Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville FL

Very nice historic building with a great staff

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Really good overnight stay on the way to our final destination. Wanted to stay longer after seeing the property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belmar, NJ

Gem of an Inn!

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: Comfort and uniqueness.
Cons: We enjoyed everything.
Location: Chimney Rock Village and Mountain close by.
The Firehouse Inn is such a unique bed and breakfast. Room was beautiful, spacious and tastefully decorated (we were in #3). Bed was extremely comfortable. Bathroom large with separate changing area that included comfortable robes and slippers. Everything was perfect and prestine. Breakfast was delicious which was prepared by Sandi who we thoroughly enjoyed conversing with about anything and everything before we departed for our next venture - talk about Southern Hospitality! Our stay at this inn made our vacation such a pleasurable and memorable experience. You must stay here, even if it's just for one night - you won't be disappointed!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from charleston

historic hotel in Rutherfordton

Posted Mar 17, 2016
Pros: Everything...the site, staff, breakfasts, location.
Cons: Update the tv.
We enjoyed our three day stay at the Firehouse. It's an old fire and police station situated a few blocks off Main Street. The rooms were decorated nicely although most of the building is original (and in very good condition) which we enjoyed seeing. In the morning we ate in a lovely dining room where a very nice staff person fixed and served a cooked to order breakfast with juice, fresh fruit, and freshly brewed coffee. One day we had baked eggs with cheese and turkey sausage; other days we enjoyed eggs, oatmeal, and turkey or Canadian bacon. We used this as a place to see the area attractions such as Lake Lure, Chimney Rock and a business meeting in Gaffney. Nearby restaurants: a Thai and Mexican place were good; the town doesn't have too many choices. It's a nice place to getaway and enjoy the Blue Ridge foothills.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice out of the way place

Posted Nov 11, 2015
Pros: Locally owned and using local products. Clean and comfortable
Cons: Check I after hours was a little cumbersome
Location: Great town to explore and good hiking in the South Mountains nearby, equestrian facilities nearby.
Comfortable room, good internet access, nice ambiance, attentive staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh

Beautiful decor excellent facilities

Posted Oct 21, 2015
Pros: What's not to like. Great accommodations, interesting architecture, warmth, friendliness. The Inn has it all.
Cons: If you want me to be picky change the shampoo to one including conditioner.
Location: Grea t Thai food at unbelievable prices a block away.
A wonderfully elegant environment while still maintaining a friendly, homey atmosphere. Top notch. So indicative of the Old North State. This old country boy really liked the breakfast too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Getaway

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: better pillow
Loved it!!!!!! It was homey and made me feel comfortable. I've never had this kind of experience before. I loved having breakfast with all the other guest and the lady who owned the Inn. Can't wait till next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Sumter, SC

Simply Delightful Stay

Posted Sep 23, 2015
Pros: Décor, quiet, secure, hidden treasure
Cons: Floors on the 2nd floor are authenticate from the firehouse so they do creak but that's just part of the charm I guess
Location: Right in the middle of the mountains but quiet small town with a few really good restaurants. 1 hour to Ashville, Lake Lure, Charlotte...
This B&B is delightful in every way imaginable. From the décor to the staff to the deliciously prepared breakfast. We enjoyed every aspect of our stay and will be back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely Inn

Posted Sep 8, 2015
Beautiful Inn Lovely room Very nice breakfast Bed was too soft
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Greenville, SC

Only got to stay one night - wish it had been more

Posted Jun 18, 2015
My husband and I stayed one night at the Firehouse Inn. Our room was spotless and gorgeous. Beautifully decorated, room to spread out, large bathroom with an extra dressing area with a large mirror and stool for makeup or hair. Only complaints - wish the parking wasn't on the street. We didn't have any issues, but don't like street parking. Also one of the chairs in our room in front of the fireplace seemed to be broken. It tilted to one side when my husband sat in it. Breakfast was good, with fresh fruit, but wasn't fancy like you get in some B&B's. The other guests were pleasant and we had some nice conversation at breakfast. All in all, we would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cornelius, NC

Great location, right in the charming downtown

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Historic building with many original features & fixtures but with every modern convenience. Lovely suite with entertaining space, microwave, mini fridge, and coffee bar. Access to incredible outdoor terrace with garden, water feature, several tables and chairs; very private. Kitty, the owner, and Sandy, the manager went out of their way to recommend local spots to eat, live music that were walking distance. I didn't want to leave and look forward to staying here again!