Ratings based on 159 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TN

Mountain Playground

Posted Nov 30, 2017
We continue to use Fontana Village as home base for our mountain gypsy hiking ways. Appalachian Trail, Fontana Lake, majestic mountains and isolated from the masses; perfect spot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Augusta Ga

Peaceful

Posted Nov 11, 2017
The lodge is very comfortable and a great place to relax. The rooms were nice and staff was very attentive. Will visit there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Ohio

Close to the Dragon

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Desk help being more friendly
Location: So many great roads to ride your motorcycle on
Great location, comfy rooms and beds, Desk clerk behaved as those we was a bother to him. Restaurant staff and bartender was supper friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Posted Oct 25, 2017
The rooms are clean, comfortable, and welcoming after a long day exploring the area. The staff is very friendly and the always available hot coffee and cookies welcome you when retire for the day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Large wedding venue

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: lovely weekend getaway
Cons: Bath room size was small
Location: remote, winding roads lead to a great destination
Beautiful views, mountainous area with watersports and pool. Kids and adult oriented. Great breakfast buffet, wedding rehearsal and dinner were served and prepared outstandingly. Cell phone service limited but wifi in lobby of lodge. Wedding party of 200 plus treated well. Cabins are a great option for families and pet owners.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Nice amenities with marina and lake access

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: There's plenty of things to do on-site, nice amenities, and it has peaceful relaxing atmosphere.
Cons: Maybe add a microwave in the rooms. I was lucky to have a fridge though.
Location: It's very close to the lake, dam, and whitewater rafting/tubing at the Nantahala River. Plus, a train ride on Smoky Mountain Railroad.
For me, the best part of this resort were the on-site amenities which includes the two pools, the fitness center, game room, volleyball/basketball/tennis courts, putt-putt course, and more! This property also has nice biking and hiking trails. I didn't get to try out all of the amenities and scheduled events since there just wasn't enough time to do it all over my weekend stay. It's hard to stay bored here. Although I found a bug near the bed one time - and we didn't get a desk for some odd reason in our Lodge room, our stay was overall pleasant. I had read some guest reviews about poor WiFi connection, but I didn't experience this problem at all during our stay. I also enjoyed my dining experience at Wildwood Grill and Mountview Restaurant. The staff were friendly and helpful. Oh - and the sunset cruise was phenomenal! I would highly recommend a visit to the nearby Fontana lake and dam. It's a beautiful area and this resort is a good choice for a fun and relaxing getaway.
5 out of 5
by Kelli

Weekend at "FUN TANA"

Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Hotels
This is an amazing getaway. Only complaint is service at the restaurant was terrible, but food was good. Go prepared to get up and take care of yourself and you will be fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Villa Rica, Ga

Great, close to tail of Dragon

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Hotel was great took care of my family for any needs we had
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Vacation Stay for 2017 Eclipse

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The "full service" restaurant and grill was everything but. Restaurant was closed except for short time for breakfast and "grill" was limited to short menu for lunch. Excuse given was that they were "short staffed" and due to influx of visitors for eclipse, they were limiting service( a kind of backwards business model). Staff, however, were professional and friendly and mitigated poor experience otherwise.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great resort!

Posted Aug 16, 2017 on Hotels
The amenities at this resort were fabulous, particularly the warm lazy river. Great spot to stay while riding Tail of the Dragon.