Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxing

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice location. Grounds have a variety of trees and outdoor seating areas. Breakfast skimpy.
5 out of 5
by Michael from Toronto

Very Pleased

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
Very Happy with this Hotel, nice concept, clean and friendly. Good WiFi and cable selection, wonderful walking/biking paths and canoeing!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Quiet solitude

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: The feeling of being in the middle of nowhere but we were actually right on the edge of town.
Cons: Better breakfast choices, and quantities (There was no milk, very few choices when we arrived for breakfast an hour before they were to stop serving.
Location: We toured a winery close by (99 Bottles), we hiked to the Buddy Holly plane crash site, toured the lake at Clear Lake, and visited shops at Clear Lake
We stayed in the small building that houses 4 single rooms. It was decorated like a horse barn, complete with names over the doors. The room was small but efficient, clean and secluded. The long lane, oak tree forest and country atmosphere so close to town was perfect for relaxing. Our only disappointment was the restaurant being closed for renovations, so we had to travel elsewhere for our meals. The continental breakfast didn't have much variety either. Overall we were very happy with the hotel for the price of the room and location to our destinations for the weekend.
1 out of 5
by Charles E. from Madison

SCARY ACCIDENT Waiting to Happen: NOT a RESORT!!!

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
This was NOT in any way a resort! Full stop! It was HUGELY overpriced in comparison to other properties in the town. When I brought up my security concerns at the front desk -- both sets of floor-to-ceiling blinds didn't close on either side of the room -- staff mentioned that some previous guests had actually turned out the corridor lights in order to get some darkness for sleep! Great for security given the issues above! When I asked to speak with the manager/owner both that night and the next morning at check-out, I learned they were not around and lived in Ames, Iowa, some distance away. The palce hadn't been redecorated/restored since the 1970s/1980s; no closet space; dark depressing space; small kitchenette virtually unuseable with no dish drainer, dish towel or basics. This place is an outright fraud, unrelaxing, dark and gloomy rooms and hazardous space: An accident waiting to happen!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would expect more for the price you pay

Posted Aug 7, 2016
The rooms in the Lodge are outdated. There was a sign in our room that you couldn't run the air conditioner under a certain temperature because it would cause it to freeze over. As part of the continental breakfast, you couldn't make toast because it set the smoke alarm off. For the same money, you can stay at the Super 8 just down the road and have all the amenities that you would expect plus a warm breakfast.
5 out of 5
by Janice from Eagan, MN

Posted Jul 30, 2016 on Hotels
I didn't shop, as I came to visit my sister who was at the Winnebago rally. It was just very pleasant. I like the fact that it is hidden back in the trees.
4 out of 5
by Stefanie from Bowling Green, MO

Interesting and clean

Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Hotels
This is an older hotel in the middle of a change in management. The room was huge! And very clean. If you like a quirky place with personality, this is the place. I will stay here again if in the area.
4 out of 5
by Thomas from OFallon IL 62269

Posted May 18, 2016 on Hotels
The bed was very firm
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 16, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Setting in the trees

Posted Feb 14, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The setting was away from the highway among the trees. The architecture was interesting and the staff telling of the background added to the ambiance.
Location: Close to Waldorf College where our son was visiting
Our son was visiting college, we need somewhere to stay. We were in a separate building that once was a stable area for the first resident of the house ( which was converted into a motel). We ate in the restaurant where they had a Valentine supper. It was good.