Ratings based on 1,288 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Great hotel on the beach

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, clean, on the beach, restaurant in hotel.
Location: On the beach, any kind of restaurant within walking distance.
Loved the hotel. Amazing staff. On the beach. Great clean room. Great location. Will definitely be back. :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charleston SC

Charleston on the Beach

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Each room is ocean front. Pet Friendly. Nice pool area over looking the beach. Steps from the commercial district of Folly. 20 min drive to Charleston
Cons: Improvements would require a time machine to go back to it's initial construction when Folly only expected lower budget travelers
Location: Plenty to do and see
Checking in we experienced a little hitch, but nothing major, beyond that the staff was plentiful and eager to please, This property was originally built as a Holiday Inn back in the 1980's but has undergone a couple of makeovers on various occasions.The walls are a little thin and the outdoor patio is so narrow that you can only stand, the mattress in my room needed to be replaced. But this property has a great location with ocean and pier views, Free Parking, you can bring your pet (for a reasonable fee) there is a mini fridge in the room. The showers were great and had plenty of water pressure. the pool area is right on the beach. it is somewhat competitive to get a chair as the area is not large and some guest will claim a chair with hotel provided towels early in the morning. A third party rents quality padded lounge chairs and umbrellas on the beach. Decent on site food and Beverage and a multitude of drinking and dining options within walking distances. Historic Charleston is only 20 minutes away by car if you grow tired of the sun and sand. I would say overall this is one of the better ocean front values for the price on th N.C S.C Ga. coast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2017
An over all great experience. Staff was wonderful to us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Review

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Acted as if I was bothering them when I approached front desk about questions about my receipt and stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Great location

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Lots happening at hotel , beach is keeped clean, walking distance to a lot of casual restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pembroke VA

Tides Hotel

Posted Aug 29, 2017
My family and I really enjoyed our stay at Tides at Folly Beach. The hotel was beautiful and our rooms were clean. We had a beautiful view for the 7th floor. The staff was excellent!! Folly Beach is awesome!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mooresville,NC

Very Nice and All Oceanfront

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Beachfront and the helpful staff and friendliness!
Cons: Just a bit of updating and the balcony width!
Location: We went to the light house, strolled the streets and shops and ate at some awesome cafe's. We drove into Charleston & enjoyed that very much!
We found the staff to be absolutely wonderful and helpful! The rooms are nice, but could stand just a bit of updating. Also the balcony was just too narrow to be able to sit on. But overall we loved it there and would definitely stay there again should the opportunity arise. It was very nice to be able to be in the room and see the pier and beach out our balcony windows!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Great location, terrible beds + cockroaches

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Fantastic location location but that's about it. Very disappointed with room comfort (horrible beds) and room cleanliness. Our room had cockroaches, we reported them to the manager in the morning, came back in the evening and the room hadn't even been cleaned up. I ended up buying a can of Raid and spraying the room on my own.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Our Second Stay Here

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The staff is incredibly friendly & helpful. This was our second stay here this year and we would definitely return again. Every room has a view & the hotel is right at the end of Center Street where most of the restaurants and shopping are located. The beds were comfortable in our room & everything was clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte NC

Great view of the pier and beach

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The staff was great and the food. Perfect location for everything