Ratings based on 1,980 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close the the NLN walking distance!

Posted Dec 18, 2017
I found out that ordering ginger ale was bit expensive .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Posted Dec 17, 2017
It’s about 5 mins walk to the train station and supermarket. There is a laundry room (extra cost)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Excellent hotel!

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: The restaurant/bar is closed on Sunday evenings. This is definitely a minus because one has to walk outside to eat.
Location: Georgetown, Lincoln Memorial. The metro station pretty much gives you access to the entire city.
Quiet street, great location, safe and clean. 2 blocks from Foggy Bottom metro station and within minutes' walk from Georgetown and Watergate. Close to a Whole Foods market where one can buy groceries, prepared foods, and munchies.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Nice hotel close to Metro stop, but set back in a residential area away from the crowds. Friendly staff. Clean ,comfortable rooms with comfy beds & linens. Full kitchen if you want to cook or great restaurants within walking distance if you'd rather dine out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2017
i would easily stay at the River Inn again. convenient location. friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Good Hotel in a Quiet Neighborhood

Posted Nov 25, 2017
The River Inn is still a fine hotel, but needs a bit of updating. The bathroom, in particular could use a face lift. The hotel now offers opting out of daily cleaning (You choose the days you want the room cleaned when you check in) and the hotel will reward you with a $5 deduction of the room price, but don't do it!!!!!!! It's not worth the effort. Service and management couldn't communicate clearly which days the room was to be cleaned, so they just didn't clean it. In addition, we had to phone the desk to get daily clean towels at day's end when towel replenishment was supposed to happen whether the room was cleaned or not. The positives of the hotel are the location, which is residential and quiet while being exceptionally convenient to the Metro and is a short walk to Georgetown. Breakfast is very good at this hotel, and the staff is friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely place, a home away from home!

Posted Nov 24, 2017
Pros: I
The room and staff were very polite and professional. I forgot my 2 chargers and the woman who was working in my room brought them to me as I was waiting for the car valet to bring my car around. I was soooo grateful for her extra effort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Nice, clean hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2017
The room was very nice - only negative is that I would have liked a firmer pillow. The staff was friendly and helpful, the hotel clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Canada

Convenient and comfortable

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: Convenient and comfortable, friendly staff
Cons: Kitchens cabinets need updating and repair.
Convenient to the Kennedy Center, Metro, Whole Foods for groceries and a large selection of hot buffet food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great

Posted Nov 18, 2017
The overall experience was absolutely excellent! The only problem was the hot temperature in the room, we basically left the window open the whole time so that it would be a good temperature. But other than that, we loved it and we would definitely come back again! Thank you!