Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Julie

Great hotel

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
We used this hotel as a stop off on our way down south. It had friendly, helpful staff, great room with everything you need, including air conditioning, and free WiFi. Also use of a good, clean swimming pool on a hot day. We had a wonderful evening meal. I would recommend a stay at this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice Hotel!

Posted Aug 8, 2016
We only had a one night stay, but enjoyed it. The hotel décor feels a little old fashioned, but it is a pleasant place to stay with comfortable, clean rooms, a good breakfast and a nice pool & garden area. The kids enjoyed the small playground too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Chepstow

Overnight stay on journey south

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: Very good location; the garden was spacious with a swimming pool and our ground floor family room has plenty of room and a place to sit outside.
Cons: Maybe we were unfortunate regarding the booking in time, or perhaps the booking in time was a bit optimistic.
I chose this hotel because it had a family room, was reasonably priced and was a convenient distance from St Malo and our holiday destination. Apart from having to wait 45 minutes for the room to be ready - we were told the room would be ready from 3pm onwards, but, unfortunately it wasn't, the hotel was excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpful, particularly in the restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Medstead UK

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Pros: The staff
This is the 41st time we have stayed at this Hotel on our regular trips to our holiday home in France. It just gets better every year. The setting is great and the restaurant offers a great choice of food and wine. The buffet for the starters is great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Herefordshire

Hotel ideal for overnight stay

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: The pool, the room the garden. This hotel is more or less perfect for a night or two as it is close to the motorway link
This hotel has a lovely pool to cool down after a long drive. the gardens are maintained well . The room was spotless and dinner outside in the garden was lovely
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Le Rabelais - the best place to stay in F-le-C

Posted Jul 16, 2012
A very friendly hotel in the rather dull town of Fontenay-le-Comte. Food is superb, so dine in the hotel restaurant - you will struggle to find anywhere else to eat in the town.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

friendly and nice with children

Posted Jun 2, 2009
good clean room, exactly as shown, requests made in advance for toddler were all in place. We were the only English speaking guest, as it is really a place for locals and staff were a bit rusty on their language skills, really made an effort and so did we in french so that comms were no issue. Extremely friendly, nice heated outside pool, small children play area and really good garden for children to run around. good food, not too expensive, good base for puy do fou theme park.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hampshire, England

Going with the Dogs

Posted May 28, 2009
When you are travelling with two pet dogs most French hotels usually welcoming, but the facilites for the pets, a small wood, large lawn and access directly from a grond floor room are perfect. add to this friendly service and an excellent restaurant, at attractive prices and little wonder that Le Rabelais is a must-stop hotel on our regular trips from England to our house in Gascony. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ireland/Spain

Look forward to returning

Posted Jan 30, 2009 on Hotels
Found this hotel to be absolutely fantastic, staff/service/food/room, and great value for money.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hampshire, Uk

Pet Owners Heaven

Posted Jun 18, 2008
Breaking a long drive from the Channel ports to the south-west of France is a risky business, particularly with two dogs along. Many small French hotels are firmly rooted in the 1970's both in decor and general levels of facilities. The Rabalais proved to be an oasis of hospitality. We had two cars with us and the first surprise was the garage with enough room for 50 vehicles and a working elevator to the reception. A warm welcome and a clean well furnished room with a door to a charming large garden with a wooded area just right for dogs to explore. Dinner in the evening was outstanding with a good choice of wines and food. The night was quiet and the air conditioning whispered gently. We did not use the pleasant pool or linger late on the terrace bar but we did enjoy breakfast on the terrace before leaving reluctantly. A reaaly unexpected jewel.