second floor balcony to assume the sea (somewhere).... They differentiate between waterview and oceanview. Interstingly every house is classified as "waterview".
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Beautiful surrounding with good facilities

Posted May 15, 2016
Pros: Buildings with picket fences, private beach and vast surrounding.
Cons: We were told the pool opposite us was relaxing zone for adults only but in the weekend, the children were running around when the parents were sitting
Location: We were very happy relaxing on the quiet beach and making full use of the putting green. When it was too noisy in the weekend, we drove to Key Largo.
The buildings are lovely and the inside was spacious. We found it very pretty and peaceful like the hotel name - Tranquility! Then came the weekend and we heard babies crying, kids screaming and adults shouting, that is when we found out this is a favourite weekend retreat for the city folks. The children turned the putting green where we spent the evening putting into a war zone with swords and water pistols. Adults sitting on the green instead of the lawn. We had to keep our doors closed to keep the noise out and thankfully, it was back to normal on Monday.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Enjoyable stay

Posted May 13, 2016
Pros: Gorgeous pool. Beautiful gardens. Tiki bar with great staff and amazing sunsets sitting on the porch at the butterfly cafe in the evening.
Cons: The bathroom definitely in the room we stayed in. As Europeans a bar would be good in the evenings. There is nowhere to go after 9.00pm
Location: Central to the Keys so pretty good location. Aquarium. Turtle rescue centre. Lots of good places to eat.
The resort itself is lovely with beatiful well kept gardens and pools. We loved the Tiki bar which had great staff and a special mention should go to the lady cook who produces gorgeous food from a tiny kitchen, and never stops working. We paid €1700 including all the taxes and fees for 4 nights. The room was quiet and clean but it did not feel luxurious. The bathroom was about as basic as it could be with no magnifying mirror or adequate dressing table space. I had to put my make up on sitting on the toilet as there was nowhere else other than putting my bag in the sink or on the floor. Compared to other places we stayed on the Keys this was very very basic. Paper cups on a basic coffee machine was also disappointing for the price we paid. On the plus side we met some lovely people around the pool, which was almost our private paradise.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Prachtig, ontspannen resort, met perfecte ligging

Posted May 11, 2016
Fraai, ruim opgezet resort met prima voorzieningen. De huisjes hebben een authentieke uitstraling, maar zijn modern ingericht en van alle gemakken voorzien. Airco en fans werken prima om de boel koel te houden. Keukenbestek was wat beperkt, maar na een telefoontje naar de receptie werd dat vlot aangevuld. Zowel beneden als boven heerlijke veranda om te zitten en te ontspannen. De zwembaden zijn prima. Convenience store aan de overkant, en grote Publix op 5 minuten rijden. Prima uitvalsbasis voor schitterende snorkeltour die we hebben gedaan met Captain Pip's Marina op nog geen 2 minuten rijden. Allermooiste zijn de strandjes achter het resort met meer dan voldoende bedjes en stoelen voor alle gasten. 's Avonds daar zitten om te genieten van een fenomenale zonsondergang is hemels. Leuke bonus: Neem voor het zwemgedeelte aan het strand een duikbril mee, want bij de afrastering zwemmen veel kleurrijke, tropische vissen. Enige lichte kritiekpuntje is het Butterfly restaurant dat bij het resort hoort. Het eten is heel goed, zeer vriendelijke bediening, maar wel heel stevig aan de prijs. Al met al, een geweldig verblijf.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

It was a nice area to be in, very family friendly.

Posted May 2, 2016
When we checked in the staff just handed me a few papers to sign and explained all the addition fees to me. She pointed us the way to the room and told us all the information we needed was in a binder in the room while the person before me was told where the gym and the great things to do in and around the resort were. No map of the resort was offered to us and the binder in the room didn't have a map either. We were staying in room 102. When we first walked in, the room looked great and looking at the 2 windows in the room, there were shutters that we couldn't see out from (what was the point of having the 2 windows that no light can come in or open for air?). I opened the closet door, there was a hot water boiler (why would the room have a closet that we can't use?). The room didn't have a safe, so we had to carried our valuables with us every time we left the room. The first night we only had 2 bath towels in the room, I was staying in this room with my wife and daughter. The mattress was very uncomfortable. They did have an iron in the room, but not an ironing board. The microwave and the mini fridge was nice and the cleaning staff was very friendly. The resort was beautiful and we had a great time while we weren't in the room. It felt like my younger years when I used to bid for lowest price for a room and those were the worst rooms the hotel gives you. I didn't expect that from an Expedia booking. The Cuban restaurant across the street is a must try and the icy shop.