Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Jane Caroline from Florida

Terrible but Service/view outstanding

Posted Mar 23, 2015 on Hotels
Sam was phenomenal! When we had issue he was there and fixed immediately (smoke alarm beeping and door lock didn't work) The view of the marina was beautiful!! Pull out couch broken and almost injured yourself every time u pulled out/put back in Under pull out couch was filthy!! Inside shower curtain of master disgusting and filthy... Old cloth from previous stay hanging from shower bar We checked out Cabana Club seeing you are not allowed to used Hawks Cay pool... Is was like some sort of 1970s nightmare with Don Knotts running the place...insult that that was even offered as an amenity at approximately 3400 for the week!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Disappointing

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: Leaving and knowing that I would never return.
Cons: Thoroughly scrubbing, repainting and refurbishing this unit or possibly razing the building and building one like can be viewed across the street.
Location: The location is right off the main road. We did not feel like going anywhere with no hot water for 3+ days w/ the temperature around 65 during day.
The building was older than expected. The water view was over the marina's gas pumps, a maintenance yard & parking lots. The door code would not work and it took 45 min to get into the 2nd floor. There was no elevator. The room was tired, worn & dirty. There was no hot water for 3+ days over Valentine's Day/President's Day holidays. We were told that there was no other places for us so we had no other choice but to stay even w/no means for personal hygiene. No one offered a solution even though we had plans for a dinner dance and church that we canceled b/c we did not feel like going after not bathing for several days. There was 1/4" of dust on the bedside lamps/shades, 1/4" dirt/dust between the vanity drawers in the bathroom, dirt on all the ceiling fan blades, dirt cobwebs hanging from the ceiling in the bedroom and in the corner. There was dirt in the bath exhaust fan, in the grill of the space heater, and stains on the carpet in front of the couch and on the placemats in the kitchen. There was used cooking products in the pantry. There was a mixer that was yellowed and looked as though it had never been wiped off in addition to a lot of assorted lids, utensils and kitchen type items. There were little roaches in the kitchen every morning when I wanted to fix coffee and there were bigger roaches on the dresser in the bedroom at night while we were watching TV. It was noisy from back up alarms using the gas pumps and people getting off the bus from 6-7 am.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago IL

Beware..Dont get hosed by Keys Caribbean!

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Expedia should look into this for false advertisement.
We booked this thinking we were staying at the villas pictured. We knew it wasn't part of the Hawks Cay resort when we made the reservation, but boy were we hosed! The village at Hawks Cay villas by Keys Caribbean is a 2 story run-downed apartment building across the street from the address of the villa listed on the Expedia website. It took us several phone calls to Keys Caribbean Realty to find the place, and the whole time we were driving right by it. I never thought that could possibly be the place! The access code to get in the door didn't work, the second floor walkway was on an angle and I felt it would cave any minute. After looking in the window and walking around the building, we realized we would not be comfortable or feel safe staying there. What is really aggravating is that this is a very busy season and we ended up paying more than we wanted to and having to move to different places to accommodate us for 7 days. Note: It looks like the pictures come from The Hawks Cay Resort, which is absolutely beautiful if you can afford it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Value for nicer resort

Posted Feb 12, 2015 on Hotels
Nice resort community, boating-fishing... great management. Alma restaurant outstanding. Unit good, would beenfit from minimal update and firmer bed.
5 out of 5
by ryan from cocoa beach

Best Keys Trip Ever!!!

Posted Nov 19, 2014 on Hotels
The beautiful Hawks Cay resort has everything you could want. Our stay included a villa with every amenity from home. We had 6 people and plenty of room for everyone including a grill, 2 patios and a private pool. Absolutely fantastic!!!
5 out of 5
by GeorgeO from west Palm beach

great experience

Posted Nov 18, 2014 on Hotels
Great all around experience. Luxurious, clean, and good value for a group.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We had a fantastic experience

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: Clean, nicely updated, easy process.
Cons: A more secure lockbox combination.
Location: We liked the amenities nearby and the proximity to both Islamadora, Marathon and Key west. Perfect location on the Keys.
We had a fantastic experience and this will be the first place I check out when we return. I highly recommend it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2014 on Hotels
This was the worst hotel experience of many years of travelling. The room was musty & moldy smelling. The air conditioner made rattling noises. Upon inspection there was mold growing all over the vents. The condo did not have any of the advertised amenities. There was no pool or common area with restaurant, bar, & café as described. The coffee maker leaked out all over the counter. The bed was hard. My sinus' are still recovering from the experience. I would have been happier in a cheap motel dive & paid substantially less.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful sunset from our deck

Posted Jan 29, 2014 on Hotels
The villa was very well maintained, however the bedrooms were both on the second floor and small. The location is great,convent to the whole Key chain
5 out of 5
by misskentucky87 from Kentucky

Perfect condo/villa!

Posted Jan 26, 2014
It truly met our needs; clean, super cute