Ratings based on 420 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

lovely hotel - recommended

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Lovely old hotel, beautiful building and stunning location. Room was fantastic, really clean and nice decor. Staff really friendly and helpful Recommended
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very ordinary old fashion hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Room on the ground floor was small and stuffy. Not recommended in hot weather as the window was locked and there was no air conditioning. Bed was reasonably comfortable. On the plus side it was spotlessly clean and the bathroom was spacious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Room's very clean and near the sea view, beautiful!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Ok hotel terrible breakfast

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Victorian style
Cons: Breakfast and choice on menu for dinner
Location: Location amazing
Very nice grand looking hotel 2 mins from promenade. Car parking not great. Room nice enough telly worked. Dog friendly which is great. Diner choice disappointing duck, salmon or veg option, husband did not like any of them so had to leave hotel to eat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from uk

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Stayed overnight for a wedding, lovely clean room and breakfast.plenty of free parking around hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Herfordshire

Stunning

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: Modern, tidy with spa bath.
We booked this hotel to stay for 1 night. We are a family of 4. The hotel has been beautifully decorated. We had a suite which was clean and modern looking. We absolutely love it and will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Excellent service and good value

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: The atmosphere and comfort. The distinctive design; paintings on the wall, comfortable seats in the lobby area etc.
Cons: The only issue we had was the flooring in the shower area. They are extremely slippery and possibly dangerous.
Location: The hotel is situated close to the waterfront with a long stretch of green with flowers for long walks along the edge of the sea with a great view.
We had nothing but excellent service from anyone we dealt with at the hotel from the very first contact to the last goodbye. The room we asked for was on the ground floor because we are traveling with a dog and the staff provided a dog bed and a room that was large, spacious and newly painted. It was perfect for our needs and easy to get in and out of the hotel also with all our baggage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Surprised at quality. Helpful staff, good location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bedfordshire

Nice Hotel close to the beach, well located

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: The Hotel was full of character, it was like stepping back in time.
Cons: I honestly could not fault anything.
We arrived at the hotel after 11pm and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The room was very clean and had everything we needed for a good nights sleep. We wished we could have stayed longer and tried the breakfast.I would like to go back to the hotel maybe for a weekend later in the year.
4 out of 5
by James

Good quality hotel in Folkestone

Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels
A good hotel, let down a little by aging decor. I would stay here again however! Good sized room with a well apportioned shower room. Parking can be a bit tricky if you arrive late.