Ratings based on 409 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from The NE of England

Very close to the event I was attending

Posted Sep 20, 2017
I have stayed here on a number of occasions, it is a good functional place to stay, the staf are pleasant, you get a good breakfast. My single room was of a good size and comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In need of refurbishment

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Very tired and tatty.Bathroom floor actually moved.Blankets !!.its 2017...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Welcoming Hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: The layout, I noticed they catered well for the disabled!
Cons: I liked it just as it is
Location: The location is good. Folkstone is very up and down with some very steep hills.
I enjoyed my stay at the Southcliff. So quirky! The lifts are small but for me that was all part of the experience. The staff were lovely! Breakfast was very good, great selection of food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midlands

Perfect location for a short break.

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: Ideally placed hotel on the seafront with lovely sea views yet close to all amenities. Just a short walk into the town centre and harbour area.
Cons: The general ground floor area could be updated.
Location: Excellent location away from the main town area yet easily reached by a short walk. Access to the beach, a bit steep, Pleasant area to stay.
The double room with sea view was clean warm and comfortable. An ideal hotel for a short weekend break or a stopover to the continent. The breakfast was good for the price and the staff very pleasant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

alright for your money

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: view out the window
Cons: ensuite very small ,just needs up dating the whole room
Location: close to the town centre
the hotel is a long way from the train station but close to the centre of town .It would suit someone driving more then some one coming on the train . The breakfast was alright . It just needs a face lift as everything is old and a bit musky .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Palm Beach

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: Rooms are very clean, excellent food and a first-class staff.
The room was very small, but immaculate and comfortable. The owners make you feel as if you're family and serve a delicious breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire.

HOTEL CLOSE TO SHOPS AND THE LEAS AND THE LEAS THE

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Close to shops and the Leas.
Cons: The bedroom furniture needs updating.
Location: Close to shops and the leas and the theatre.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful, my wife has trouble climbing stairs and they made sure we had a room on the first floor and near the lift, it also had a balcony overlooking the sea which was very pleasant. The room furniture could do with an overhaul but did not spoil our stay at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from surrey

Near to Al amenities

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: The 24hour bar is useful if working or arriving late
Cons: A larger lift a second one but other wise adequate for there rating
Location: Close to several restaurants and near to town centre and harbour
The lift was very useful. Parking was easy to arrange.Not a great view from my rear room
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kent

Close to beach and facilities

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: A good renovation,
Location: Beach and pubs etc
Hotel rooms were tacky and grubby, sheets were clean but blanket and c top cover were dirty. Furniture also tatty and worn. Complained to hotel manager who offered a refund to move to another hotel but didn't appreciate this was unacceptable as we booked with them for convenience and the reviews we read also the price other hotels were dearer and not all available . We will not go there again or recommend others to do so. Very disappointed as friends were with us and had travelled from Manchester to spend the time with us for a birthday as I booked the hotel I was not impressed our friends were not happy either and also complained to the management and they were moved to different room at other end of hotel to us whitch was not ideal.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from h

Basic but ok for an overnight stay

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Cheap and clean bedding suitable for overnight stay before going to tunnel