Ratings based on 1,318 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mi

Amazing view

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Amazing view! Cannot be beat. The ocean is amazing! Room is nice and modern also. However first they tell me the price is higher than I booked through Expedia then I got a call asking if I was going to show up for my booking (we had checked in day prior...) and then after I straightened that out, I got a cancellation email. Just too messy. Will need to watch billing carefully.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ocean view

Posted Dec 1, 2017
The view cannot be best, it’s gorgeous! Was told the Expedia rate I booked at was wrong and they needed to charge me more. I was stuck so had to pay the extra.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Aftermath

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Hotel would have been all éxcellents'except we were there the first week they opened after hurricane. Way too much construction remaining. Once all put back together, place will be awesome!
4 out of 5
by Rebecca

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 12, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Great hotel on the beach

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, clean, on the beach, restaurant in hotel.
Location: On the beach, any kind of restaurant within walking distance.
Loved the hotel. Amazing staff. On the beach. Great clean room. Great location. Will definitely be back. :)
3 out of 5
by Hania

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charleston SC

Charleston on the Beach

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Each room is ocean front. Pet Friendly. Nice pool area over looking the beach. Steps from the commercial district of Folly. 20 min drive to Charleston
Cons: Improvements would require a time machine to go back to it's initial construction when Folly only expected lower budget travelers
Location: Plenty to do and see
Checking in we experienced a little hitch, but nothing major, beyond that the staff was plentiful and eager to please, This property was originally built as a Holiday Inn back in the 1980's but has undergone a couple of makeovers on various occasions.The walls are a little thin and the outdoor patio is so narrow that you can only stand, the mattress in my room needed to be replaced. But this property has a great location with ocean and pier views, Free Parking, you can bring your pet (for a reasonable fee) there is a mini fridge in the room. The showers were great and had plenty of water pressure. the pool area is right on the beach. it is somewhat competitive to get a chair as the area is not large and some guest will claim a chair with hotel provided towels early in the morning. A third party rents quality padded lounge chairs and umbrellas on the beach. Decent on site food and Beverage and a multitude of drinking and dining options within walking distances. Historic Charleston is only 20 minutes away by car if you grow tired of the sun and sand. I would say overall this is one of the better ocean front values for the price on th N.C S.C Ga. coast
3 out of 5
by Mary L

Nice, but need maintenance and Not a Starbucks

Posted Sep 4, 2017 on Hotels
The rooms need painting, sheetrock work and housekeeping needs to learn how to clean the base boards and under the bath cabinet and toilet. They offer Starbucks, but the team is not trained. Had show attended how to make a French Vanilla Cappuccino.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2017
An over all great experience. Staff was wonderful to us.
5 out of 5
by Susan

Weekend funtime

Posted Sep 4, 2017 on Hotels
My friends and I had a wonderful time. The location gave us easy access to all the shops, the pier, and restaurants. The live bands were so much fun and played a wide variety of music. The hotel's restaurant was great, friendly service and informative about what was going on in the area. I will recommend Tides t o all who are interested in a Folly beach vacation.