Ratings based on 137 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overnight Stay

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: The quaint atmosphere and rustic surroundings
Cons: The beds
Location: It was a mountainous drive there but it is a beautiful setting. We didn't have time to look around the area much.
Fontana Village is a quaint resort with a lovely lobby. There is plenty of comfortable seating in the lobby and a beautiful fireplace. There are glass doors overlooking the pool area and cabanas as well as a fire pit. The view of the mountains is great. The front desk staff was very helpful and pleasant but sometimes not too quick to get to you. The rooms are very comfortable; however, the beds were only okay. One had a noticeable spring in the middle of it. There was a small fridge in the room, and the balcony overlooked the pool area too. The bathroom was dated - but that's part of the quaint appeal. The restaurant had wonderful food, and the service was great. Everyone was very pleasant and professional - and we felt we could laugh with them. The historical movie was interesting as well.
5 out of 5
by Heater

Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels
Very relaxing and the lobby was so pretty
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Peaceful and Pretty

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
Great place to stay; quiet, clean and everyone was pleasant. Needs to upgrade cable and WiFi to keep the kids calmer.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
I could not have picked a greater place! Nature, peaceful, view, pool game room, and cleanliness.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
Walls are a little thin, toilet flushing in the next room sounded like it was part of my room. The staff is very nice and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Location: visit dam, & lakeside
Great hotel, but not wheelchair accessible, need to use 5 steps on staircase to get to elevator. Many different type of units ranging from hotel room, to cabins.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Need some refreshing!

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: The shower is great!
Cons: Food choices
Location: Great motorcycle roads everywhere!
All in all its a nice place, or could be! Brochure claimed the resort has three restaurants? Only one was open. The problem is it only had sandwiches and pizza! When we booked the resort for three nights we expected to have a variety of food. Since we were on motorcycles as many visitors are and you can't ride at night on those roads, we were stuck eating there all three nights. They should have told us there was limited food! I was not pleased! There is limited cell phone use...not their fault. Pool is not heated...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old & Dated

Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Hotels
Room in the lodge was dated. Like 1980's dated. Bath & vanity were TINY!! Beds were rock hard. Place is desolate, meaning a hour away from anything. Grounds, and they are expansive, are beautiful. Only one of the restaurants was open and it's basically a sandwhich shop. Personnel in the restaurant & bar were fantastic. Young, personable and very accommodating.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

2 night stay in the mountains

Posted Oct 7, 2016 on Hotels
Nice stay for 2 nights. Disappointed that the main restaurant and bar are only open on the weekends for dinner. The grill is open however very limited menu but the food was good. Room was very clean. Bathroom sink is the smallest you will find. No counter space. Room did not have convenient outlets to get to for charging electronics. Out of season so very quiet and secluded. The restaurant waitstaff at breakfast were very nice and friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2016 on Hotels
I wish the food options were better. The menu that they have online did not match what the restaurant offered. As a vegetarian, there wasn't much for food (even the Hippie Burger has bacon grease, which I was so grateful for the waiter telling me!). Other than that, it's gorgeous, the staff was very nice, it's easy to get to great hiking, nice pool, and the fire pits are awesome. We actually extended our stay an extra night and we can't wait to go back!